We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too much noise for such a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis

Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Promenade | BP 606, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in La Marsa
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“too much noise for such a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

ı was staying there last week. I have been there many times before, but now in winter the occupency is less, the hotel is more silent . But the night club outside the hotel which belongs to Golden Tulip but managed by a third party makes such a ennoying noise from 12 midnight until 6 am, it is incredible.They are situated at the bst wieuw of the Hotel, infont of the sea and the forest. I complained to the reception, hotel manager but nobody cared. The only answer they give is that : we dont manage this place so we can not do anything. So if you stay at this hotel avoid any room infont of the night club.That's what ı did from my second nights, ı changed my room to the opposite side.
Otherwise it is a nice hotel, nice place, a little far from city center but it is worth. Nice İtalian and İndian restaurant inside, expensive but nice food

Room Tip: everything not in front of nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    55
    15
    9
See reviews for
11
26
10
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed in a very clean room, very comfy..the hotel has great location (although a bit far from the city center) you can walk around to find a great view on the city of Tunis, for food you have two choices; la Stalla, for Italian (although chef is Tunisian) and Calcutta for Indian, I found at least two swimming pools, plus a heated on inside the spa center which is great.
The only bad point, is that the spa center is outside the hotel, about 50 meters..which is OK in summer but bad in cold weather.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bejaia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

wonderful hotel in a wonderful place; Sidi Boussaid is just miles away. the hotel is so clean and the quality of service is great.

Hotel has many restaurants and is located in el Marsa, a city that has so many places to visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice business hotel , where you can share business and relaxing time, very nice restaurant and breakfast. The swimming pool is just a dream, the bedroom with good quality level , specially for Tunisia, just a bad point , the team quality specifically at the front deck doesn't have the level, any way in French , in English or in the minimum level of need that you have to know to do this job.

Room Tip: Room in front of swimming pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On paper the hotel should have been ideal for a long weekend break. Unfortunately we got off to a bad start having been told our room was one of the best and overlooked the pool. The room was ok and adequate but it overlooked the car park (noisy throughout the night).

A catalogue of let downs from not being able to eat outside one evening as another party had reserved the whole area, no pool bar or service, the worlds slowest bar, very smokey common areas, room key access problems that took hours to sort......

If you're taking a break and not on a conference, wedding etc don't book this hotel without taking the above into account.

On the plus side, the hotel was very clean and the food was very good. The location was not great as it was not on the beach and there was not much around but it was not too far from the airport. Make sure you negotiate your taxi - we paid 15 TD going to the hotel and then we asked the hotel to arrange a taxi for us to take us back to the airport to which we were told it would be 20TD. However, when we actually got to the airport the guy tried to charge us 48 TD, we refused and said we would pay 30 TD.

Both the indoor and the outdoor pool were very nice and the prices at the spa not unreasonable. Check the season before you go as the outdoor pool by the spa was closed when we visited.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one overlooking the main pool, it may be a bit noisy during the day but I imagine when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Certainly the best Indian restaurant in Tunis. The Chef is from India and has worked at leading restaurants there. He has recently revamped the entire menu. The food is very good and he makes sure he gets your feedback directly during every meal.

We have been going there regularly for the past year with the kids and find the quality of the food very consistent -- especially keeping in mind that the ingredients for good Indian food are not easily available.

Try it out for yourself and make sure you tell them your preferences when you order.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour group. The food was good, with breakfast very well organised;lots of fresh fruits, good hot dishes and pleasant if not too swift service. One item needing attention- a limited supply of local currency so as a tour group of 40 we were all rationed to either Euro 50 or Euro 100 each day. Rooms are just what you would expect from a good class international hotel - large, clean and well-furnished ( with bathrooms you could have held a hunt ball in) Would recommend this as a base for Tunis/Carthage sites

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis

Address: Avenue de la Promenade | BP 606, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Marsa
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Marsa
#4 Spa Hotel in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis hotel is located on Gammarth Bay, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean, combining Business and Leisure.We have chosen this oasis of calm for the splendid views as well as nearby ancient sites.With its architectural style reflecting the meticulous standard, one would expect of a five-star deluxe hotel, while our employees are dedicated to your every need and expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis Hotel La Marsa
Golden Tulip La Marsa
La Marsa Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis Tunisia/La Marsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.