We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Life Africana Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Magic Life Africana Imperial to your Saves list
Magic Life Africana Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 48 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fun for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went for a last minute, cheap one week all inclusive break in June. The weather was superb...around 30 degrees but we were told that it gets up to 50 degrees in high season so beware. When we first arrived we were a little dubious as the hotel was large and noisy with non stop activities. As a couple in our 50s this is not what we look for. However we had a really nice week. The beach is as good as any in the Caribbean, there were a number of restaurants and you could easily stroll down to the marina, which is quite impressive, or to the medina. We also took the noddy train to Hammamet which was a bit of a waste of time as Hammamet was tatty with not much to see. Yasmin Hammamet is a much more up market resort with plenty to do. We did not join in many of the hotel activities but if you have young or teenage children they would never be bored...archery, football, water sports, you name it, the hotel had it. The little children seemed to really be enjoying the kids club as well. The food was good, the hotel was clean and the service was excellent. It's not the best hotel we've stayed in but excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The first room we were given was right by the restaurant and very noisy. We asked to change and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    116
    54
    16
    12
See reviews for
219
189
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in August 2013, it suited the whole family with something to do for everyone. Location wise there is a strip close by within a 15 mins walk but we only went out to have a look.
Food - the food in the hotel was lovely there was always something to have there was not one day where I didn't like anything.
Staff - The staff were so friendly and they couldn't do enough for you, it wasn't compulsory to tip them but we found that they appreciated this and then they would do loads for you.
Entertainment - On reading reviews before we went to this hotel it was said to be known for its entertainment and they were not lying the entertainment was fantastic, they started at 10am 6 days a week and there was always activities going on during the day the entertainment team did not hassle you to join in they would just simply ask, the entertainment made the day even more enjoyable! They have several entertainment reps from all over the world, we found that Amy was the most helpful for us as she was English but she was very friendly and a lovely person to be around. She would always come round and talk to us and let us know what was going on that day/evening..

We did go on one day trip which we arranged through Dorthy she worked for the hotel and she arranged for us to go swimming with the dolphins it was so easy and she was so helpful she even helped the blokes arrange there golf over there.

My partner lost his phone 3 times over there and got it back every time so they were very trustworthy.

The only think i would say about this hotel is that it is a German ran hotel, so there's not many English there, however the plus side to this is that the hotel was spotless not one fault.

If you are thinking of going somewhere that will suit the whole family whether you wanna lounge by the pool or join in the activities its an amazing hotel and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went all inclusive and had a fabulously rlaxing time. Hotel was clean and well presented. Quality of food and drinks very good. A la carte restaurants excellent. The only down side was the towels reserving beds from early in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What can I say!! Everything that has been said in the positive about this hotel is 100 percent on the button. We went as a family of 7. Ages ranging from 11months to 62. We were looked after from minute one. Nothing was too much trouble. If you needed something or something was overlooked it was dealt with most promptly and with a smile. The "bad" reviews that have been written I cannot understand. These people must be able to find bad in anything, which I suppose you can if you put everything under a microscope. Excellent hotel, excellent service, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

There had been a few bad reviews on this Hotel before we left so much that I nearly changed the holiday so glad we did not we had a fantastic time. A few pointers book in on line at the hotel web site saves time when you arrive. Tunisia is a closed currency and the rate of exchange is set by the Government so when you arrive at the hotel change a small amount for tips etc. before you go to your room. If you are arriving during the day put your swimsuits sun tan cream and beach wear in a bag at the top of your case you can then put your money passports etc in the safe and then go off to the beach or pool and unpack when you come back.
There had been remarks that you had to get up at 6 to get a bed, we arrived off the Bristol flight went to the beach no problem with bed or shade. I agree with a previous .review if your having a problem ask the pool or beach staff although we were there last week of July and first week of August and woke up naturally and never had a problem with beds or shade..
I found that there was so much choice in the main restaurant there was no need to go to the A'la cart although we did for a birthday and they arranged a chocolate birthday cake.. Also people were saying that the service was not good. I found the service in the beach bar, the snack bar Wunder bar the Captains and the main restaurant to be excellent they get to know you and your drinks. There was also comments that the boat boys were lazy we sat on the beach most days and they really work hard. If you are want to sail you do need to get an international licence it takes 3 days with 4 hours of sailing a day this cost 150.00 euros which you pay at reception. Never had a problem getting a boat or Kanu or riding on the banana boat you just put your room number on the sheets of paper for the activity you want to do When you come down the beach it is to your left the magic fly to the right you have to pay...They also have a stable banana for very young children.
Don't get caught by the Camel people although Lorraine in the Welcome meeting (which only took about 20 mins) warned people about people were caught everyday. If you want to ride on a camel negotiate the price before you get on I would think that security which are on the beach may know the going rate. but what would you pay for a donkey ride a home? They say do you want you photograph taken do you want a ride and then when you want to get off there is a big debate although security do get involved best not to spoil your holiday.
There were jelly fish in the water which can you give you a small sting when we were there we were in the sea everyday did not get stung but one poor girl was every time she went into the water so may be worth packing some sting relief.
Reviews also said the Germans were rude and although there were a few rude Russians I found the Germans full of fun and we spent more time with them than the ~~British.
If it is your intention to book the VIP lounge at Tunisia do it in the UK. I booked it first day we arrived on a 14 day holiday 3 days before we were coming home they said no room they could not credit our card and it was either in Tunisian or they send you a cheque within 30 days. Only needed money for tips you cannot take the money beyond passport control so cannot use in the duty free shops so you would have to queue and pay 5% commission . Still waiting for the cheque from TUI .A great holiday only one problem not enough hours in a day everyday was going to do Boules with Aimee (she is great fun but only there for one season) but never had the time although we had a few dances. Enjoyed the white and mask parties beach and pool parties. If you are going join in and you wlll enjoy if you don't want to join in that's fine don't sit and look miserable.. We will be back.

..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is not very big. There are 5 pools, beautiful beach, wondrefull sea. The main restaurant Magico offers enough food. There are various meals, fresh fruit, always two kinds of soup, a lot of alads and vegeatbles. There are three restaurants a'la carte. You can go there as many times as you want during your staying. Rooms are really big, we had two room apartment with one big bathroom and very large balcony with a sea and pool view. The only bad thing is that there is no aua park or any sides at the pool. But the good thing is that there you can have free water sports. There is a banana boat (our favourite), wind surfing, water skiing, catamaran, kanoe. Everything is all inclusive and you can use it as many times as you want. The best thing in this hotel are animations. The evening shows are incredible, there are proffessional dancers from Brasil (our favourite beautifull Tatiana:)) and even acrobat Padro from Brasil (really amazing!). My daughter (10 years old) every day participated in Kids Club (Mungo Club) where work wonderfull girls from Belgium nad Austria - Lynett and Michella. They did really interesting things with kids like archery, tennis lessons, beach ball or waterpolo. All the time they organised diferent plays for children, Lynett and Michella speak three languages so even my daughter from Poland could participate in their activities. I think it was the best kid's club I have ever seen - thank you again Lynett and Michella! We hope to meet you in another Magic Life in the future:)). Adults could also try archery or tennis, there were lessons for begginers and for proffesinalls too. Different pool games, boccia or beach ball or even football tournament - there were many intereting thing to do for everybody. And of course - very proffessional manager of entertainment team from Turkey, we were impressed. In the evenings there was always either disco or life music, very nice. Staff was very pleasent, nice people work there. It is good place to reccommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We are a family of three (our son being 8 yrs old) and we stayed at Club Magic Life Africana from 28/07 – 11/08. It was our first time at a Magic Life resort, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We have been to Tunisia many times, and this was by far the best family holiday there.

There was a little chaos at Enfidha airport after we landed (09.15am), with very few Passport Control desks open, but we finally arrived at the hotel around 11.30am, giving us plenty of time to unpack and head off to explore somewhere to eat (whilst my husband chilled out in the room catching up with the German Grand Prix)!

Our double family room (No 253) was large and clean, with beautiful views across the activity pool (through palm trees), but it was a strange layout, with the toilet being off the communal hall area (which lead to the lounge with sofa bed/tv/fridge). Off the communal hall on the right was the door leading to the main bedroom, through another small hallway. On the right of this small hallway was the bathroom, and the main bedroom straight ahead.

The internal “bedroom door” should be re-positioned to the entrance to the bedroom itself, and not the hallway, as people sleeping in the lounge end up disturbing those sleeping in the bedroom when they want to visit the bathroom to wash their hands after using the toilet, which, by the way, could do with a small hand washbasin to avoid this).

The bed was massive and could easily have slept 3-4 people in it alone! We had a lovely maid (sorry, can’t remember her name) who was very friendly and did an excellent job.

Unfortunately, we had a visitor in the middle of the night (cockroach) on two occasions. The maid said they were coming from the plugholes in the bath/basin so we ensured that the plugs were in/down to prevent this from happening. However, my husband found one scuttling under the front door a few nights later, and he refused to sleep with the lights off! This problem was resolved by rolling a towel up and placing it against the bottom of the room door.

The grounds of the hotel were beautifully looked after, and were spotlessly clean. In fact, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean, and we cannot find any fault with this.

The food was very good, plentiful and varied. There was something for everyone (apart from our very fussy son), but we did manage to get him to try the squid one evening, which he did (and survived)! Only thing I can fault is the hidden calories, hence me putting on 3lbs whilst over there (damn those chocolate pancakes)! The restaurant layout is good, and it never seemed to be too busy, even with the hotel at full capacity. We had a wonderful waiter, Fedhi, who was very attentive, and had our drinks waiting for us on our “regular” table.

We tried the Thai restaurant one evening – it was interesting, to say the least. We had the shrimp salad (no shrimps) and then the chicken in sesame seeds (which was just like chicken in breadcrumbs). The food was tasty, but not really Thai. They also served bagels in a basket, rather than prawn crackers/toast etc. We didn’t try any of the other restaurants as the main buffet suited our needs very well.

The snack bar, which is between the activity pool and the family pool area, is ok, but poorly managed as people are queuing for quite a while at the service stations. It also gets full pretty quickly, so after having tried it once, reverted back to the main buffet restaurant.

Three new pools opened up recently by the beach, and this is the “family pool” area. All the pools were heated, so we didn’t have to shiver after only a few minutes in them. The surrounding pool areas are again very clean, and the pool man by this area (again, didn’t get his name) was very helpful. My only gripe was that the pools contained quite a bit of sand, which never seemed to be cleaned out properly. The hotel needs to invest in a pool vacuum to clean the bottom of the pools thoroughly and / or improve the filter system.

This area was quite breezy at times, and parasols were tipping over. The hotel needs to invest in wider bases to ensure this doesn’t keep happening.

There is building work going on around this pool, where a new bar will eventually be opening (which will be very welcomed).

Yes you do have to put your towels on your sun beds early if you want some shade, but it is up to you in the end. I went down around 6.15am every morning and found a great spot each time. You can leave it to later, but then the choices available with shade become more limited. There are signs saying “No reservation of sun beds” etc, but this is not enforced (thankfully – or not, depending on your views on this)!

Our son attended the kids club on a few occasions, which enabled us to get a break of "mummy, mummy, daddy, mummy look at this" etc! Different nationalities attended but this was not a problem. He had a good time when in them.

Evening entertainment was either in the amphitheatre or the Captains Bar and consisted mainly of dance shows and sketch shows or music quiz evenings. They were ok – nothing brilliant to write home about, but pleasant enough. The Animation Team consisted of many different nationalities including Brazilian, Belgium, Turkish, German, English and some Tunisian. They worked very hard to keep everyone entertained through the day and night.

We didn’t do any trips, as we’ve exhausted them on previous trips to Tunisia, but we did walk down to the Medina (about 10-15 mins), a couple of evenings. If you make your way to where the restaurants are around the main square, there are folk dancing shows on most nights, starting around 9.30pm – 10.00pm, which are pleasant enough to watch whilst sipping cocktails!

Other than that, the surrounding area of the hotel consists of a few supermarket type shops a few minutes walk away, but there is also the Marina, which, unfortunately, we never ventured to, so cannot comment on what that is like at night (have been there a few times on previous visits during the day), and there are bars and cafes dotted around, but it’s nothing special – there really isn’t a lot of Tunisian charm there at all.

Please DO haggle in the hotel shop. Although it says fixed price, we got some cracking leather jackets and some jewellery for a “very good price”. Not as cheap as we would have wanted, but we were happy with the deal in the end (and I can assure you, so were the shop keepers)!

All the hotel staff were friendly and courteous, and if there was a problem, they would do their best to rectify it as soon as possible.

Many different nationalities attended this hotel, and it was a superb mix of people - most of whom spoke English, yet again putting us to shame! There were no "yobs" or drunkenness behaviour on site, which makes a nice change!

Would we return to Club Magic Life Africana? I would return again - even on my own, but we’d like to try the other Magic Life hotels in Turkey / Egypt beforehand so we have something to compare.

All in all, a cracking holiday, and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from noisy entertainment to ensure a good night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Life Africana Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Life Africana Imperial

Address: B.P 48 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magic Life Africana Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect holidays for all singles and couples The club is located close to Hammamet. From here it is just a short ‘shuttle-jump’ to the two golf courses around 15km from the Club. The golf clubs offer fairways and greens in olive groves, tree lined hills and cliff landscapes. The star architect, Ronald W. Fream, has come up with some fantastic ideas for you.This club is an enchanting resort with large gardens in a setting of 50,000m2. There is one main Hotel with a number of apartments with a total of 300 rooms. It is situated at the seafront and approx. 65km from Tunis airport and 80km from Monastir Airport, 15km from the centre of Hammamet and approx. 25km from Nabeul. Transfer time: approx. 1 hour to Tunis and 90 minutes to Monastir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Life Africana Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Life Africana Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.