We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* property great amenities but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Tunis

Save Saved
You added The Residence Tunis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Tunis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les cotes de Carthage - BP 697, La Marsa 2070, Tunisia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Promotion
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in La Marsa
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“5* property great amenities but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good hotel and well appointed rooms / emenities with good service with lovely pool / lobby but.......for a property that is a leading hotels of the world there are a few hiccups (but could be fixed)

1) The restaurants are in need of better food quality and variety - I ate in both the Chinese and continental offerings and would expect food to a higher standard

2) TV - the selection of TV stations is very weak (a simple free to air satellite decoder would be better....) - When OSN has hotel packages this seems like an easy fix

Room Tip: Pool view is nice and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your remarks on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at "The Residence Tunis"

First of all, I would like to personally apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with some of our services. Your observations were immediately investigated and you are absolutely right in your assumptions, we did not provide you with the service you quite rightly would expect from a hotel of our standard.

On a more positive note, it was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our service and its location. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

Your constructive remarks will certainly help to us to quickly reach the quality we aim.
We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    87
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
64
105
30
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good clean hotel. Free WiFi. Nice indoor pool but with strict regulations on what type of swimming suit may be worn. As a Muslim, I have a swimming suit that covers my entire body but was told that if I wore it I would make other people uncomfortable. This being said, shouldn't I be feeling uncomfortable? Looking at half naked fat people while there was a lot of PDA going on.... The food is mediocre. The Chinese here is just tasteless veggies, not that decent. The staff are not very warm and the interior of the hotel is cold and sterile due to vast open spaces. I enjoyed my stay but there are just those few complaints.

Room Tip: Pool or sea facing. Lovely view with a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Residence Tunis and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments about the quality of the food in our Chinese restaurant, that the staff was not very warm and that the interior of the hotel is cold.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Residence Tunis and to show you that the hotel has the charm you have been missing.
We look forward to your next visit and remain,

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Elegant hotel located on the outskirt of Tunis. Beautiful decor, excellent service, comfortable and spacious room, wonderful indoor swimming pool, but small sauna. The hotel organizes dinners in the garden where an amazing selection of North African food is offered (delicious couscous.) I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Residence Tunis and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor !

How wonderful that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and we appreciate very much your remarks about our North African food!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon! In the meantime, the entire team would like to wish you and your family a Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

As you reach the hall of this wonderful hotel a smile will appear on your face. Big hotel,big rest areas, nice live music in the evening... That's really surprising. Your smile will come back as you will enter the room: comfortable, big bed, still and facing to the sea. Do not ask more than this!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read on TripAdvisor that you have enjoyed your time in Tunisia and at the Hotel The Residence Tunis ! You have indeed left an amazing description of our hotel !

Your comments about the service of our team are marvellous and we thank you very much for your wonderful support. They will be a great source of motivation to them!

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in Tunis,

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great Spa with Indoor Pool (salt water). A fantastic place to relax after a business meeting. Very quiet surroundings and rooms. Good variety for breakfast. Very nice rooms and restaurants. Free Wifi! Staff is very friendly.

Omly negative point: no individual adjustment of the Airconditioning possible. During my stay we were already on heating mode while it was still very warm outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,

It is always such a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay at the Hotel The Residence Tunis and I thank you very much for your wonderful feed-back!

We do apologize for the individual adjustment of the Airconditioning, we will changed it during our investments in the next future following your comments. Indeed, our team takes much pride to ensure that our guest needs are fulfilled and that their service is up to the standards you would certainly expect from a hotel like ours.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Tunis!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although not a bad hotel in terms of overall ambience and facilities, staff at the Li Bai Restaurant fail to grasp the importance of good customer service and completely miss the point when it comes to being polite and courteous to guests. Avoid the restaurant like the plague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Client,

Your comments relative to your last visit to our restaurant Li Bai received my full attention.

We acknowledge your comments about your disappointing experience.

I have taken good note of it and will share this with the entire team to prevent such reoccurrence in the future.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment that is may have caused to you.

We hope to welcome you back for a more pleasant experience and wish that you let us another chance to regain your trust.

Sincerely yours,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A truly beautiful location and wonderful building with nice amenities. Just a pity that all of this is being destroyed by incompetement and rude staff! When I checked out, I was asked to pay extra for a room upgrade that I had not requested and that I was not even aware of. When I questioned the bill, all I was told is to wait. After ten minutes I finally decided to leave as the reception staff was not capable of giving me any answer nor any justification. Amazing how such a hotel can make it into the Leading Hotels of the World chain with such a staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay at the Hotel The Residence Tunis on TripAdvisor.

I am very concerned by your constructive remarks regarding the lack of service during your check out at the reception of the hotel. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, they will help us to improve our quality to the level you would expect from our hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you again and please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your future arrangements.

Sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Residence Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Tunis

Address: Les cotes de Carthage - BP 697, La Marsa 2070, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Marsa
#1 Spa Hotel in La Marsa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Tunis 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Tunis is a harbour of grace and elegance where the Orient of "one thousand and one nights" unfurls it's magic... This palace of Arab-Andalusia architecture, a real oasis of charm and serenity, invites you to discover the authenticity of Tunisia through it's sumptuousness, it's cuisine and it's people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Residence Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Tunis Hotel La Marsa
Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis Tunisia/La Marsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Tunis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.