We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday of my life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zodiac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zodiac to your Saves list
Zodiac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique Yasmine Hammamet | Hammamet Tunisia, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best holiday of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My friend and I stayed at Zodiac for a week in September, and since returning back to England our lives have not been the same. We have both said that this was quite simply the best holiday of our lives. The hotel is family owned and the staff could not possibly have been more accommodating. I am shocked to read negative reviews regarding the friendliness of the hotel staff - this simply cannot be. They were pleasant and helpful at all times.

The hotel is clean, spacious and the facilities are great. There is constant entertainment on offer, and the staff really do go out of their way to include you. I was suprised at my new love of water polo!

The food was quite simply stunning, and in Tunisia I understand that this is a rarity. I have an egg allergy, and the staff even pointed out each day which dishes I should avoid.

The only regret I have is that we only stayed for a week. As a result, I am now having to return again later in the year!

Many thanks to everyone at the Zodiac for making our stay so fantastic. We have made some amazing friends that we will never forget and we will definitely be returning.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    115
    69
    55
    43
See reviews for
142
112
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed at the zodiac in january this year and enjoyed it so much we went back again in May for another week, i dont understand why people are saying its not clean and that there are bugs around, believe me if if was dirty i would have checked out the first night, the location is also brilliant, near the beach and the shops,

We paid £250 each in jan for a week and £350 each in May, and it was well worth the money, my boyfriend and I are both fussy eaters, but the food is gorgeous and we look forward to all the meals.

please contact me if you would like any more information but dont be put off by the negative comments, its a lovely hotel and we are going again soon hopefully.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

If you are thinking of staying at the Zodiac Hotel in Yasmine Hamammet, please read this honest review first!The photos on the website make the Zodiac look very nice but in reality it is very shabby.  Bits of plaster hanging from the ceiling of our room, the air conditioning didn't work even though some rooms did have this facility.  Lights in the corridors not working which makes it very difficult to find your room if you arrive at midnight as we did, luckily we avoided tripping up on the carpets with curled up edges.  Broken arm on chair in lounge and generally not very clean.  The crazy golf course, petanque pitch, vollyball and tennis court were not looked after and covered in weeds. The double room we booked turned out to be a twin with only one half decent pillow, when we politely requested another, reception was incredibly rude and actually shouted at us!  This wasn't to be the only time we would be subjected to this behaviour!Seemingly the hotel never had enough money to change our travellers cheques except for one occasion whn our rep asked for us - amazing!!  There was never any change for small notes even when we wanted to spend it on their pool table.  We would advise you not to go "all inclusive" as the food wasn't of a good standard and the choise was limited and apparently, "all inclusive" means something else in Tunisia.  Even though we don't drink alcohol which is expensive out there we were expected to pay for fresh Orange juice by the pool!Although we were told that every room has a hairdryed and TV, you have to pay a deposit for a hairdryer and TV controller.  We would question how safe the building itself is as one evening when it was windy and raining the double door at the end of our corridor leading outside, suddenly blew off!  The door and door frame were hanging from the brick work with broken plaster and a broken flower pot everywhere.  When we reported this, reception just shrugged their shoulders!  it wasn't until 16 hours later and at least 1 women with a baby and toddler had dangerously squeezed their way through that anyone even came to look at it!  It was just strong wind that caused this. SEE VIDEO FOOTAGE POSTED ON YOUTUBE TITLED " TUNISIA ZODIAC HOTEL CATASTROPHE VIDEO 1", VIDEO 2 AND VIDEO 3We quickly realised that if you are French you will be treated better and included in poolside activities but you might as well be invisible if you are English.  The evening entertainment (if you can call it that) was also catered to the French and very repetative.  We have travelled a lot but never where it was so glaringly obvious that all we were to the locals was walking pound signs.Apparently it is common in Tunisia to have to pay 30td (£15) for the use of a room to shower in on your last day but at no point had we been informed of this.  We have friends and family who have stayed at the resort of Port El Kantoui who have had wonderful holidays so we would seriously recommend you go there instead.  We loved the Sahara and ancient Roman remains andthe restaurants we found by the Marina but we have been put off Tunisia by this poorly run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Booked short notice and for a 4* ai, at a VERY cheap rate. Bit of confusion as to who we were on arrival and with the hotel (and the whole resort for that matter) being geared towards the french, there was a bit of communication problem.. but we got there.

Avoid the lifts at all costs... unless you like standing in the dark and hoping to get to your floor lol. The bellboy type guy did carry our cases up to the top floor for us though.

Rooms are small, but reasonably clean and the cleaners are around every day for a quick tidy up.

the hotel itself is small and excluding a couple of members of staff (smiler from the bar for example) is very friendly too. If you go all inclusive then you do receive smaller drinks from the bar... but its free - just go more often! Food was varied, always hot and contrary to other comments, we didnt see a single cockroach.

The animation team are a little OTT sometimes and are likely to bug you to get them free drinks and try to drag you off to niteclubs saying that you get free entry with them (i suspect they are wanting more free drinks lol) but they were definitely trying their best with what they had to work with which really wasnt a lot.

the resort itself is very modern and full of overly forward shop workers trying to coerce you into their shops "hey, you not remember me... I work in your hotel" becomes a very familiar line very quickly and they will know where you are staying by the colour of the wristband you are wearing. There isnt a whole lot to do here in reality, we took a camel ride and pirate ship excursions which were both good and relatively cheap but thats about it really.

overall, we were pleased with the holiday for the money.. but dont plan on returning to tunisia.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

This hotel was horrible! Everything was broken from beds to lights to loos. The evening entertainment was hilarious though due to the dreadful animation team. The Kids disco was overtaken by adults so not really child centered.
There isn't anywhere for the children to play. The hotel could do with installing a small sectioned off play area with a sand pit as the childens pool is too dirty for them to paddle in. The whole place smells of stale cigarettes. The outdoor pool was freezing. Maybe it warms up in the summer(?) and the indoor pool whilst warm just stinks. Some of the restaurant staff and the housemaids are lovely and so keen to help but they are let down by management who don't seem to care. The food is repetitive and boring but edible and we ended up eating out a lot at the local medina. There isn't enough fresh fruit or choice of fruit at breakfast. If you go to the beach don't bother looking for the HOTEL ZODIAC section as it is ramshackled and all the sunbeds are broken - just turn right and go further along. Other hotels will lend you a lounger and parasol for small fee - but really the Zodiac should sort this out. All the other hotels nearby look way better and have the same rating as the Zodiac. Anyway spoke to lots of other people on holiday and got the names of their hotels and they were really happy so going to one of those next time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel is being grossly oversold in the UK, particularly by companies such as Teletext. After speaking to the local taxi drivers, it has the reputation of one of the worst hotels in Hammamet. The patio doors in our rooms and many of the rooms don't lock. Myself and other guests we spoke to were really concerned about this but all the management would say was" oh this is Tunisia - there is no crime here" yeah right !!! We didn't spend over 2 grand to come away with two young children to be put in room with doors that are unfit for purpose i.e don't shut. When we spoke to a member of staff he told us there had been a break -in (which would be easy given the patio doors don't lock) a few months earlier.

The hotel is filthy. The lovely, well meaning chambermaids are overworked and there are not enough of them whilst the management stand around or as we observed are always in the restaurant eating. The animation team are sleezy. They go around taking photos of the guests kids the whole time and smoke around the kids.

Lots of carpet or rug bugs. Lots of attempts to control the cockroaches in the restaurant with the head chef flicking them with his apron and heat glove. The food at breakfast sits around for three hours so if you decide to lie in and take breakfast at a leisurely 9.30 am it is dried out and has had numerous cockroaches and other bugs all over it. The only thing to eat at breakfast that is safe is the crepes made in front of you. Lots of attempts to sell you really rubbish and expensive excursions with an agent of the company you booked with. Just use one of the local excursion pedlars. Cheaper and better. Lots of scratching of the head by head barman whilst he works out whether coffee is included in the all inclusive rate.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. Cockroaches all over the breakfast serving area. The family rooms are deathtraps with their dangerous staircases. The animation team are rubbish and really rather creepy. Certainly wouldn't feel happy leaving my kids in their supervision at their totally pathetic kids club. Also caught them out after they moved us to another room and they remade the beds using the previous guests used sheets!!!!! This hotel is like a down and out hostel. When you sit on the chairs in reception get up and smell the back of your clothes afterwards because everywhere stinks of cigarettes. Also check your patio doors on arrival. Many of the patio doors don't lock even when on the ground floor. While sunbathing by the pool I got screamed at one afternoon by three men in white suits and masks telling me to get inside and shut the doors and windows whereupon they started spraying tank loads of pesticide around the outside of the hotel. Don't forget to ask for a tour of the kitchen or better still just enter and pretend you got lost. Filthy floors and surfaces, overflowing bins an yes more cockroaches. Never going back to the Zodiac or Tunisia.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zodiac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zodiac

Address: Zone Touristique Yasmine Hammamet | Hammamet Tunisia, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zodiac 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zodiac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiac Hotel Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zodiac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.