We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldiana Djerba Atlantide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Midoun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aldiana Djerba Atlantide
Save Saved
You added Aldiana Djerba Atlantide to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sidi Bakour, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Midoun
SilverBeam
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed at Aldiana Atlantide in August 2010 with one child (7 years old) for one week. This review is mixed as some things were very nice but others much less so...
The hotel in itself is nice, nothing much to complain about except that, although they claim that it is a 4-star hotel, this is by all means not the 4-Star standards you get in Western Europe or in the USA. I would rate it a 2 to 3-star hotel. The rooms are OK and clean but very basic. The room furniture looks old, the fridge was leaking, the bathroom is nice. The beds are extremely hard and the pillows are so thick that you end up with a crooked neck in the morning. Bring your own pillows if you can! Overally the hotel is quite nice but needs some renovation. Everywhere you see the paint chipping off the walls in some areas. The landscaping is very nice, they do a great job with it! The Tunisian personnel is fantastic!!!! They are helpful and sweet. They always greet you with a smile and do their job wonderfully. The food is very good and diversified. The pool area is nice but almost all lounge chairs are "reserved" by guests who stand up at God knows what time to put their towels on them. If you show up around 9 AM, you're out of luck! That's really annoying! My son (7) took part in a diving course that you can book at extra cost and really loved it. The diving instructor (a young blond lady) was absolutely adorable. This was the highlight of the trip for him! However, we cannot report such positive news about the kid's club. My son went to the group for kids aged 7 to 10 and had a bad experience. The lady supervising this group was abnoxious and didn't pay any attention to him at all (she didn't even ask his name when she first met him!). All the other kids in the group were older and all activities were not appropriate for his age: for example, when they played water polo in the pool, the water was up to his chin! The lady didn't even think to go into a shallower area of the pool so that ALL kids could play comfortably! As a result, my son didn't get to even touch the ball once. All the other kids were about one head taller than him. Worse yet was that the instructor played for a while with the kids and did not even pass once to the smaller kids although it was clear that they were completely being left out... About 15 minutes into the game, the lady left to go ??? I don't know where. While she was gone, some kids started arguiing and one got hurt. She showed up about 10 minutes later only... As a parent, you really don't want to see that happening during a time when your kids are supposed to be "supervised" and lovingly being taken care of.... Needless to say that my son had no desire whatsoever to go back to the kids club after this experience!!!! Another negative point needs to be made regarding one employee at the front desk called "Daisy" who was absolutely horrible to us when we checked out. She was not only rude and terribly unfriendly but she also "forgot" to give us important information about our luggage and bus transportation. Thankfully, we got the information later on from other guests. Such a rude person has nothing to do working at a hotel front desk or even in the hotel business at all! But the worst thing about our stay was the noise at night in our room. We stayed in a bungallow-room at the edge of the property (Building 32) and from 9 in the evening until 1 in the morning, very loud music was blasting out of the nightclub located in the adjacent hotel. The noise was so loud that we could not sleep without earplugs (very practical for young children!). I called to complain at the reception and they told me that they knew about the problem but could not do anything about it because the other resort was "allowed" to play music until one in the morning. I could hardly believe that they had assigned us to this building because I noted during the reservation process that I wanted to have a quiet bedroom and when I checked in at the hotel, I asked the lady if the room was quiet. She answered "yes". This is obviously one of the main reasons why we wouldn't go back there again. That's really too bad because it could have been otherwise a nice experience considering the other positive points I made above.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
30
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

A beautiful hotel right on the beach - but clearly catering to German/French guests. The staff was helpful but spoke very limited English and NONE of the hotel information was in English. The meals are good and plentiful. The biggest disappointment was how they treated our tourguide - they put him in a dirty, lower quality room while charging him the same rate as we paid (presumably because he is Tunisian - UNSAT!!!). The wireless internet is very expensive and only available in the lobby area - there is no internet available in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

You can do all kinds of sports like horseback riding, golf, tennis, arrow shooting, beachvolleyball. The disco is great, the staff does beautiful shows and is very friendly

Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

it was nice vacation relaxing. i well comeback in 22th September 2009

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I spent the first two weeks of August at Aldiana Djerba which was supposed to be much better than a world famous competitor I usually spend my holidays with ! What a disappointment ! Avoid this place if you are travelling on your own. It may be ok or so-so if you are travelling with a family and just want to spend 2 weeks not talking to anybody.

There are almost only German people who are rather rude (and I speak German - so I can understand what they say..) and want to spend holidays among other fellow German people in a German surrounding (German food, German furniture, German beer, etc..). Except for the sun, you wouldn't think you are in Tunisia ! Evend the Tunisian beach "vendors" do avoid the Aldiana beach. In the evening, nothing is going on except a few loisy and very "patriotic" shows (again, I understand German !!) and there is no night life (except if you think that drinking huge quantities of beer and then going to bed at 09:00 pm may be called a "night life")! The food is nothing special (except if you feel like eating German food in huge quantities in Tunisia !) and I saw a lot of flies around some buffet items. Service is so-so: reception made a lot of mistakes (during check-out, not delivering phone messages, not ordering taxis., etc...) and the beach area is full of stones... The sports activities for kids are in German, which might be a minus point if you want your kids to attend the Mini-Club...
I would'nt recommend this hotel unless you are a German person who wants to spend holidays "in Germany" with some more sun and if you are looking for "quantity rather than quality" !! And don't believe what some people may pretend (and who have never been at Club Med), Aldiana still has a very, very long way to go before trying to compete with Club Med.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldiana Djerba Atlantide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldiana Djerba Atlantide

Address: Sidi Bakour, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Midoun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldiana Djerba Atlantide 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Also Known As:
Aldiana Djerba Atlantide Midoun
Aldiana Djerba Atlantide Hotel
Aldiana Djerba Atlantide Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldiana Djerba Atlantide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.