We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best time - Vedrana loves you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Khalife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Khalife to your Saves list
Le Khalife
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hammamet, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Samobor
1 review
“The best time - Vedrana loves you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

Yesterday i back from Tunis from Le Khalife hotel and i allready miss all this people.Hotel is small and cheap but every person in hotel ewould accept you as a member of family not like a guest.People on reception,restaurant,bar,pool,cleaning lady,animators...they always find a nice word and worm smile for you.If you are some kind of elit,dont go there,thats hotel for normal people who dont go on hollidays to eat like bears and who just look to find some dust or something similar.
This way I want to say hello for all hotel,Hello to Amin,Mimo,Dido,Šušu and a big kiss for my love Karim.See you...

  • Liked — All personality treat you the best they can
  • Disliked — Guessts from many countryes who dont have culture and act bad
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    6
    11
    7
See reviews for
11
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

The food and hygiene should be better. The fruit should be included for the breakfast, especially during the summer. The towels are so grayish and stinky, glasses dirty. The swimming pool is too small and water is pretty dirty (to much chlor in it).
The animators have the same awful and too noisy program every evening. If you have a room with the view to the swimming pool, be sure that you would not be able to sleep before midnight. Fortunately I spent only 3 nights in Le Khalife.

  • Liked — kidnest of the stuff
  • Disliked — no friuit for the breakfast and pretty bad hygiene(bathroom)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We have visited hotel Le Khalife for the second time this year and had a brilliant time there. There was everything we need to relax and enjoy our vocations: the sea, the swimming pool and a wonderful animation team (Hello ChouChou). From the first moment we were welcomed by stuff as good friends. We had 6-year-old son with us and he got plenty of attention there, we never felt that he was bored. I highly recommend this hotel to families with young and also teenaged children. The animation team did a fantastic job with the daytime activities and during evening entertainment.I can say that we have made really good Tunisian friends and if there was a way to stay there we'd have stayed!

  • Liked — friendly stuff and animation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Tunisians are very normal and simple people. They are do not like our evil European spirit. Their religion is very good. Food is not poisonous like in other continents and everybody have handsome soul!!! I did not expect such kindness in hotel Khalife and all around Hammamet.Animators are not aforethought but friendly such as hotels crew(HELLO ADEL).So,how can Hotel be bad when everyone treat you like a friend??? You have a bed and meal. It is enough for me. Dirty? No. I want to come again in le Khalife. SALUTE TO AMIN (animator, student) AND KAMEL (beach rescuer) FROM CROATIA (Tanja and Dario)!!! They are great people.

  • Liked — Kindness of hotel crew
  • Disliked — All was an adventure, all ok(for me)
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

I was there in the end of April 2007. Weather was warm, but not hot. Several cloudy days and some rain during the week. It was the very beginning of the season. Was able to get couple of sunny days on the beach. Nice season to travel around.

The hotel is about 30 min walk in quick step from the center of Hammamet (Medina). Taxi to/from center costs 2-3 dinars (approx the same if calculated in USD). Possibly some 3-4 km from center.

From the hotel to the beach you must walk some 300-500 m (streets etc) (some 5 minutes).

The first impression of the hotel was bad, as the look from the street entrance was not much like the look on photos (the yard) ;)
Entry to the hotel is almost strightly from the street, seemed like back door at the beginning :) I got the room with a view not to the seaside, so the view was not as good as imagined from the pictures in the Internet :) Some dead pigeon or smth on the nearby building roof :) Also furniture was old and pretty carelessly painted.

Later our tour operator person said, that in general in hotels you can try to ask for other room, if you do not like the one, which you get at the beginning. But possibly with a view to other side (pool), it would be louder, especially during hot summer nights, when your neighbors would drink outside and shout in a hotel yard late in the night. Also sea is some 300-400 m away and separated by other buildings, so I am not sure you can see it anyway ;) May be from higher floors.

Just for info - no TV/bar/refrigirator in the room (you can rent TV/bar for extra price if you really need it).

At the entrance of the hotel there is a sign like "no vodka/water/sandwitches can be brought in". But I still used my own alcohol/water inside the room. No one checks your bags. I do not know how serious those signs and restrictions are. Did not try to publicly walk in with my own bottle of wine in the hands :)

After staying in the hotel for a week, impression got much better. It is not very big hotel, so you get more or less personal attitude from personnel in a restaurant, at the reception. The hotel was clean. No any smells (except your own). The minimum was provided - bathroom, toilet, soap, toilet paper; towels changed, room cleaned up every day. No any insects observed. Left some 1 USD tips 3 times during my 7 night stay in a room as adviced by tour operator guide. When I did not leave tips - 1 of 2 big towels dissappeared, when left 1 USD appeared again (3 towels) :) Not sure whether those events were related :)

Also there are these "animators"/entertainers, which sometimes bothers you a bit during dinner in the hotel restaurant, but they also organise/lead nice free shows each evening in the bar and wants you to visit them and spend your money in the hotel bar not somewhere outside :) Those shows were fun. So I did not visit any clubs/bars outside hotel, except lunch in neighboring restaurant. Especially good was fakir show on the last evening. But these entertainers are usual as I understand for all or lot of hotels in this country and also at least in Egypt. When I got used to those animators in this particular hotel, I started to like them and did not feel bothered. It depends on you how you feel. They are friendly, you just need to adjust a bit to their very active style of communication.

The one thing which I certainly did not like, is that in your room you can hear very good the sounds in the corridor. But this is common problem for many hotels around the Europe.

Water tasted and smelled after chlorine, but I understand it is common in Tunisia. May be not? And it is better to taste after chlorine than to get some stomach infection.

There is nice looking and probably good (did not try) inner/outside pool in the hotel, some frumpish sports room.
You can take sunbathe in the yard of the hotel if you do not want to go to the beach - the yard is really nice and green. The bonus of taking sunbathe in the yard, is that you do not need to fight with the beach bargainers (one of them was very pushy, when I lied on some "wild" beach part not under "protection" of other hotel's private beach sector security guys).

There is volley ball area in the yard also (I did not see anyone playing). Also ping-pong table is available. Billiards table was for additional price (I believe 1 Dinar for play).

For additional price you can get sauna, massage etc features.

Visitors are mostly from Lithuania, Estonia, Latvia, Ukraine, Poland, Croatia, Slovenia etc Eastern/Central Europe, France as it seamed to me. There is country calling during those evening events, when you can see, where everyone comes from.

To summarize - I was not dissappointed, as I did not expect something extra and used cheaper "Fortuna" offer from our tour operator (you get to know the name of the hotel, where you will stay, only some week before tour, until then you know it will not be worse than 3*). So I knew it will not be something fancy.

Probably I would try other hotel from 4* category next time in Tunisia. This was 3*.

The quality very good matches the money paid (true at least for April prices) and this is good choice for budget vacation.

  • Liked — nice and friendly attitude from personnel (animators, waiters)
  • Disliked — no sea view (opposite direction)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

well, i can say that this hotel is really great!! i am going tu this hotel again in spring, because i really liked the staff, animators where just wonderful, food was exellent, every night there was a different program.. i had also wonderful view from my balcony :) so i really would like to reccomend this hotel, you really won't regret about it :)

  • Liked — balcony, view
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Great for that price, food is good, everyone can find something they like. Rooms are exactly like on photos on the internet.
I reccomend going there if you are looking for something cheap and if you don't expect luxury.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — they like you only if you are constantly giving tips
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Khalife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Khalife

Address: Hammamet, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Khalife 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Khalife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Khalife Hammamet
Le Khalife Hotel Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Khalife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.