We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Movie Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Movie Gate to your Saves list
Hotel Movie Gate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de Nevers, Hammamet 08050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
maldon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

we have been to the miramar on numerous occasions but this time what a differance a new manager and new head chef .as well as the buffet restaurant there 3 themed restaurants
that can be used at no extra charge the manager hatem is very friendly and hopes to see more repeat customers good luck hatem

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    283
    162
    135
    125
See reviews for
420
246
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here in november 2010 and absolutely loved it, pheti (fatty) our waiter was lovely and even dressed our table on our aniversary for us, the beach bar just along from the hotel was lovely too and amazing people who owned it. Rooms we're great and pools were great, I cud not fault this hotel, we are wanting to return in 2012 but cannot find any travel agents that are reprisenting this hotel, if u have booked up for next year or no of any where that you can book up, could you please let me no, amazing stay, defo again

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Just returned back from an amazing holiday in the Miramar hotel. Firstly lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Some hotels i have been to, you never see the manager except if you have a complaint, in this hotel the manager could be seen around 24/7 checking on staff, speaking politely to guests and having a laugh with the children. Brilliant food, lovely rooms which the chamber maids keep spotlessy clean. Great private beach. In this hotel you would never have to venture out.. Everything is there. Staff have always got a friendly face even with the french guests complaining 24/7 about absolutly nothing! This hotel just needs more British guests.. Go british go!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and I spent 8 days in Mirarmar at the end of July and beginning of August. It was our first visit and experience in Tunisia. It's a peasure to say that upon the whole everything was just perfect. Upon arrival we got a room on the ground floor. It was quite good but the next day we asked the receptionist to change it because of the insects. In five minutes we had another nice and cozy room on the first floor that was cleand every day. The towels were changed every day too. There are nos safes in the rooms. You can only rent it in a special room. The personnel is friendly and is always ready to help. As for the languages, it's mostly French. Almost everyone speaks English but not wery good. Sometimes it was hard to understand anything. Noone speaks Russian, just a few words.
The main restaurant is quite big but because of the high season sometimes it was hard to find a table for dinner. Besides people had to stand up in a queue for drinks. The food was fresh and tasty. They served fruit: peaches, water melons, melons, plums. Be careful if somebody says you that there is a special board for children. That's not true. You just have to choose out of variety of dishes. Except from the main restaurant they have 4 other restaurants which serve different cuisins. We managed to visit one of them serving Asian food but it was not worth it. Just do not lose your time if you want to eat.
What we liked most of all is the sea. It was very clean and has an uncredible view from the outside. The beach is also clean but I would add more sun loungers and sunshades. It's a real challange to look for the free ones after breakfast. But I need to mention that there is always a person responsible for the beach who can help you to find a lounger if you are in trouble.
Needless to say about the territory of the hotel. It's huge and beautiful! There are three swimming pools with very good water. Sport facilities are available. Football, voleyball, and water gymnastics are regularly organised by animators. There are two tennis courts.
Our special thanks go to the animation team. These are very friendly guys never leaving anyone without attention. They enjoy people from morning till night. Every evening they presented a different show which was always very interesting, with a lot of dances and special costumes. There is a special stage and an amphytheater for the audience. That was incredible just to sit there under the night Tunisian sky with a lot of far stars waching those really nice people trying to make our stay in the hotel more colorful and enjoyable. We would like to thank the chief animator Ramy and the whole team for the perfect time we had.
Upon the whole we would gladly recommend the Miramar hotel to those people who would like to have a good time in Tunisia. May be it's not the hotel to be dreamed about but it's cozy and hospitable and it's worth to go there once.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

I've just arrived back from a 14 day stay in the Miramar and I must say it's been one of the best holidays I've ever had! The hotel is modern and absolutely spotless all-round, the staff are friendly and will go out of their way to help and serve. A special mention for Nizar, the manager, who helped us a lot during our stay, working morning till noon but always wearing a smile, thankyou. Plus all of the animation staff with different shows everynight, never failing to show everyone a good time. The food in the resturant was exceptional, I'm a fussy eater at the best of times but there was always something to suit.. The room was lovely, beautifully cleaned everyday.. All in all a top stay in a top hotel, would recommend it to anyone I know, I can't wait to visit again soon.. Fantastic! Danielle, UK

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our 2 families with children were relaxing in this hotel in the first half of June. Everything was perfect from the beginning. In 5-10 minutes of our arrival got 2 good sea view rooms with cots for our babies, mini bar and kitchen without asking or paying anything on the reception. We can open our balcony door and lie on our bad listening to the sound of the sea. The room service was quite good but not perfect every day.
The territory of the hotel is very clen and nice, we liked just to walk around the hotel. Food in a restaurant was always fresh and tasty and always in abundance. And there was a big choice of food for us and our small children.
The beach is near, it took us not more than 10 minutes to get from our room to the sea. The beach and sea were always clean and it aws enough loungers on the beach for everyone.
The service on reception, in all restaurants, lobby and bars was perfect: always friendly, quick and clean. The animation team was very cheerful and friendly. We had no time to be bored. From morning till evening there were different games, plays and other activities. In the evening they were dancing and teached tourists to dance, they had mini disco for children and different shows for adults. And after show time was disco. We enjoyed everyting! Special thanks to the animator of gymnastics and water aerobics! And respect to the chef animator.

From Russia with love! Jenny

Room Tip: Just be friendle and polite on reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagelse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I do not know if the management has changed but the staff is great excapt for the manager and the so called "leason officer" Both you might as well talk to the wall!!
Two week ends we could not sleep untill 6 in the moning due to rubish music and then the drunkards slamming doors..
We have to put the spair bed matris against the door to reduce the noise. Even then we had to make our bed in the bath room to get away from the worst of it.

Never try this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: Never use this hotel no mater what room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Movie Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Movie Gate

Address: Rue de Nevers, Hammamet 08050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Movie Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Movie Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primasol Miramar Hammamet Hotel Hammamet
Hammamet Miramar Hotel
Hotel Miramar Hammamet
Miramar Hammamet Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Movie Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.