We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Djerba Menzel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Mouradi Djerba Menzel to your Saves list
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 163 - Midoun Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Midoun
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Went with my daughter with the intention of having a relaxing week,with sunshine,sea and good food just to recharge the batteries, we were very pleased with this hotel, the staff were so pleasant and helpful from start to finish,even though there was a bit of a problem with the air-con and electrics in our room on the first day. they moved us to another room and we were lucky to have a sea-view and we made the most of the cool breeze coming through the balcony doors. They even came to our room and presented us with a lovely big bowl of all types of fruit for the inconvenience we had been through which I thought was a nice touch. We really did not want the week to end. The food was fantastic, something for everyone, we could not eat all the snacks in between meals as the meals were so filling, the puddings were to die for (thank goodness we did plenty of swimming) we stayed in the main hotel and the rooms were very big, the beds were very good with deep mattresses, The entertainment was good fun too, I am not a dancer but was encouraged to get up and dance with the guys from entertainment and they just made me look like I could really dance! (I enjoyed it too)...We treated ourselves to a Spa on the first day just to get our skin in good condition for a tan, it was very reasonable and wonderful treatments, again all of the staff in the spa were absolutely lovely- without a doubt we will be returning to this hotel. p.s Rachid the rep is excellent!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel which wwas lovely but I wouldn't have minded staying in one of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    575
    315
    184
    188
See reviews for
565
544
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
poole dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. We had a late arrival, but instead of the usual limp salad you are offered there was a hot and cold buffet.
Which nicely leads to the food, there wasd such a wide choice both hot and cold all the time and nicely prepared. The char grilled tuna steaks cooked al-fresco were to die for.
Although I only gave service a 3* this was just down to the pool bar and cocktail bar, everywhere else the staff were really friendly from the maid upwards.
The location is a bit out of the way, but there is so much you can do on site so this is not so important, although a taxi to town is so very cheap and there are still some great bargains to be had. Apart from a couple of visits to town shopping we only visited Djerba Explore, which is a nice afternoon out. Go on a feeding day.
Basically if you want a reasonably priced relaxing getaway, doing as little or as much as you like, this is an ideal holiday where you will be well fed and watered.
Oh and my girlfriend loved the spa which was quite fairly priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I went to this hotel end of May/beg of June 2012 with my daughter who is 24. We were a little apprehensive as some of the reviews on here were not very complimentary. We were very pleasantly surprised - we arrived after dinner was served but they had put on a buffet just for us (us being about 15 who were on the same flight) with non alcholic drinks which was lovely and very unexpected. We had left our luggage in reception and a porter picked this up and showed us to the room with a running commentary on where everything was on the way!
We had a lovely room, one enormous bed, two chairs, table, dressing table, tv, bedside tables and a double wardrobe and shelving with still lots of room to swing a cat!! The bathroom was also very large with everything you could want. The rooms were cleaned everyday and sheets and towels changed. The airconditioning however does not get turned on until mid June so it could get a little warm in the room. A bottle of water was in the fridge but then you had to collect bottled water from the bar downstairs (these were litre bottles and we collected one or two every night). We kept the small bottles of water we bought at the airport and topped these up each day to take around the pool.
There was always enough food and quite a large variety. The hotel is mainly full of Russian, German and French tourists so the variety may not always be what you would find in England however there was always something to eat. Some of the waiters were more attentitive than others and as soon as you find which one is more attentitive to you I would suggest you sit in this area for the rest of your holiday as they get to know you and what you like to drink and bring this to you without you having to ask which is really nice. You can use the restaurant outside for lunch once during your stay this does not have to be booked you just start queing at about 12.30. You can choose off of a menu and the food is good. You can also book one evening meal in their restaurant on the lower ground floor near the indoor swimming pool. The only light is from the candles on the table. There is no menu to choose from and the food is just brought to your table for you to eat. We tried all of the food although some of it was not to our liking and we were a little disappointed with this evening.
The pools (3 of them) and surrounding area were always clean and tidy and the bar service was good.
The entertainment was not always what we were expecting but entertaining nevertheless.
This was outside on each evening and the barman could bring your drinks to the table if you wanted and they always remembered what you had. Sometimes we tipped and sometimes we didnt and we did not notice any difference in service. The staff were always pleasant, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at djerba menzel 2nd - 9th june 2012. It was our 2nd time there, we decided to return after enjoying our stay so much last october. We thought we wouldnt enjoy it as much the 2nd time round, but we were wrong.

All the animation team and rest of the staff we had made friends with last time rememberd us and were pleased to see us. All the family agreed the holiday was even better than the first timed we stayed.

The hotel is clean, spacious and well maintained. There are 3 large pools, so theres lots of sun loungers but better to reserve the best ones before breakfast. The food is, lots of choice, theres something for everyone. even the fussy eaters.

The animation team are the best! they work long hours from about 9am to 11pm, then usually seen in the disco untill 2.30am. They put on a variety of activities through the day such as water polo, volley ball, dance class, archery, mini golf, aerobics and darts. They make the whole family feel welcome and put on amazing performances at night time. I honestly cant describe how good they are. All the other workers are good too, always polite and friendly and nothign is too much trouble.

Overall we had an amazing holiday, we all cryed when we had to say good bye as we didnt want to leave! we had another fantastic holiday djerba menzel and are already looking to go back again next year!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel, else you will be a short walk away from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

just returned from el mouradi hotel ,excellent week, weather was in the high 20s but windy
plenty to do during the day and evening , booked independent through A1 TRAVEL which was over 200 cheaper than tom cook , some parts of hotel are a bit dated but clean the army of staff see to that ,hotel is on the beach but very rocky in the sea and seaweed can be a problem in some parts ,but there are 3 large pools if you don't like the beach , food good something for everyone tunisian dishes were our favourite , flight was thomas cook flight contracted to
cheap and not chearful nouvelair all in all a good week away for the 3rd of june.

Room Tip: away from main building as entertainment is around the main pool a bit too loud in the evening bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just returned from El Mouradi Menzel, Djerba, after a brilliant week. My husband booked it through Direct Holidays ,for my 60th birthday. As it was such a bargain price, our expectations were not very high, but how wrong could we be. The complex is very large with lots of activities for grown ups and children alike, and is perfectly situated right on the beach. Our room (T12) was large and clean, with a small fridge which although old, kept bottles of water and drinks chilled. We have stayed all inclusive at several places, but the variety and quality of food here would be difficult to beat. They make fresh bread, pizzas, pancakes and donuts while you wait. large choice of meat dishes, pasta's, salad, fruit, cake etc. Even the fussiest eater should not have a problem finding something to eat. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A big thankyou to Rashid and his wife Marilyn, the reps, who have lots of knowledge of the hotel and surrounding area.
The complex has several swimming pools of various size and we always got a sunbed without a problem. Of course an added bonus was the weather, being in the high twenty's and thirty's.
We only left the complex once to go on the 'pirate ship' trip. The less said about that the better in my opinion, quite a rip off.
What we saw of the island, it is not very pretty, but if you are looking for somewhere just to chill out this is just the place to stay, we definately hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Very large spacious room, but could do with some TLC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Went there from 12th til 19th of may 2012 with a group of fourteen. What a brilliant time we had, everyone really enjoyed it and would all return in the future.The rooms were all a really good size with a free safe and a fridge. we didn't spend much time in the room because the weather was beautiful and the complex was very spacious and brill. There was always something for eveyone to eat but yes at breakfast they do serve vegatables lol although i never say anyone eat any of them i don't know what nationality they are aimed at..There was always toast, bread and omelettes and eggs. The other meals were very nice always a few selections and the desserts were to die for yum yum.. All staff go out of there way to make it a enjoyable holiday.. The waiters are absolute brilliant at their jobs especially Anise he was a legend, he looked after us all week we never had to wait for a drink once,every time he passed our table he would put extra drinks down so nobody was left out,Didn't watch the entertainment at night with there being so many of us we made our own, but at the end of may they said the entertainment was going outside so that might be better..The daytime entertainment was really good either joining in or just watching always something going on..We went on the catamaran while there that was good value for money about £13 each for 2 hrs out at sea.. Rachid the thomas cook rep was very good and always available. Also don't worry about the weight of your luggage on way home the rep said they are very flexible on this all you have to do is apologise and they don't bother..Brilliant holiday would def go back..

Room Tip: We stayed in block T and loved it..Tip to find your way back to it Head for the boat
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mouradi Djerba Menzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Djerba Menzel

Address: BP 163 - Midoun Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Djerba Menzel 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Mouradi Djerba Menzel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Hotel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Djerba Menzel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.