We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place - fantastic host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Dar Sidi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahdia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence Dar Sidi
Save
You added Residence Dar Sidi to your Saves list
Route de la corniche Rejiche Mahdia, Mahdia 5121, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Mahdia
Forestville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place - fantastic host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I spent three nights at the Dar Sidi on my own. I arrived feeling lonely and unsure of my decision to be there especially during the unrest in the country. Monsieur Mansour made me feel at home and encouraged me to relax and enjoy myself even though i was the only guest for one of the days. It turned out to be a lovely stay. The pool was great and the sea was warm and seemed to belong only to me!
The women who work there spoke almost no English and were charming as they went about their jobs so joyfully and always had beautiful smiles.
My room was large and clean and very comfortable and the food was amazing and so plentiful!
I would recommend the Dar Sidi to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed 1 night, the standard room smelled badly of stuffy humidity and there was mold in the toilet. The quality of the standard room was very low all in all. Also, it looked like the mattress was from the 80's and it was totally worn out and slept flat and skew on one side. It was not a restful night at all and luckily we only stayed one night.

The direct entry to the beach is nice though, but it is very far away from Mahdia, which itself does not really offer much to see for more than one evening. The food was good and home made. If you do not eat fish, be aware and enquire about the menu beforehand, as no other option was available and the hosts did not enquire at all concerning any dietary restrictions beforehand or inform about the menu in any way before presenting the plate in front of the guest. It seems that fish is the thing that they mostly tend to serve as it is a fishing town.

The owner is friendly, yes, and replied to messages promptly. The price, 220 dt for a standard room in Aug 2012, however is totally overpriced for what you get, even if it includes the dinner. For such a room I would not pay more than max 50 dt a night after my experience of living in Tunis for 1 year and now having travelled through several places in the south of Tunisia, as well. If you need to stay over night on the way to the South, like we did, I would rather recommend staying in Monastir.

Room Tip: if you have no other option but to stay here, try and see if the "suite" is any better for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have been living in Tunisia for 3+ years and have stayed at resorts all over the country. This is possibly the best service that I've ever received, and the location and premises are great. About a 3 hr drive from Tunis, this 10-bedroom hotel has a swimming pool and access to a beach that is quite nice (and comparable to any beach in Hammamet or elsewhere). Better than an all-inclusive resort, since you don't have to fight for your beach chair, listen to pool aerobics, or eat mass-assembled food from a buffet. The service was excellent, and the food was home-cooked and delicious (which can be a real challenge eating out in Tunisia). The space is quiet, very clean, and has all the necessary amenities (hot water, A/C or heat, etc.). Overall we were very pleased. It's not super cheap, but for what you get it's a real value. We are recommending it to everyone - after 3 yrs of searching for something like this, we've finally found it!

Room Tip: No difference really, all are pretty much near the pool and not that close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Loved this place. Stayed with my wife and two other couples, one of which had a 2 year old daughter. The rooms were very nice, well kept and comfortable. The meals were good. And the setting made us feel like we were getting away from all the stress of everyday life. The pool is very nice and the beach is gorgeous... very few people near by so you feel like you're at an exclusive place. Yet it is reasonably priced compared to the going rates in Tunisia. One of the things we appreciated at Dar Sidi was the level of service. We found that most of Tunisia lived up to its reputation of being a place where folks in the hospitality industry could stand to learn a thing or two from their European counterparts. In short, service generally isn't great and its often hard to get a straight or accurate answer from a Tunisian staffer to any number of questions. Generally speaking, Tunisians have a desire to help you, but once they've felt like they've done something to help, they often reach a point where they are no longer eager to assist. But at Dar Sidi, the attention to detail was fantastic. It was more like being at a small hotel on the French Mediterranean than in Tunisia as far as service goes. Also, the beach here attracted a mostly secular clientele so women need not worry about being modest on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathimansour, General Manager at Residence Dar Sidi, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Hye Brooklynite1 , happy to hear from you , and thank you for your great review of DAR SIDI
as you know best we aspire that all clients feel the way you did and we hope to have you back whenever you want and we ll do our best to make your stay even better .Sincerely .DAR SIDI Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergamo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

io e mia moglie abbiamo soggiornato al dar sidi x una settimana ; attenti a come viene descritto xchè molte cose sono fasulle : le suite non esistono ma camere piene di umidità si . abbiamo cambiato camera x ben 3 volte xchè dopo una giornata di pioggia le gocce ci cadevano in testa mentre dormivamo; siamo rimasti senza elettricità x ben 24 ore xchè il dar sidi è privo di generatore(vita in camera a lume di candela). la spiaggia era una discarica con plastica resti di pescatori alghe e ombrelloni sfasciati ecc.. ecc... la struttura è molto vecchia (avrebbe bisogno di essere ristrutturata al piu presto) . se volete soggiornarvi informatevi molto bene xchè x noi è stata una pessima vacanza!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathimansour, General Manager at Residence Dar Sidi, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
i m really sorry about what hapened during your stay at DAR SIDI but as you remember we had a very bad storm ,and unfortunately those thinks happen ,we ll be very happy to receive you as guest since we are the new management of DAR SIDI and we want all of our clients to feel happy and at home when they come to visit us,that s why you ll be more than welcome to come back and i guarantee that you ll have the best vacations !!! Sincerely DAR SIDI Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Dar Sidi is a "Hotel du charme" located in Rejiche, 5km out of Mahdia on Tunisia's East coast. It is a wonderful place for swimming, relaxing, and eating well. Mahdia is a short taxi ride away, and the impressive Roman ampitheatre at El Jem is within half an hour's drive.

The hotel has about 10 tastefully decorated rooms, each with its own individual character, set around a lovely pool, terrace and garden. The hotel has a door set in an archway which provides direct access to the beach. The sea makes easy swimming as it is shallow and sandy-bottomed (and beautifully warm in July). Seats, parasols and beach towels are provided. Food at Dar Sidi is excellent and meals feature fabulous salads and fish dishes such as stuffed calamari. The staff are very good, always available but not over attentive.

Overall it is very difficult to fault Dar Sidi - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Don’t think about it twice – book this minute! This little resort is a real gem. If you are interested in complete rest & relaxation in a true Mediterranean Paradise, look no further. This place is it.
You will feel as if you were staying a friend’s beautiful, welcoming, well-appointed beach house.
The resort is made of 10 individual bungalows, each different from the other. I visited all of them, and I really would not know which one to choose. They are all simple, but just adds to their charm. Everything is spotlessly clean, and they have air conditioning (vital as it was usually in the 90s F – 30C even at the end of September).
All of these rooms are literally steps away from the beach. They have a cute little fake door (see pics) separating the “living” part of the resort from the beach, which we referred to as “the Door to Heaven”. Beyond that point, all you had in front of you was a pristine while powdery beach, and the most turquoise, crystal-clear, warm, incredible see I have ever seen. And I take one Caribbean holiday every year – this is right up there among the top 3 beaches I have been to in my life. The resort guys put out sun beds under the straw parasols for you as soon and they see you heading out there.
The real soul of this place is its great manager, Ms. Mess. She will make you feel at home, in a very discreet and non intrusive way. Everything is personalized in the true sense of the word here.
Meals are awesome. We got the “demi pension” formula, with dinner and breakfast. However, we ended up ordering salads every day for lunch, as well. They were spectacular, very copious, and a great bargain (something like 5 Euros for two). Breakfast is served poolside, on lovely mosaic ceramic tables (local craftsmanship, from Nabeul). The cast-iron chairs are also from Nabeul, hand-made and very elegant. Breakfast always included tea/coffee, bread, croissant, jams, and fruits. For dinner, you don’t get to chose, there is no menu - Ms. Mess comes around in the morning and tells you what’s on. If it is something that you really don’t like, she’s very open to substitutions, and she’ll go out of her way to make sure you are happy. Dishes offered were very varied, but invariably very good (and I am a picky eater) -lots of grilled fish, or great Mediterranean sauces with olives, capers, tomatoes. It’s simple, local food – what your grandma would make, if she were Tunisian. There were always great baskets of fruits, and plenty of fresh-from the market veggies. Arab Tea with peanuts always capped off the meal, and you could enjoy at your table as long as you wanted. Dinners were usually served under the patio, as it could be relatively chilly (and I mean 70F-20C chilly). The great thing is that the patio has lovely, comfy benches, so you could just lounge there for ours after dinner. I loved the upholstery of the outdoor cushions on the chairs/benches – vivid colors, bright and elegant.
My husband and I had an unforgettable 6 day stay at the end of September 2008 (Sept 14-19). One day we were the only couple in the entire resort, with all that paradise to ourselves. Then a lovely French couple arrived, and we enjoyed getting to know them. A few more people showed up at the week-end, but just for 2 nights. It was always extremely quiet, almost surreal.
I should point out that we went there after a week touring Tunisia, so we had done all of our exploring and sightseeing before – all we wanted was just chill out, enjoy the beach, read, take long walks. Perfect spot for that. I am really looking forward to going back. If I lived in France or Italy, where you can get cheap flights to Monastir, I would just got for the a long week-end as often as I could!

  • Liked — the sea, the beach, Ms. Mess, the food, the quiet, the colors, the vegetation
  • Disliked — nothing - it's perfect!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Dar Sidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Dar Sidi

Address: Route de la corniche Rejiche Mahdia, Mahdia 5121, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Residence Dar Sidi Mahdia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Dar Sidi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.