We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zodiac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zodiac to your Saves list
Zodiac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique Yasmine Hammamet | Hammamet Tunisia, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 126 Hotels in Hammamet
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from the Zodiac this was our sixth visit. Was treated excellently food good hotel very clean met some great people no complaints weather excellent staff very friendly and caring ensuring you get all you require out of your holiday nothing was too much trouble have recommended this hotel to friends

Room Tip: Suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    125
    75
    55
    44
See reviews for
152
118
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friends and I recently stayed in the hotel for a week. For the most part we enjoyed our trip. The bedrooms were quite spacious although the pillows were really hard. The mattresses were firm also.

The rooms were basic and clean except for the bathroom with moulds of damp patches along the bath. When we commented on it to the maintenance guy he came and resealed over the top of the damp. The bath taps acted as a shower and we had to run the water for at least 5minutes before showering until the water ran clear as it was brown.

The food was ok - like a lot of hotels the food was reused at the next meal. I felt the hotel catered more for Eastern European guests and would have liked to have seen more traditional Tunisian food at mealtimes. However, I enjoyed the majority of my meals.

The staff were generally friendly. The animation activities could have included more North African cultural activities - instead the team relied on hotel guests to volunteer to be part of the entertainment. Not really my cup of tea.

The bus stop was literally outside the hotel which was brilliant for Friday market day in Naubel as the bus fare cost 1 dinar 35. The bus leaves every 30 minutes but isn't punctual if you are waiting....great experience to travel alongside the local people.

The hotel beach lifeguards were pleasant and good craic. The hotel security staff were very respectful also.

Wouldn't be a 4star hotel in the UK - but wouldn't have wanted to stay in anything less in Tunisia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice clean hotel , with friendly staff and a great selection of meals at all times . For those of you who want english food .....stay in england !!! Maybe not what you would expect of a 4* hotel in england but a great place to stay for a relaxing , value for money holiday .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambleton, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having just returned from a week at the Hotel Zodiac I would like to say what a friendly, clean hotel this is. The food was good, with a wide variety of meals and superb snacks !
The animation team were excellent- not too pushy, the bar/reception staff were helpful.
My only gripe would be the room showers could be better but otherwise the rooms were good with excellent air conditioning included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel was not what you would expect of a 4 star hotel in England but what the hotel lacked in 4* quality was outweighed by the ambience created by the delightful staff. Everyone was so friendly and committed to ensuring the guests had a good experience. If your main concern of a holiday is to have perfect decoration, expensive upholstery and a feel of luxury this is not the place for you. However if you want to feel welcome, enjoy a family atmosphere and know the staff care about your visit, then book a holiday here. Mondher the restaurant and bar manager was a shear delight along with Max who was part of the animation team. Both made our holiday one to remember and we look forward to returning next year. Billy, the animation team manager was a pain in the backside but hey, one idiot can be avoided when everyone else was great!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have a lovely view but there is some noise from the evening entertainment which goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Bedrooms:
Arrived around 2.30am and the night porter told us they were having a problem with some of the rooms and that he would have to put us in a temporary room for the night. The room was drenched; there was water pouring from the ceiling and we had to put down towels to try and mop it up. Fairly irritating as he failed to warn us about it and he was most definitely aware of it as there were maintenance staff coming out of the room with mops as we came in.
Next morning we went to reception to see what was happening with the room change, the receptionist was quite rude and told us to come back after breakfast. We went back and were given a new room.
The actual bedroom itself was clean but it was annoying having two single beds pushed together. The pillows were horrific and the beds overall not comfortable but given the temperature outside, the air conditioning was pretty decent.

Food:
Breakfast was alright - cereals, fresh pastries, hot vegetables, freshly made crepes, eggs/omelettes, juices and coffee/tea.
Lunch & Dinner were similar - well stocked salad bar, fresh bread, soup, some sort of pasta dish, vegetarian option and various meat/chicken dishes. Then for dessert there was a selection of cakes and watermelon/melon.
It may not have been to everyone's taste but I'm not entirely sure why British people expect to get British food in Tunisia.

Bar:
The bar had a separate menu for all inclusive as resorts normally do but there was plenty of choice. This included tea/coffee, juices, soft drinks, draught beer, vodka, gin and various liqueurs. The bar man that was there during the day was exceptional, always coming up with suggestions for different drinks for us to try and went out of his way to be helpful. I don't think the drink is watered down at all, one of the bar men jokingly asked me to help him open the vodka and it was fully sealed. I reckon some of the people complaining were probably sick due to the fact that they were drinking all day for a week!

Pool & Animation Team:
Pool was nice and clean, not always enough sun loungers for everyone but never waited too long to get one. The "pool bar" wasn't actually a bar but had freshly made pizza, crepes and icecream available from around 3pm, between lunch and dinner.
The animation team worked extremely hard all day to keep everyone entertained, adults and children alike. Wouldn't normally be the biggest fan of jumping around the place with a load of random guests but it actually was good fun if you got involved as much or as little as you liked. They were mainly catering for French, Russian, English & Scottish guests and did their best to make an effort with everyone and were really friendly. What was even better is that they seemed to keep most of the children entertained a lot of the time so it was rare to see any children screaming, crying or anything like that.
The evening entertainment was good and something different each night. There was even a snake charmer one night which was great!

Beach:
The beach was only a short walk, there was an allocated area for the hotel with sun loungers and the sea was lovely and clear.

Outside the hotel, there will be people saying "remember me, I'm the chef from your hotel" - I've no idea what the scam is but I'm sure it's dodgy! There is another man on the beach selling fruit who carries around a baby turtle or lizard - do not offer to let him take your photo with his pets - he will try to charge 30 dinars or more, spotted a couple getting stung for it.

Overall, it was a good holiday but you do have to take the good with the bad when considering that this hotel is not by any means expensive whatsoever - remember your on holiday and stop looking for faults and enjoy yourself, we certainly did!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Where Do I start..... Well its my second time in tunisia first being at the soviva resort in port el kantoui or something which was ok verging on good hotel but you dont want to hear bout that anyway me and my fiancee arrived at zodiac (good name as manager certainly was a crab unless you happen to be french, always moaning at the staff) bout 3am after the worst transfer ever (driver was either drunk or at best hungover) first impression when arrived lots of shops beach all the usual outside got in the gates so far so good approached the reception which looked better than I expected and was given a bottle of water and checking was nice and straight froward after filling in a form porter then took us to the room which was pretty standard but everything in the right place but to be fair all we were thinking about was bed enter the start of the decline the bed cover had a big mark Im hoping an iron burn dont worry thats not a complaint but will get back to that bed its self now thats a different story would have been as well sleeping on the floor it was that hard which I didnt mind to much first night as were shattered although we are clearly a young couple we were given two singles pushed together (no comfy spooning goin on this holiday) anyway got up bit later than we generally would on holiday due to the flight times etc so missed breakfast no prob own fault had a little walk about hotel and surrounding area to see which shops there were and what was being sold each shop you pass there is one or two people waiting outside to BEG u in and once in will do anything for your money do not be fooled by there sweet talk and inflated prices first thing we bout were two tshirts which were quoted at 150,000 dinar roughly £60 yeah maybe in USC mate little tip offer at most a tenth of what they say yeah u heard right as in not 150,000 but 15,000 ohh yes they may well not like it but its your money and you wanna keep it that way what ever you do dont stray far from ur opening bid we ended up paying 20,000 dinar for both after starting to walk away as was the story with all our buys very few things if any cost over 35,000 dinar and that includes the rolex watches and any other make which must admit good quality so far had ma tag one a week and not a problem as of yet any way back to our erm hotel?? and time for lunch thank god we were starving mmmmmm what to have (not very much by the looks of it) there is bout 6 different choices one off which was chips another pasta or some bolognise thing which back home I wouldnt look at but since was starving and the other 4 things were disgusting to put it mildly I decided would have to make do wi chips n pasta thing yum :( and if memory serves me fiancee had same I know what ur thinking well least its just one day nope affraid not that was the best lunch I got all week as sometimes the pasta wasnt even an option thank god for chips a tell you now next to most people would prob be bit sunbathing luckily were not really into lazin bout n get bored just sitting by the pool I say luckily as yeah a sunbathers nightmare the hotel is over run wi german and french tourists beach towels everywhere we instead we hit the bar I got a beer which wasnt to bad the first few days but got bit sick off the more a drank wich if you want to get drunk will need to be alot of them not strong at all and my fiancee had a nice "green cocktail" which was lovely a must say but again could only drink for half the week noooo not down to getting sick of it apparently from what we could make out the manager wasnt happy with people drinking them and took them off the menu guess he has his own idea of all inclusive
and dont get me started on him rude and apparently doesnt like the brits only time we seen him smile was when he seen his 3 groups of room only guests coming vip treatment was not the word ud have thought elvis had picked his self out the grave and decided to use his hotel to to tell the world he was back the treatment they got couldnt believe it really brought a new meaning to ave got ur cash a dont care!!! only member of staff I have a good comment for was one of the bar staff he went out his way with everything and never complained hence only one that got a tip right gonna narrow this down a bit am gonna be here all day typing this at this rate and your gonna be all day reading it lol over all food first breakfast walked in and straight back out there was literally nothing to have lunch chips n pasta on a good day dinner same as breakfast with the exception they had melon flavorless but edible so all inclusive I tell no lies all I had was lunch and on the occasion when they actually bothered to do snacks which if ur lucky is one hour a day so make sure u time it 3 little sqaures of pizza not acceptable catered purly for french people nothing for brits even the chips were french fries lol room cleaned every day well a say cleaned they mop the floor and change ur towels they dont even change the bed how do I know if you remember at the start I mentioned iron stain on bed sheets yip you got it same place every day and as for the maid if ur in when she comes she chaps gives u no time to answer n tries to come in then she will keep trying every 5 min even when u say its ok now having read all the reviews about the amazing animation team things looked up for night ohhh how wrong can you be the shows are only on for 1.5hr thank god and a mean thank god well suppose it depends what you like if your into two guys on a stage doing strange actions in drag and making what can only be described as dying animal sounds or baby talk you will love it sadly not for me now after all that you prob wonder why I gave it so many stars well least the tv had two channels also just a pitty they were both the news!!! ohhh and ps if ur in room 227 the view is a hotel getting built

Room Tip: there are some lovely looking hotels cheap isnt always best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zodiac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zodiac

Address: Zone Touristique Yasmine Hammamet | Hammamet Tunisia, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zodiac 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Zodiac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiac Hotel Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zodiac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.