We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful hotel in Tunis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Taieb Mhiri BP 36, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in La Marsa
tunis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful hotel in Tunis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Movenpick is truly a stunnining hotel and provides a beautiful place to relax. The hotel's facilities are the best around. The service can vary, but when it's good, can be very good. The spa is beautiful, clean, and provides great service. It's a great getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are thankful for your positive comment . Everyday we dedicate ourselves to deliver our guests the higher standards of service. We are happy that we achieved to offer you this "excellent" level of service. The team was grateful to your positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
31
50
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunisia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My stay was within the frame of a conference, this is the fourth time, I and my group chose the Moevenpick Hotel. the friendly staff, the amazing view, the warm hosting, the excellent atmosphere for work made it all tempting to go back there each time and leave with the intention to come back next time.
Thank you all, keep it up!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to see that you have spent a lovely and enjoyable stay at Movenpick Hotel Gammarth. As our aim is to meet and mostly exceed your expectations, your satisfaction is our best reward. Be assured that you are more than welcomed for another memorable stay In Gammarth.

Best Regards.

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Arrived on Thursday night, to a very beautiful setting. My bag hadn't followed me to the room so I went and got it after 45 minutes, no matter.
On Friday I ate a lobster sandwich at the Mediterranean restaurant and from then until I left on Sunday I was horrendously unwell, with a swollen painful stomach and high temperature. I spent the remainder of my stay sweating in the hotel.
The service was very poor across all employees, from housekeeping bursting into the room without knocking on multiple occasions, catching my girlfriend and I in various states of undress, to large delays in waiter service and requests to reception, as well as frequently encountering a surly attitude. It's hard to remain pleasant when everything has to be requested repeatedly, but we did. On a positive, the spa was great and the staff there were lovely. I think they need to implement more training. One particularly bad example was when we requested a sheet for the bed on Friday (duvet was too hot); when this didn't arrive we asked again at noon on Saturday - at half past midnight on Sunday morning a man knocked on the door waking us both up, to give me a sheet, ie. 12.5 hours later.
My watch, which I left in my room was dropped while I was away and now has a scuff mark on it.

If staffing/training was better, and the food was trustworthy (I'd expect food at a large premium hotel chain to be safe wherever it is in the world), then this place is worth a look. Unfortunately until then it ranks amongst the worst experiences I've had in many years of travelling for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feed back about your experience at our Hotel and let you know how sorry we are that your stay was marred by various deficiencies and lack of attention to detail.

We take these commentaries very seriously and we only wish you would have contacted us before, especially while feeling sick and not just upon check out while paying your invoice.

As advised by our Duty Manager, we could have called our Doctor in no time instead of giving you the impression of lacking of reaction inputs when asked for compensation ( and offering only one night for free) and maybe, things would have appeared differently.

Just to clarify your statement and for the sake of our reputation, so easily spoiled by comments that would need a more solid background, out of the over 200 covers served on that very same day in our outlets, another 7 sandwiches like the one order by you were prepared and in total honesty, we had not issue or claim whatsoever.

Although it would seem from you comments that it will be difficult to give us another opportunity, we sincerely hope to welcome you back to our property and possibly demonstrate you the real nature of our services.

Wissem Arfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful 5* hotel in a very nice location on the beach but in need of improvement. Although very pleasant, Customer Service lacks of professionalism. Check in and check out were very slow, even during late evening when guest arrive tired and need to get their room keys fast. Transfert back to airport was 45 minutes late for no valid reason which was making us very nervous.

Breakfast repetitive and lacking of local speciality food. A la carte restaurant very slow and food like fish overcooked. On one occasion, smelly fish was served to a 3 year old boy and had to be returned to the kitchen. Service very slow and waiters not very attentive.

Chamber Maids took very long to do the rooms and would arrive even late at night on some occasions.

However, staff was very kind as a whole but need to be trained properly.

Rooms, swimming pools and other facilities were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First and foremost allow us to thank you for having chosen “Movenpick Gammarth” as a venue to spend a few days for your holiday.
While we note with pleasure that you seemed to enjoy your overall stay, we do apologize unreservedly for the undue inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced during your last visit.
The comments you highlighted are certainly a cause of concern on our part and we have been addressing them with the respective department heads. It provided us with the opportunity to improve our services by re-training the concerned staff which ultimately makes us a better hotel.

We hope that there will soon be another occasion for you to return to Gammarth and to The Movenpick Gammarth.
Looking forward to that pleasure I remain,

Yours sincerely,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a one night business trip. Friendly service in the restaurants, quick and courteous check-in. Bedroom was 4* plus, clean, new or recently refurbished. Lobby was spacious, modern, plenty of marble, attentive service;
What pleased me most was that hotel is sold as 4-5 star and that is what i got (you know how it goes sometimes).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are thankful for your positive comment . Everyday we dedicate ourselves to deliver our guests the higher standards of service. We are happy that we achieved to offer you this "excellent" level of service. The team was grateful to your positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I took my family here and to the Sinbad hotel in Hammamet. Very different experiences despite similar budgets. Where the Sinbad looks a bit dated, the Movenpick has benefited from a makeover.

However there was a big disconnect between the quality of the hotel and the level of service. If this is a Swiss hotel, it must be the Swiss Germans who ran training as the staff seems hell bent on a rules based approach. No one seems to know the adage of the customer is always right. Silly things like refusing to serve food on the terrace (only drinks). The Sinbad has a better beach and much friendlier staff. If on holiday I would (and shall) go there instead.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First and foremost allow us to thank you for having chosen “Movenpick Gammarth” as a venue to spend a few days for your holiday.
While we note with pleasure that you seemed to enjoy your overall stay, we do apologize unreservedly for the undue inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced during your last visit.
The comments you highlighted are certainly a cause of concern on our part and we have been addressing them with the respective department heads. It provided us with the opportunity to improve our services by re-training the concerned staff which ultimately makes us a better hotel.

We hope that there will soon be another occasion for you to return to Gammarth and to The Movenpick Gammarth.
Looking forward to that pleasure I remain,

Yours sincerely,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is now a Mövenpick!
 
Rooms: very nice and quiet with free wifi which worked really well - short download times and could even be used at the pool.
 
Pool and beach clean with towels, umbrellas and chairs provided free of charge
 
Restaurants: good quality food, liked the Moroccan restaurant. At breakfast I only missed natural yoghurt. The price for the breakfast was reasonable (around 12 Euro).
 
Spa was closed during my visit - but prices for the treatment looked expensive.

Hallways were not air-conditioned which was a. bit uncomfortable in August.
 
VIP tranfer from the airport: far too expensive for the service offered, especially as we were 3 persons and all had to pay the full price (TD 115 - 59 Euro).
 
 

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wissem_11, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are thankful for your positive comment . Everyday we dedicate ourselves to deliver our guests the higher standards of service. We are happy that we achieved to offer you this "excellent" level of service. The team was grateful to your positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Wissem Arfa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis

Address: Avenue Taieb Mhiri BP 36, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Marsa
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Marsa
#2 Spa Hotel in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis Tunisia/La Marsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.