We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay yes..u will be catered for, leisure stay no services offered.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Tunis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Regency Tunis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Regency Tunis Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Cotes de Carthage | B.P 705, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia (Formerly Renaissance Tunis Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in La Marsa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Business stay yes..u will be catered for, leisure stay no services offered.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As a solo English seaking female..wanting to c the sites... The hotel was a disappointment. No info avail about local guides or tours.

Reception welcome is not one usually expects at a 5star hotel.

I got the impression that they mainly deal with business groups.

Room was fine ... But the heating was poor.. & worse throughout the hotel.. With a order of dampness. ...& it didn't help that I had the flu!!

Trying to order room service is a no goer... Even if u go to restaurant & order in person... I don't speak French ... He doesnt speak English.

The massages were excellent.!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
13
11
7
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pleasant but should have a non smoking policy in place. The room a large and bed very comfortable. In few occasion during the year the music from parties wake me up so make sure you are tired before going to bed.
The restaurants are excellent: both local and Thai. The personnel very kind and the swimming pool amazing but only open few month during the summer vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Reading the reviews I was not quite sure what I was in for, however had a good stay and can certainly recommend this hotel.

Yes it is a little remote but given the shuttle service and low cost reliable taxi service this is not an issue - rather get out if town and have the beach access. The rooms are a little dated in design but have the advantage of been spacious and seem renovated and kept functional - my room was large and only thing it lacked was a shower cubicle but the bath shower was functional.

The room had a large bedroom, large lounge and dining area with a veranda - a suite compared to modern hotel rooms.

The bar was very cosy with live music and the restaurant with local cuisine served a good buffet.

Service was generally good with staff helpful and efficient. The one surprise was complementary toiletries, tea and coffee us only supplied once - in fact on the second day the shampoo and other bottles were removed. The tea bag allocation was one normal and one green for my entire stay. No complimentary water was offered but free snacks are supplied in the bar ;)

Pleasant stay and while have nothing to compare it to in Tunis will certainly stay there again and even consider taking the family in summer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed a good rest after a long trip. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was of good quality. Internet worked fairly well (not excellent in the rooms). Due to low season, the hotel was not fully running but, as far as I could see, the outdoor pool is excellent as well as the indoor one. The complex is kind of isolated and far with respect to other hotels in the area but since you need transportation to go anywhere (even if staying at other hotels) I don't see that as a big issue. Free shuttle to/from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nice hotel, big structure (in the middle of nowhere), nice swimming pool. Food at breakfast lacks variety, rooms are noisy due to very poor noise isolation. Good to have free shuttle services to and from the office

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the Dar Said in Sidi Bou Said for ten days but came here three times to use their pool and beach facilities which were great. We also ate dinner there three times - the buffet service which was also great. As per my other reviews on places in Tunis I think you just have to accept that service and standards are a bit hit and miss in Tunisia once you accept this - this is as good as any place. As for the rooms I can't comment since big resorts are not really my thing but I suspect my general comments still apply so if you wanted to stay in a resort type of hotel I would recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is were I try to stay when traveling to Tunis.
It had better days but for about 100euros/night you can still have an excellent experience.
The rooms are clean and big. Several restaurants to choose (not all are open everyday) and a great swimming pool.
Breakfast is not amazing but you can get a very good omelet and nice fruit... enough for me. Pitty that coffee is not good but that's common to many of the cafes and restaurants in Tunis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and turned to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regency Tunis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Tunis Hotel

Also Known As:
Regency La Marsa
Regency Tunis Hotel Tunisia/La Marsa
Address: Les Cotes de Carthage | B.P 705, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia (Formerly Renaissance Tunis Hotel)
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regency Tunis Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Regency Tunis Hotel, one of the leading 5 star business hotels in Tunisia. Situated in a calm and relaxing environment directly next to the beach, all 227 luxurious rooms and suites offer a beautiful view onto the Mediterranean Sea, the magnificent pool or the relaxing garden. The spacious Lobby provides a feeling of tranquility and with the sunlight shinning through the Sky Dome, the lobby provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The hallways and staircases are decorated with paintings that reflect the charm of the Tunisian culture. With a variety of 6 different and exquisite restaurants, a modern and elegant Spa, fully equipped Conference Centers, and free wireless internet connection throughout the hotel, The Regency Tunis Hotel offers you the services and facilities that will exceed your expectations and ensure that you receive a memorable and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Regency Tunis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Tunis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.