We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIARS, CHEATERS - DON'T GO!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean World

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean World to your Saves list
Caribbean World
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   BP 196 Zone Touristique Mahdia, Mahdia 05110, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Mahdia
düsseldorf
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“LIARS, CHEATERS - DON'T GO!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

There are these people who walk around the pool area promoting the spa and signing up people to get spa treatments. I fell for it and signed up for a spa package. While at the spa, while I was getting the mud treatment, the lady indicated that she would remove my necklace, so she took it off and set it aside. I go through the whole treatment and left. The next morning, I went back to the spa and asked for my necklace. After a while, they said they could not find it. That it probably got washed down a drain. We went to go see the hotel manager and he said that they would ask the jeweler at the hotel to get another necklace. It was a necklace which my husband bought for me for 600 Euro after the birth of my son when I nearly died! The guy at the jewelry shop said that he hired someone to make the necklace for me as a replacement. After days of waiting, a necklace arrive which looked NOTHING like my old one. I asked specifically if they were real diamonds and real gold. He said yes. My husband was skeptical so he took it into the city of Mahdia searching for an expert appraiser. After going to 3 other Jewelers, he found an expert who verified that the "diamonds" were cubic zirconia and the chain was gold plated silver. It had a street value of about 10 Euro, NOT 600 Euro. My husband got the certification and showed the hotel manager. All he could say was that he was not an expert. When we confronted the salesperson at the little hotel jewelry shop, he said the hotel manager called him after we had all met and told him to find something cheap as a replacement. Then the next few days, the hotel manager kept saying that he was trying to contact one of the owners of the spa, a doctor. He never showed up to meet with us. Finally, on the last day, everyone was trying to avoid us exept for the cheating jewelry sales person who was trying to get us to buy leather jackets. We don't know who to believe or whether they are all lying.
Needless to say, it was the first vacation when we were happy when we had to leave. Being hounded by the lying jewelry shop guy, the inept hotel manager, and countless other people who made the experience a nightmare. Equally, we had our son's birthday present and a swimming ring taken. ARGH!!!!!
As to the hotel, the pictures I uploaded tell the story. It was old, dirty and unsanitary. I took the pictures only after they cleaned and after we gave the cleaning lady HUGE tips of 10 Euros to hopefully get it a bit cleaner.
The pool area was so dirty. There were cigarette butts everywhere, trash and the edge of the pool had mildew and slime.
The food was ok but the lines were outrageous. You have to wait in a 20 person line for WATERMELON! Oh, and my husband got food poisoning so he was laid up for two days and the doctor came and prescribed him some nice and powerful medicine. That was probably the best part of our trip. The good doctor who didn't seem to try to get money out of us.
At the end, we just took a taxi into the city and ate at a nice restaurant.
So in the end, DON'T STAY AT THE CARIBBEAN WORLD!!!!!! Spend your hard earned money elsewhere because they think that tourists pick their money off trees and it is just fine for them to try to get you to part with as much as possible.
Oh, one positive, the service is good, IF YOU TIP well. If not, expect to be ignored and have the tables "reserved" for the tippers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    91
    50
    43
    46
See reviews for
156
77
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

booked this hotel with on the beach ..got all reference numbers.. booked 5 rooms for 10 guests from young to old ..only to be told when arrived no rooms booked ... had all the proof all the required paperwork... and still told nothing booked.... the man on reception was getting very annoyed... he was very unhelpful ... he just did not want to know .. finally we was threw out on to the street with all are luggage .. this was the end result after we all stayed carm... i would not like to see what they would have done if we caused a seen.. if you have booked this hotel with on the beach you are likely to be on the street to.... this hotel will not help you in any way shape or form i would rate it 0 out 10 be aware

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I travelled in the last week of May last year with my friend and her 3 year old boy and we all had a fantastic time! As a cheap, last minute getaway we had no complaints - very clean and well kept. Baring in mind the hotel was approximately only 20% full, there was always things going on and the staff were very helpful and friendly, going out of their way to ensure we had a good holiday.

ACCOMMODATION:- Rooms were basic but clean. We paid for a family room which was 2 large adjoining rooms - very spacious. As it wasn't very hot at this time of year we didn't use our air con so cannot comment.

POOL/BEACH AREA:- The main pool was large with a swim up bar, we only got in the pool a couple of times as the water was freezing - should imagine it would be quite refreshing at the height of summer when the weather gets hot. There were plenty of sunbeds around, fairly comfortable. They do play music at various points throughout the day and can be quite loud with activities going on around the main pool - this didn't bother us, but for those who prefer peace and quiet, there was a quiet pool on the resort. We didn't get chance to use the slides as the season wasn't really underway, but I can say that yes, they are a bit out of the way with no bar or toilets nearby. The beach was absolutely beautiful!!!! It was extremely clean and I would advise a swim in the clear blue waters - I have never been a lover of the see but here I was in it everyday!

FOOD/DRINK:- Food wasn't the best i've ever had at an all inclusive hotel - but by no means the worst. We only had the option to eat in the main restaurant because the hotel was quiet, which was a shame as it would've been nice to try the other restaurants. Even the poolside grille/bar was closed during our stay but we can appreciate that it wasn't high season. There was enough variety and we tried something new everyday - no stomach problems! There was a wide enough selection of drinks (mainly local produce) - not watered down like some places! Although there was a charge for imported brands, and they stopped serving at 11pm Drinks served in large enough plastic glasses by the pool.

ENTERTAINMENT/ANIMATION:- The animation team were brilliant! Very good with my friends little boy, very child friendly. Even though the hotel was quiet they put so much effort into providing activities throughout the day and regular evening shows. Not broadway standard but when are they ever?! Some shows are quite cheesy but that doesn't bother me - it's a bit of fun in the evenings. The entertainment goes on until around 11pm but there is a nightclub in a central location of the resort, however this isn't included in the a/i - we did witness Russian holidaymakers taking their own vodka in so I would suggest doing that!

KIDS CLUB:- There was a lot for kids to do at this resort the kids club hut was by the main pool so we were able to relax while my friends boy went off to play with his new friends. He was constantly asking when he could go to the kids club - the staff were great with the children and had a variety of activities for them to join in if they wanted to. Kids disco every night before the main show, same songs over and over but the kids looked like they were having fun!

We got this holiday for an extremely cheap price so we went with open minds and a 'you get what you pay for attitude.' But we can honestly say it exceeded our expectations and we had an extremely enjoyable week - staff were so friendly, resort was clean and well kept, and catered for all. We would definitely return! We would probably return in high season as there would be more going on and more facilities available.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Had a lovely time here, 2 hour transfer from new airport which was modern and clean. Hotel room was good size with balcony, no air con which would have been good. AI was excellent with drinks 12 hours a day with good selection. Food also good, pancakes, omlettes, fried eggs all cooked to order. Lunch and dinner had good selection, always fish, pasta, various meats and of course chips. There is also 4 speciality restaurants including Mexican, Indian, Tunisian and Italian which have to be booked the day before but thoroughly recommended. Snack bar had panninis if you just wanted a snack. Hotel is quite remote but good supermarket close by. Animation team fun to watch around pool, but not so good in evenings. Pool fantastic, with a lovely beach behind hotel. A very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Don't go over reception because the buses drop off there in the night so it is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

Great value for money!was a bit worried at first as the was not a lot of food to choose from for the kids,(3)&(19 months)but in the end we were fine and they ate lots..ai was great beers &spirits were on tap!kids loved the ice creams and milkshakes also the sandwich bar was good if yer didn't fancy going the snack bar, pools were FAB starts of shallow thens gets deeper,ideal for young children,shows were not good although really we only saw a few after taking kids mini club we headed back to our room which I must mention was massive we got a free upgrade with ocean view!2balconys Jay rotheram!! Ha ha..Sonia was great with the kids & franko was so funny..alooooow!rafik the waiter was great had our drinks ready every time we went to the snack bar and a table set,many thanks to all the staff... Had a great holiday

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

If travelling from Enfida Airport the journey will take approx 2 - 2 1/2 hours. Less if from Monastir airport.

Safe Deposit costs £1 per day plus a refundable deposit.

Pool towels available £10 deposit.

Tourist shops, supermarket and cash machine availabe 5 - 10 minutes walk from hotel. Also other hotels and mini golf close by.

Mini market in hotel saturdays, hotel shops friendly and affordable, especially the jewellery shop. wi fi available. Horse riding available through hotel£15 per person for approx 2 hours. The horses are well looked after and well fed.

Beginning and end of season air conditioning on from 6pm till 1am due to cooler weather - not that 35C is cool to us brits.

Slides only open limited times due to discretion of management. Only open first week of stay due to hotel only being approx 1/4 to 1/3 full. This is stated in some information packs.

Health and Safety - Stairs to restaurant clearly marked with red edgings for the partially sighted/ blind persons. All other stairs 2 tone to distinquish edges. Ramps all round hotel to different levels and lifts to floors and restaurant. Pools clearly marked and none of the pools to deep. Plastic cups and glasses used around pool area ideal in case of accidents as some people choose to drink alchol from 10am. Not just the foreigners the English too. Life guards around pool and beach from 10am till 6pm. Tests on pool water checked frequently. Also doctor on site.

Around Hotel - Rooms have bath with shower over. Rooms cleaned daily to a high standard with clean bedding and towels daily. Lounge toilets cleaned hourly and decorated with fresh flowers in mens and ladies. Overall cleanliness to a very high standard.

Beach area - entrances to the beach were clean with changing rooms, showers and toilets. Sun beds and mattresses always brushed and cleaned before persons used them. Beach raked and kept very clean.

Restuarant

Breakfast included freshly made omlettes, pancakes, scrambled egg, fried egg. Fresh fruit salad and yogurts, cereals, toast, crossoints, honey, fruits, fresh bread, toast maker salad and hot dishes. Water and 2 fruit juices.

Lunch - Always soup, 2 types meat and 1 fish dish, potatoes, rice, vegetables,salads, fresh cooked pitta bread, 2 types spagetti fresh made to order. Plus plenty fresh fruit, cakes and ice cream.

Evening meal - large variety again.

Snack bar - Hot choice, Meats, hamburgers, pizza, hot breads, 2 types spagetti, chips, salad bar, fresh bread rolls and french sticks and 2 or 3 types of fruit.

Sandwich bar - Not open Mondays Made to order toasted sandwiches Tuna, Chicken, Cheese, Salami or mix and match.

Milk shakes and ice cream available daily.

All staff worked extremely hard.

On day of departure there were a dozen english people leaving at 6am the evening before the hotel served an early evening meal and also put on a full breakfast for the guests and opened the restuarant at 5am.

Finally a note that Mourad Marrag the head manager and Bechir Chelly head of animation kept a tight ship and were hands on and always approachable. Mourad Marrag could be seen around the hotel from 9am until evening and made sure that the hotel ran smoothly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Hotel resort massive it took a few days to really get around the whole resort the staff were friendly at times but it felt as tho to get tipped the pools were great for the children but the slides very rarely working and the animation team were always busy but seemed to be selective in who they wanted to join in the guest at the hotel are mainly european and were at times quite rude (very few english) the resort its self was in the middle of nowhere and the trips that were offered were very poorly organized and evolved around tipping the locals who were very touchy feelie and pushy and there is absolutely no safety culture out there and when you go on any trips you do take your life in your own hands (be warned) food was very receptive and you was never quite sure what you were eating but i must say the all inclusive was very good drinks and food on tap was good for the children good news tho there sprit measures were massive half a glass most of the time rooms ok but very poor air conditioning

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean World

Address: BP 196 Zone Touristique Mahdia, Mahdia 05110, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mahdia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribbean World 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean World Mahdia hotel, the newest addition to the Caribbean World chain, is situated in Mahdia, famous with its magnificent beaches and the transparency of its turquoise water.Very beautiful hotel with direct access to the beach, the Caribbean World Mahdia has been renovated and entirely refitted in a Caribbean style.At approximately 45 Kms away from Monastir airport, 7 kms away from Mahdia and 2.5 hours from Tunis airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caribbean World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean World Tunisia
Caribbean World Mahdia
Caribbean World Resort
Caribbean World Hotel Mahdia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.