We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New to fully inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safira Palms

Save Saved
You added Safira Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Safira Palms
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route touristique Zone Lella Meriem | Hessi Jerbi, Zarzis 4173 , Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Zarzis
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“New to fully inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Female Age 42, travelled with Father - 69, the evening entertainment was alot aimed at the younger 20-50 year olds, for older generation the music was not varied enough, and was alot of house music/local Tunisian music...loud pumping noise.
Nightlife ends at 11pm.
Location of Complex is in the middle of nowhere, so you are limited to be able to seek outside entertainment or shops.
Overall hotel is big and staff are helpful and friendly. Food variety is good in the resturant.
Alot of Germans and French people stay here, so if you are English, be prepared to spend the holiday with little english being spoken, main language that Tunisia's speak is French, so if you can brush up on your French this will help get by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    181
    87
    43
    17
See reviews for
245
133
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just came back from a weeks stay here, a week was enough because of the location .Arrived late at night got to the room 2 nice plates of salad and 2 bottles of water waiting for us which was a nice touch.Hotel was clean and the rooms cleaned daily,Food in the restaurant was good .The animation team were very active throughout the day..All the staff worked very hard all day..Beach was good..
a couple of negative points , the next morning my wife smelt something nasty, it was the mattress which was a bit ripe (urine) ,complained to the reception ,the mattress was changed that day.
The language barrier was another sticking point , the staff spoke french, and German was the two main languages obviously apart from tunisian once you get there you will understand..
Overall I would go back but only for a week, it was good value for money..

Room Tip: request a ground floor pool view room otherwise you will end up facing a wall .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Ive just got nack from 2 weeks here and I had an absolutely fantastic time the staff were ace anything u needed they saw to and the animation team were excellent Rico.Nino.Sam.Dahli.Chico.ChouChou.katy.selina.sylvia.Hachoo kept us entertained all day those guys work so hard and made the holiday awsome ....the location is pretty remote but beautiful there's plenty of trips to go on and water sports ....my partner and I enjoyed ourselves so much we didnt want to leave and will definitely be going back we made lots of new friends from all different countries .The food was fab too and there was plenty to choose from lots of authentic tunisian food to choose from and of course burgers pizza and chips if your a fussy eater lots of salad and cold meats fresh fish so much to choose from .pancakes and ice cream available at 3/4 in the afternoon ...if you're looking for a relaxing holiday with lots to do if u want to then its ideal and great for kids too .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned froma weeks holiday and although the weather was fantastic and the sea beautiful the Hotel on a whole was very tired looking. The reception staf were helpful when necessary, but the main staff in the buffet restaurant pretended not to speak English and practically ignored you. The waiters worked hard but most days organised chaos!! the food was normal buffet style all inclusive.The al a carte restaurant could not produce a menu to see if the food was acceptable for children so we didn.t book. The American stylr bar was non existant neither was the indoor swimming pool!! The quality of service and drinks in the main lobby bar was poor and we ordered a mojito everyday day to be told tomorrow we are still waiting!!!!!! Not good with cocktails and no entertainment.Also no dress code for retaurants as you would expect for a 4star iberostar hotel. Pool very clean but sunbeds and towels very poor quality. Animation team worked very hard but again very amateurish shows. Beach bar better service than other bars and at least they smiled when you spoke English.Rooms tired but cleaner tried. Never saw Thomas Cook rep Rashid, hence 3 guests got on the wrong coach going back to the airport, We were 3 adults and 12 year old twins who thoroughly enjoyed the good weather, made our own fun, but felt the hotel was very French Orientated. Perhaps I 3star would be more appropriate for this Hotel as I am sure in the past it was of good quality just been left to deteriorate. PS If you book a message make sure the dining room above is closed as when you are having a lovely treatment it is annoying to hear chairs scraping the floor all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Safira Palms, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Carole,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Safira Palms hotel for your holidays and for the time you spent to write your impressions about your stay as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.

We took good note of your comments related to the service in our lobby bar and restaurant and will pass on your comment to our head of department in order to revise and improve and we apologize for not fulfilling your expectations during your stay.

Further we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can, nevertheless, we took good note of your comment and we commit to revise if we can renovate some of the areas.

On the other hand we thank you for your positive comment on our reception staff and are glad to hear that you felt well cared after when necessary.

Once again, thank you for your visit, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Safira Palms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks with my family. We were given a relatively nice welcome and the men working at reception were polite. The room was exceptionally clean although the beds were hard and uncomfortable, causing a bit of a back ache... The food was okay there was a lot of choice and the waiting staff / chefs in particular were very friendly. The daytime actives were engaging and my daughter above all liked to get involved eventually. They were things such as darts, aqua gym, aerobics, beach volleyball, pool games etcetera... I have to thank the animation team above all, they were incredibly friendly and made you feel welcome. They got to know you and this made all the difference I'd say, without them the holiday wouldn't have been as good. A special thanks to Sam and , he was great with my son and I know my daughter will miss him. Dali is also a very friendly animatior with a huge personality, we will remember him. Additionally, Hajji who was very talented with his language thanks again to him. The night entertainment was very funny and we enjoyed the animation teams performances. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a good, relaxing break, for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I went to Safira Palms part of a group of 5, we stayed for 2 weeks 20th July - 3rd August. To start with, between us we had 2 rooms one pool facing and one sea facing which were on the same floor adjacent to each other, the rooms were sparking clean and the hairdryer and shower were both good and powerful. The beds were a little uncomfortable but we got used to it, air conditioning in the room was a plus. Moving on, the food was 'good/okay' there was plenty of variety; fish, chicken, beef, pizza, soup, pasta, salad, lamb etc... you wouldn't go hungry I can tell you that. If anything as we were there for 2 weeks we did become a little bit 'ugh' as it was the same thing literally every night, morning, lunch... Ice cream and pancakes were always available in between meals though it was nice. I took full advantage of the free bar :') The daytime activities consisted of from what i can remember, darts, aqua gym, aerobics, water polo, beach volleyball and also numerous pool games which were fun to take part in or watch.The best part of the holiday in my opinion were the animation team, without them it would have been no where near as good they really made the holiday. They are fun, quirky, shameless and so friendly. One i'd like to comment on in particular goes by the name of Sam. He was so friendly and I really will miss him above all. He makes everyone feel welcome and tries to get everyone involved. The nighttime entertainment was a kiddie disco from 8:30-9pm and then there was a show put on by the animation team, 9:30 - around 10:30 usually a dance number which was good, I enjoyed that as well as the beach parties the put on weekly i think. The only bad aspects of the holiday were how there were always people trying to sell you excursions and were very persistent and the language barrier in that the majority of staff spoke very little english but that was to be expected it just left you feeling a tad... alienated in a way from everyone else there, also the hotel was remote so you couldnt travel outside the hotel to your own accord unless on a booked excursion to the market or to the beach, a stones throw from the hotel. Overall I had a very good time and would most definitely visit again and would recommend it to people looking for a good, relaxing break!

Room Tip: Paying for a pool/ sea view is nice but you hardly spend anytime in your room so i'd say it isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

i went to safira palms with my daughters(17/16yrs) on arrival we was not pleased with our room as it was small.so in the morning complained and was moved to a bigger room no charge,lovely location if your happy to stay on site..animation team were good very friendly/funny,i enjoyed every minute,sunrise was amazing directly oppersite hotel just popped out of the sea,food was very good lots of choice lamb beef chicken veal fish pizza pasta chips potatoes rice etc never went hungry,lots of activities during the day. evening time i feel ended to early 10.30pm although the beach party was later, i would go back so would my daughters.nino haji josef rico cheeko dali and mo the life gaurd were fantasic i will miss them

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safira Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safira Palms

Address: Route touristique Zone Lella Meriem | Hessi Jerbi, Zarzis 4173 , Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Zarzis
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zarzis
#4 Spa Hotel in Zarzis
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Zarzis
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Zarzis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zarzis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Safira Palms 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Safira Palms is an All-Inclusive hotel in Zarzis, opposite the beautiful Ras Marmour beach, on the Tunisian coast. Sun, beach, tranquillity and luxury are the main features of this resort primarily designed for couples and families with children. The top Iberostar Safira Palms hotel is an excellent choice for an unforgettable holiday in Tunisia with the beautiful Ras Marmour beach to accompany it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Safira Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Safira Palms Hotel Zarzis
Iberostar Hotel Zarzis
Iberostar Hotel Safira Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safira Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.