We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina Solaria & Thalasso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Medina Solaria & Thalasso to your Saves list
Medina Solaria & Thalasso
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Hammamet
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited this hotel in June of last year and had a great time! Cleanliness and hygiene is definitely top of the list for us when choosing somewhere to stay and so we were happy to find that this hotel was spotless and well looked after.
All the staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. There was a slight problem with the pool facilities as there was not enough sun loungers for all the guests, however this was mostly down to people laying towels on sun beds and disappearing for the day. Although the pool boy was a great help and did his best to get everyone a space, I'd advise you to be up well before breakfast if you want a sun lounger for the day!
We went All Inclusive for a week but if we were to go again, we'd maybe go Half Board because there are so many cheap bars and restaurants in and around town that we only had one or two evening meals in the hotel. We found that the area was quite quiet compared to what we were used to and so it was nice to get out a bit and try out all the different places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

Further, we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, cleanliness of the in- and outside installations, gastronomical delights and an entertaining animation program are the most important elements of our company and reading that you find them all marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for highlighting these aspects of your holiday as this motivates and stimulates us to keep meeting our outstanding quality standards.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tunisia.

Our best wishes,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    419
    191
    83
    57
See reviews for
443
578
49
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our first family holiday abroad, the Hotel and staff are outstanding, so welcoming, helpful and friendly. Our room had a spectacular sea view from balcony, the rooms cleaned to a very high standard, sheets changed daily. Most of the food we had was cooked to order, pasta`s, stir fry`s, pancakes, omlettes etc, there was a selection of salads, cheeses, pates and mini cakes and tartlets. The only downside we had that the pool was part of a health suite, filled with sea water and extremely salty and only accessible between 12-2pm and 6-7 pm. There was none of the entertainment stated in the brochure, there were nights of bingo, karoke and a quiz. none suitable for children. We were later told we could access entertainment in other iberostar on the resort, But our all inclusive band was not valid for drinks or food in them nor could we use their indoor pools.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Although I went in February and the weather was cold and mostly wet, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Iberostar Solaria.
I went for broke and booked a Junior Suite, which was well worth the money with it's huge jacuzzi bath!
The staff were polite and friendly, I met some really nice people there, I loved the Tunisian wine and the food was very good, although because of the time of year only the main restaurant was open.
The pools were fabulous, I wish it had been warm enough to swim!
We went quad biking, which was lots of fun, but please remember they don't know what Health and Safety is in Tunisia!!!
At this time of year Tunisia is pretty dead, they're just beginning to make repairs and clean up the beach. Also, to all those who have written saying they hate Hammamet, you have to remember that this is Africa, not Europe! Personally I love the hussle and bustle of Hammamet centre and I love the fact that the cafe's are not pristine, they're used mainly by locals and not geared up for tourists. The majority of tourists stay in their hotels and Europeans walking around is still a bit of a novelty. If you choose to leave the hotel, you will be accosted by a multitude of taxi drivers and people trying to sell you things. Occasionally they can be pretty agressive if you say no, but the majority are fine with a polite, but firm NO THANKYOU! Look for fixed price shops and avoid shops where the shop keeper is insistent on you coming in to 'just look'.

Room Tip: The junior suites are located at the corners of the hotel and are large with sea and street views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As usual we booked via our travel agent (who sometimes get it wrong), before booking we looked on here and found some very conflicting stories.

So its our last night tonght and i thought its a good time to jot things down.

The Hotel as we pulled in the drive seemed drab and boring, we entered the reception and what a treat!!
it is a very high standard and we were greeted by our hosts and taken to our room.

Disabled room - very spacious, with a massive bed, 6 extra pillows delivered within minates, the balcony over looking the sea has good wheelchair acess, and the bathroom had been converted to a very nice wet room!, with plenty of rails around the walls.

The only downside to the room was the (lack of a grab rail next to the bed to help my wife up).

Room attendants very good and always left our room unti last wach day to allow my wife extra time tio get ready - and a very friendly team!

overall the hotel is very whellchair friendly, the only area we couldnt access was one of the bars - we dont drink so it didnt worry us.

The food as usual is very repetetive, but the catering team are always willing to make a lovely omlett.

Swimming pools both have excelelnt access and the ramp leading to the outdoor one is non slip.

Staff - always willing to go that extra mile to make your day a very nice one.

Will defenitely go back and recommend this resort to others

Major down side was the "Thomas Cook Rep", was more illusive than the scarlett pimpernel, and not very helpful when you did talk to her!!



Ian & Dee Room 3052

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Solaria over Christmas and New Year 2012/13 on a half-board basis. The hotel is located in the middle of a modern resort surrounded by other hotels and tourist shops, with a large tourist trap (The Medina) just up the road. It is about 10 minutes in a cheap taxi or 20 minutes in a very cheap bus into Hammamet town, which is one of the better towns we found - we hired a car and travelled all over Tunisia in the two weeks we were there.

We were looking for some sunshine, but Tunisia was pretty cold, we had to wear coats most of the time - even in the Sahara.

The hotel was badged as a 5*, and the building was quite impressive - all marble floors and quite well decorated. The only thing that really let it down was the lack of maintenance in the small things - a call-button plate hanging off by the lift, doors not quite closing properly - it could do with a little bit more TLC.
There were three swimming pools including one heated one inside, but it was not really pool weather. There were a couple of on-site snack bars, but as we were on half board we only used the main restaurant - to be honest I am not sure the others even opened.
WIFI was expensive and only available in the reception area - no internet in the rooms.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when our transfer bus did not turn up to take us to the airport on departure - repeatedly calling the transfer agency for us to get alternative transport sorted.

The rooms were large, well appointed and clean, with comfortable beds, good showers and excellent lighting for people who like to read in bed. However, on arrival we were given rooms that overlooked the next door hotel pool and disco, where the music was turned on at 08:00 and stayed on until after midnight - very annoying. However, the staff were very understanding and moved us to internal facing rooms which were MUCH better.

The food was generally very good, with plenty of choice and variety on buffet and grill, with varied styles each night. There were always at least one or two excellent things on the menu, even if some of the other items were not so good - the beef for instance was terrible one night and excellent two days later. We did see some items of food appearing more than once, especially the desserts, but it was easy enough to avoid these.

The drinks were expensive. Even mint tea and local beer (which is quite drinkable) was 4 times the street price, and the local spirits (gin & whisky, not ghosts:-) were not that good (though this is not necessarily the hotel's fault - they don't make it:). However, the Tunisian wine is good, well worth getting a bottle of Vieux Magon to go with dinner.

As others have commented, the Animation team were not particularly animated. There were some activities, but it was sort of half-hearted. I think this was as much to do with the time of year as anything else. That said, there were dinner parties for Christmas and New Year that were quite entertaining, although the resident band was not very good - at least with the European music - many Tunisians came to stay for the holidays just for these dinner parties and dance to the latest Arabic "toonze".

Overall, though not 5* by European standards, the hotel was a pretty good 4*, and the staff and management were excellent. I would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the internal courtyard on the north wing to avoid the noise from the hotel nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Stan and dear Mary,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully explained your experience. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us improve our services. It is always our goal to accomplish maximum customer satisfaction and the best way to achieve this is taking in consideration the opinion of our guests.

That we couldn´t meet your expectations as a five-star establishment is very unfortunate. We always try to pamper our guests with the best service to make their stay as comfortable as possible and we are very sorry that we couldn´t make our goal with you. Regarding all the tips you kindly offered to make improvements, we will study the possibility to put them in practice and our heads of the departments involved are informed. We will work intern to see how to organize some of these proposals.

On the other hand, we are very happy that we could meet your expectations concerning the gastronomic offer and client friendliness. These are the prime pillars of our company and it is a pleasure to read that thanks to the fulfillment of our concerning quality standards you did enjoy your stay so much you would be happy to honor us with another visit.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tunisia.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Solaria. The animation team were not too animated but this was probably due to the lack of guests staying at the hotel, a problem that is likely to resolve as the hotel gets busier. The food was served in a typically Tunisian way, using up food by reinventing it and reserving it the following day, there was always a choice of food most of which was found to be enjoyable, there were of course some guests, that would just look at the food and turn their noses up before going elsewhere to eat, perhaps they should have tasted the food!!! Most of it was far from dry and tasteless,occasionally some dishes would look dry, this may have been helped if the food had been covered whilst been kept warm.
The hotel was beautifully clean, the rooms very spacious, the staff form management were all very friendly and helpful. For what we paid for our holiday we could not complain about the hotel, staff or the food. The only thing that really let us down was the weather but not much we can do about that. Please don't let negative reviews stop you from staying at this hotel it really is a nice place to stay. There will always be 'the professional complainers', who will never be happy no matter what. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sheila,

It strengthens our determination to understand from your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel Iberostar Solaria and we will take in consideration all your constructive comments to learn how we can still improve some of our services.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the clean room, the value for money and the location, were satisfactory to you.

Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback which gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests an even better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Iberostar Solaria again in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I would not recommend this to anyone. Staff spent more time serving themselves at the bar than guests. Food was reused day to day. Dry and tasteless. Entertainment was non existence and when asked the animation team were told NO. They would not be putting any entrainment on. Only time e saw them was eating in the restraunt.

On an all inclusive deal we ended up eating out more than 70 percent of the time. Food in the hotel was shoddy at best. Dried up from previous sittings. Even had cabbage and carrots from night before on the breakfast layout.

The drinks were awful from the bar. Flat coke and lemonade.

Wifi in hotel at cost when their lesser star (better in my opinion) Hotel over the road was free

Dine around option was also a bad. As the meal was rushed at you and only luke warm at best.

Over all I would avoid this place

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor, we strongly believe that listening to our guests is the clue to success. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to fulfill your expectations.

That you have not fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we couldn´t meet your expectations is very unfortunate. We always try to pamper our guests with the best service to make their stay as comfortable as possible and we are very sorry that we couldn´t make our goal with you.

However, in the future we invite you to immediately inform us if something is not to your entire satisfaction or if we can help to make your stay with us even more enjoyable because we would then be able to offer a satisfactory solution for your grieves.

Hoping to may receive you again in the near future, we assure you in advance our most caring dedication, wishing we can change through it your opinion.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Medina Solaria & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Solaria & Thalasso

Address: Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Medina Solaria & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Medina Solaria & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Solaria Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Solaria
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina Solaria & Thalasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.