We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Djerba Menzel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Mouradi Djerba Menzel to your Saves list
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 163 - Midoun Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Midoun
1 review
“excellent hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very good food, service, location right by the sea, and bedroom ; I had a great time !
I usually never give my opinion but I 've been to Djerba several times in different hotels but this one is by far the nicest I stayed in...

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    594
    328
    189
    196
See reviews for
577
561
67
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

for a calm quiet and relaxing break at a great price, this place is the best. The staff are wonderful, thanks a million to Khalid in the Italian restaurant, really good service.
The room was cleaned each day, the food was really good, no shortage of sun loungers. All the staff constantly smiling and greeting.
This place has a wonderful bay view. The weather was fab.
Would I go back? oh yes, tomorrow if I could, but will have to wait until September.
Entertainment good for Tunisia. No noise when in the rooms however, the rooms are basic but spent no time in there except to sleep. So why worry. Other than that, faultless.
People with children said they would have liked "more to do". Singles to the main said definitely going back there.

Room Tip: top floor of Menzels really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We returned to England on May 17th and already I can't wait to go back to this hotel. The trip from the airport was longer than the 30 minutes we were told it would take but this was fine, we were just excited to get there. We arrived around 11am and made our way straight out to the pool after being shown to our room. Despite it being mid morning there were still a few beds available in a nice spot. A very friendly and helpful lifeguard helped us find mattresses for the bed and had a little chat with us when we were comfortable.

The main pool was salty but also had some chlorine in it. It was lovely and cool on the really hot days. One morning we found it was absolutely full of bugs, so much so that we could only go in for a few minutes until there were too many bugs around. A few other mornings we did see the pool being cleaned but on this day there was no one around to do it. The other two large outdoor pools looked very nice, but we chose to stay by the main one in the centre of the resort.

We stayed in one of the menzels. It was simply furnished, nothing special but did the job as we weren't in the room for very long each day. We had fresh towels and complimentary water each day, and occasionally the housekeeper left the sheets and towels in a nice arrangement on the beds. The room was very hot and the air conditioning didn't work. We filled out a form saying it needed repairing and it wasn't done.

There were plenty of options for food. A lot of people have complained about the lack of options but I believe there was always something for someone, even if those options were limited. We only went for a week but I think if we'd gone for a fortnight, we'd have been bored by the food. Every morning at breakfast there were hot options on the buffet and lots of different pastries. There was also someone making omelettes and pancakes. Fruit, cereal, salad, cheese, and meat were also made available, as well as a huge table of bread. At lunch time the options were a little more limited, we usually ate whatever type of potatoes were available, which always appeared to be the same, just cut into different shapes. Between 3pm - 5pm there were pizzas and crepes available from the bar by the main pool. We had these most days to keep us going until dinner if we hadn't had much at lunch. Both the pizzas and the crepes were very nice and worth queueing up for! Dinner consisted of a buffet once again, as well as someone making pasta, a different type of fish each day and someone making pizzas, which were incredible! There was a young guy making the pizzas on a few of the evening and he was very friendly and polite! At lunch and dinner there were waiters keeping your drinks topped up. We tipped 10tdn most nights (about £3.50) and were always looked after well. A few of the waiters in particular were very attentive and always remembered our drinks and occasionally our names.

The bars weren't stocked with massive amounts of different drinks but beer, wine and spirits were always available. We went to the cocktail bar one night (you have to pay extra for these drinks), and were told he had no ingredients to make any of the drinks we wanted. This was a disappointment as it was one of ours groups birthday and we wanted to celebrate it. All the glasses were very small, and you could only get 2 drinks per person at a time so that was quite annoying.

The animation team were fantastic! The first few days they harassed us a little bit around the pool trying to get us to partake in things like aqua gym, volleyball, darts etc. But it's their job so we understood why they have to do it. Eventually they got to learn we weren't interested in doing anything and just started having a laugh with us about how lazy we were! Their shows on a night were brilliant. They were all multi lingual, which was very impressive to us who only speak English. They did a variety show which was hilarious and a lot of fun. They were all really good at their jobs!
There were also guys going round the pool trying to get us to do quad bikes, water sports and camel/horse riding. We chose to do quad bikes but didn't want to do anything else. The guy trying to get us to camel and horse rides was particularly annoying and continued to harass us every day even when we said no firmly.

The quad bike trip was great value for money. If you want to do this, book it through the guys employed by the hotel rather than through your rep. Doing it through the rep was 3x more expensive for only 30 minutes extra on the quads. We were shown how to ride the quads safely and then taken out on a trip to the blue lagoon and through some sand dunes.

We booked a pirate ship trip through our rep which was fantastic. We got a bus to the port (about 90 minutes) and set off on this big pirate ship to Flamingo Island. The guys on the boat are all dressed like pirates and do a bit of a show and get people up dancing. If you don't want to be dragged up to dance, I'd recommend sitting on the top deck or inside the boat rather than outside. Flamingo Island itself was great but there were a lot of guys there trying to get you to ride camels and horses. It doesn't take much more than 5 minutes to walk from where you get off the boat to the other side of the island so you really don't require a camel taxi. The pirates provided food and then put on a show before returning back to the port. It's quite a long day and it's hot, so make sure you wear sunscreen/cover up.

There is a souvenir shop and a jewellers in the resort. Beware as they will try to charge you a lot for what you're buying from the. There are no prices on anything, you need to haggle and barter them down! Most of the time you can get them to accept a lot less than they originally ask from you.

Our rep Ben was very helpful. He lives in the hotel so he was around often and always willing to help or stop for a chat.

Cats cats everywhere. Don't worry if you don't like cats, because they rarely just come straight up to you. But there are a few that will come if called over. A few times we saw a lady appear with big buckets of food to feed the cats in the resort. If you like cats, that's a very interesting and fun thing to see!

This holiday was great value for money and I will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerbamenzel, Manager at El Mouradi Djerba Menzel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for the review, we are overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations. We would also like to thank you for choosing our hotel on this occasion for your holiday. Moreover, we really appreciate the great comments regarding our facilities and accommodations and would like to thank you for taking the time to share them on TripAdvisor. In fact, providing our customers with the best service and hospitality has always been our mission and we want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion with our guests. In addition to that, we are very happy to know that you have planned to come back here next year and we are already looking forward to it. Kind regards, El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have never been to an hotel that is as bad as this one the foods awful,if youre british you,ve no chace everything is geared to Germans and French,the bungalows are decrepit and dirty i,ve seen pigstys cleaner this place needs demolishing asap

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerbamenzel, Manager at El Mouradi Djerba Menzel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly value the feedback of our guests and we apologize for not meeting your standards on this occasion. In addition to that, we want to let you know that we have addressed the issues you pointed out and that corrective actions have been taken. Once again we would like to thank you for bringing these points to our attention and apologize if this affected your stay. We certainly like to welcome you back to El Mouradi Djerba Menzel hotel if you do decide to give us a chance to meet and maybe exceed your expectations this time. Sincerely, El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I personally can only find minor faults in this hotel, for example the fact that it's slightly dated and sometimes getting hold of staff can be a small hassle, but for what you get and the price you pay I honestly cannot genuinely knock it at all. I went to this exact hotel back in 2013 and loved it then, went back last week and can honestly say it was better than before. I'm booking to go again next month and could never visit any hotel other than this one, i would definitely recommend it 1000%

Room Tip: The bungalows aren't really bungalows but are two story buildings spread around the complex, I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerbamenzel, Manager at El Mouradi Djerba Menzel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for the review, we are overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expectations. We would also like to thank you for choosing our hotel on this occasion for your holiday. Moreover, we really appreciate the great comments regarding our facilities and accommodations and would like to thank you for taking the time to share them on TripAdvisor. In fact, providing our customers with the best service and hospitality has always been our mission and we want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion with our guests. In addition to that, we are very happy to know that you have planned to come back here next month and we are already looking forward to it. Kind regards, El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly we have to accept the obvious, the country is below standard with high poverty, taking this into consideration and respecting that fact, the service in general was good, kind and considerate. Unfortunately speaking only English had its limitations as the it's predominately French and Arabic, however, you can get by.

The food was excellent, which astonished me, and the rooms were to a good standard, but there was obvious signs of problems and deterioration. The rooms were cleaned daily, but there were problems with out drainage causing sewage to rise and flood the bathroom, due to lack limited communication between the Helpdesk and their staff, the problem was not fixed upon our return from our 2 day excursion from the Sahara as promised, although maintenance was prompt to react and fix their failings, they failed again the second time with the only one resolution, move us to another room. Apart from that experience, I had a very pleasant stay and one of the best holidays to date. I recommend the two day Sahara excursion, jet ski"s and 3 hour quad bike excursion to see the beyond the resort. This will put thins into better perspective when it comes to standards.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerbamenzel, Manager at El Mouradi Djerba Menzel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing El mouradi Djerba Menzel for your stay in Tunisia.Your satisfaction on the large number of services made us happy..We hope to see you again and you can spend pleasand moments with us.Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My first experience of Tunisia and probably my last. Came here with my husband, arriving in the evening which was very disorganised. When we finally got our key we had to go search for the room ourselves. Hotel was really basic and definitely needs some sprucing up - also quite dirty. Majority of the others people staying at the hotel were French and German, who don't know what common courtesy means. Eating in the restaurant was such an ordeal, no one queued, waiters weren't interested in paying any attention to the English guests. At one point a section of the outdoor dining area was closed off but as we were struggling to find a free table we sat in that area. One of the waiters was very abrupt and told us we could not sit there and to go find somewhere else. Other English couples/families we spoke to, old and young, found the same attitude was shown towards them by the staff aswel as the other French/German guests. And to top it off, my husband got food poisoning, so severe he had to go to hospital back in the UK and was off work for an extra 4 weeks to recover as well as myself catching hand, foot and mouth disease which makes you quite poorly (sickness, temperature) and red spotty blisters on my hands and feet. So if you're up for all that, good luck to you! Definitely would not go there again, ever.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerbamenzel, Manager at El Mouradi Djerba Menzel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly value the feedback of our guests and we apologize for not meeting your standards on this occasion. In addition to that, we want to let you know that we have addressed the issues you pointed out and that corrective actions have been taken. Once again we would like to thank you for bringing these points to our attention and apologize if this affected your stay. We certainly like to welcome you back to El Mouradi Djerba Menzel hotel if you do decide to give us a chance to meet and maybe exceed your expectations this time. Sincerely, El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Mouradi Djerba Menzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Djerba Menzel

Address: BP 163 - Midoun Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#15 Spa Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Djerba Menzel 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your El Mouradi Djerba Menzel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Hotel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Djerba Menzel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.