We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, fun holiday hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Life Africana Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Magic Life Africana Imperial to your Saves list
Magic Life Africana Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 48 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Hammamet
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A good, fun holiday hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights with our two children (11 and 10 yrs old).

It has lots of good points, including:
- really lovely, well-kept gardens that wind their way down the sea;
- a really lovely breach (deep golden sand and clear water);
- a really energetic and enthusiastic entertainment team, with high quality dancers performing at the evening shows (far, far better than we have experienced at any comparable hotel);
- pretty spacious rooms that are nicely furnished;
- chefs who are very helpful those on special diets (our son is gluten, dairy and soya free, but chefs Hassan and Lassaad were both happy to take us round and point out what he could eat and what he could not);
- good food (in particular the meats barbequed outside in the evening) - it was very noticeable that the top chefs take perosanla respoinsibilyt for copoking ;
- good cleanliness of public areas (including regular cleaning of public toilets - Gatwick (eugh) should send people over to learn how to do it);
- good maintenance levels (a workman doing painting insisted on fixing a broken door stop the instant we pointed it out to him after it had hurt our daughter's foot); and
- good location (one of the first stops from the airport as you approach Hammamet as it is further south that most of the hotels, but still very cheap to get into town by taxi).

As with any 4 star hotel there are always things that could and should be improved, including:
- the hotel needs to employ at least three more waiters in the main restaurant to clear tables and serve drinks much, much quicker (the Magic Life in Djerba has the same problem but here it seemed slightly worse; the staff work hard, there are just not enough of them, so this is a management issue not a poor employee issue);
-some staff need to be re-educated about food hygiene (we saw a baguette dropped on the floor and then added back to the bread basket, for example);
- they should try a bit harder to keep birds out of the dining room; and
- reception (whilst extremely helpful sometimes) can take an annoying "not my problem" approach (e.g. if you lose money due to broken machines in the games room they will say "it's privately operated, nothing to do with us", even though the room is in the hotel and there's no sign to tell you this).

Whilst the hotel does have a large number of Austrian and German guests, there are many nationalities present (Tunisian, Algerian, Dutch, French, British etc) and everyone is catered for. Amy (the sole British member of the entertainment team) did a really great job of looking after the British guests, but her colleagues were equally welcoming and warm, and the Thomson rep Lorraine looked after us very well too.

If you have not been before, Ej Jem is a really magnificent Roman amphitheatre and well worth a visit (even our children said they wished we'd had longer there). Also the £4 each way taxi trip to the old medina in Hammamet-north is a bargain, as the ribat, medina and souk are well worth exploring.

Would we go back? Yes, we would. It is good value for money - a very solid, comfortably 4*, holiday hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    121
    57
    20
    14
See reviews for
240
197
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from weeks stay at the Africana. The whole family really enjoyed their stay. My daughter spent all her time flitting from pool to pool the staff were always looking out for her and id like to give particular thanks to Yasaim the life gaurd who was a really nice guy always making time to say hello. My teenage son was initially a bit put off by the mix of nationalities as the english are in the minority but after a day or so was hanging out with a large group of kids playing football, volleyball or just hanging out at the beach, come the evening they all went off to the club, I didn't really see much of him! There are three golf courses close to the resort where my husband played and two of the three he rated as excellent. Me I just relaxed by the pool and read my book...perfect.
Now down to the details, the hotel is medium sized with nice relaxed feel, decor is ok maybe a little dated but not old. The standard of cleanliness is exceptional our room maid Rohonda was an angel really lovely nothing was too much trouble (room 253). We had a family room on the second floor, really good size, with two separate rooms off a small enterence hall, initally the kids room had a double bed made up but I asked for an extra single bed to be put in and that was done by the time we got back to the room. The entertainment team are fantastic lead by a very enthusiastic team manager and proffessional dancers. Amy was a great asset to the team. The buffet restaurant was good but could do with a bit of a menu rework...lunchtime we eat at the pool snack bar or had a panni at the beach. Overall it is a great hotel not 5 star but definitely a good 4. Would definitely like to try one of the other magic life hotels. Thanks for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from Club Magic Life Africana - 3 years ago we stayed at the magic resort in Side, Turkey which is now taken over by Thompson, and our experience there was so good that I was pressed to try any other all inclusive resort. Please read all the other positive reviews about this hotel and you'll notice that the magic life entertainment staff cannot be faulted - they work 6 days a week from 9.30 in the morning to almost 2am to keep folks happy. If you want to join in, you will not be disappointed and will meet so many lovely interesting hotel guests from all over Europe, who are more than happy to have lots of fun with you on your holiday. We had a great time and decided to do lots of things we hadn't done before; nordic walking, learning archery, learning to catamaran sail, at Pilates classes, Stretch classes and we joined in with the pool games and my son learnt to count in german so he could join in with the scoring!! - but everyone, without exception wanted to speak English to us! Everyone from the gardening staff, waiting staff were nothing but curteous, pleasant and hard working. If there was a problem then a quick chat with the reception desk had it resolved. Dorothea (Thompson, not Magic Life) was very friendly and was always on hand to resolve anything. If you have active children that are not shy in having a go at something new then this is the resort for you - if you like to go on holiday and moan about the baked beans not being the same as at home or were expecting Cirque du Soleil in the evenings then this holiday is not for you - read the reviews, join in, its never compulsory but you'll have so much more fun if you do. Thankyou to all the multi-lingual entertainment teams - the hotel layout means that the evening entertainment is disjointed (a nice piano bar in the reception would hold interest for those not wanting to go to the ampitheatre) but there are big plans for another building to be added which would resolve this and improve the gym/fitness and beach bar area next year. Would I go back? probably not to this hotel, but only because there are more magic life's to discover around the med!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking tennis courts which were quiet, unfortunately the sea view rooms are famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely with lots of facilities but unfortunately we had several problems. As has been mentioned the food hygiene is poor. Four of us out of five had tummy bugs and one was nearly admitted to hospital. We were not the only family who suffered.

As has also been mentioned the keys to the door do not always work and we had several trips down to reception to correct the key.

With children of varying ages my daughter and I were disappointed to find that the majority of other children in the activity groups were German as were the entertainers and this made joining in quite difficult. The majority of people at the hotel speak German as it is owned by an Austrian Company

On the plus side the entertainers worked very hard, especially Amy who was the only English entertainer and made us very welcome. We found the evening entertainment great fun and the dancers, etc. worked very hard.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor facing the pool was comfy and adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on an all inclusive basis as part of a package deal during the second week of August. We had a quiet room towards the back of the hotel near the tennis courts. The room was spotlessly clean, the maids worked hard everyday to keep the room looking that way and there were some really nice touches - towel art, petals etc. The air con in the room was brilliant - just as well as it was 33 degrees plus most days. Meals in the main restaurant were good - lots of choice but do expect a varied cuisine. The vast majority of guests are German, French or Russian as TUI UK only have a small allocation of rooms here, this is reflected in the menu. There are lots of activities on offer and all of the staff were very nice and worked hard to accommodate any requests. During our stay it was my birthday and they made me a cake and got the whole restaurant to sing Happy Birthday. There is not much just outside the hotel to see but Yasmine is only 20mins away and the hotel runs a regular shuttle.
One word of warning - Enfidah airport both on the way in and out is a nightmare. Long queues at passport control, customs and check-in on the way back mean't that we had 10 mins in duty free before our flight was called - we were lucky the poor people on the Newcastle flight due out 30 mins before ours were being given last call for boarding having waited to go through passport control for over an hour and almost missed their flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the tennis courts if you like the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the africana imperial in August and had a great time. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly, any problems were quickly dealt with so you couldn't ask for more.
The main restaurant was excellent and we really enjoyed the Mediterranean and Thai ones as well.
Magic Life really do entertainment well, always something to do, sports, exercise or just having a good laugh around or in the pool without too much pressure to join in.
Amy was a very helpful and friendly entertainment team member, pleasant and always there for advice. As well as being Miss Bocchia she does a great Britney impression, pigtails an all!
We really enjoyed our stay and would defiantly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went for a last minute, cheap one week all inclusive break in June. The weather was superb...around 30 degrees but we were told that it gets up to 50 degrees in high season so beware. When we first arrived we were a little dubious as the hotel was large and noisy with non stop activities. As a couple in our 50s this is not what we look for. However we had a really nice week. The beach is as good as any in the Caribbean, there were a number of restaurants and you could easily stroll down to the marina, which is quite impressive, or to the medina. We also took the noddy train to Hammamet which was a bit of a waste of time as Hammamet was tatty with not much to see. Yasmin Hammamet is a much more up market resort with plenty to do. We did not join in many of the hotel activities but if you have young or teenage children they would never be bored...archery, football, water sports, you name it, the hotel had it. The little children seemed to really be enjoying the kids club as well. The food was good, the hotel was clean and the service was excellent. It's not the best hotel we've stayed in but excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The first room we were given was right by the restaurant and very noisy. We asked to change and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Life Africana Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Life Africana Imperial

Address: B.P 48 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magic Life Africana Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect holidays for all singles and couples The club is located close to Hammamet. From here it is just a short ‘shuttle-jump’ to the two golf courses around 15km from the Club. The golf clubs offer fairways and greens in olive groves, tree lined hills and cliff landscapes. The star architect, Ronald W. Fream, has come up with some fantastic ideas for you.This club is an enchanting resort with large gardens in a setting of 50,000m2. There is one main Hotel with a number of apartments with a total of 300 rooms. It is situated at the seafront and approx. 65km from Tunis airport and 80km from Monastir Airport, 15km from the centre of Hammamet and approx. 25km from Nabeul. Transfer time: approx. 1 hour to Tunis and 90 minutes to Monastir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Magic Life Africana Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Life Africana Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.