We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Marillia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Marillia to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Marillia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after the bar had closed so we went straight to our room. Our room was great , very large with amazing views of pool and the sea. Restaurant was great, pool was lovely but a little chilly. Entertainment was fantastic, archery was good and the mid day cocktail games were funny.
We were only there for a week but we did the pirate boat trip .. Not great other than we did see dolphins . We did the camel ride .. Again wouldn't recommend. We also did the Zulu night which we both enjoyed very much. We had also booked a trip with the thomson rep which never happened. We were due to be picked up at 7 am and we're not informed it had been cancelled. When asked about it Louise denied she knew it had been cancelled and never apologised for the inconvenience caused .
Overall we had an amazing holiday and would definitely recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    288
    108
    72
    43
See reviews for
239
326
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel actually exceeded my expectations. I really wasn't looking forward to Tunisia as a destination and was actually a bit embarrassed to admit where I was going. I was attracted by the price and short flight times.
The hotel was well run, it was clean and the food hygiene was good. The food itself was adequate but I would say I was eating it because I needed to eat as opposed to really enjoying it.
That said the reception, bar staff and waiters were all really attentive to the extent that service at some points was actually a bit over the top. The rooms were clean enough and the maids came every day. Towels and linens were changed as often as you wished and bottled water both sparkling and still was always available. The airport was also quite a surprise- well stocked duty free with good cafes and bars and air conditioned throughout.
All in all I would happily return for a cheap week in the sun ( suicide bombers permitting)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice hotel, rooms a bit drab. Staff where very helpful. Downside, on the second day I was in bed all day with an upset stomach and my daughter who was with us suffered the same symptoms. We even came back with the upset stomach and my other daughter who came with us was the same on returning home. Hygiene needs to be assessed in this hotel, although my personal opinion is that the problem is with using plastic glasses that carry bacteria Won't use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel staff friendly, especially Fifi and Sam. The evening entertainment was boring but the daytime activities were great!
Rooms clean and well decorated, only prob was when air con was on it didn't exactly work so we kept our balcony door open all holiday.
Great English pub on the walk down to the marina called Rovers Return.
Great food and drink at hotel and spa was surprisingly cheap.

Loved hotel and holiday so would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from a week all inclusive. Hotel was spotless, rooms very spacious, staff were excellent!

The pools were absolutely freezing! The sea was rough when we went so beach was covered on seaweed, we spent most of our time around the pool. Weather was mostly overcast apart from a couple of days but was still very warm.

We went on the 2 day Sahara trip, highly reccomend! Great value for money and brilliant experience! However I will warn you; take your own food!!!!! I came home with food poisoning after the trip! The meal we had at the Star Wars set had maggots in it! But it was a brilliant trip! Would do it all again!

Spa in the hotel is lovely, we had a hammam; steam room, body scrub and massage. It was lovely but the spa girls do scrub everywhere and I mean everywhere!!

Food in the hotel was fantastic can't fault it one bit! The waiters were all very friendly

Fifi and Sam the animation staff made us feel very welcome and never forgot out names!

Overall brilliant hotel and brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've just returned from a lovely relaxing week at the Riu marillia in Yasmin hammemet. My husband and I have stayed in Tunisia several times, but this was by far our best visit. The marillia is not the biggest or the most luxurious hotel that we've stayed in, but was the most friendly, helpfull, enjoyable, of all the rius here in Tunisia. I have to mention FIFI!! The hardest working animation team member ever. He learns everybody's name, works all day & night, and is one of the nicest people I've ever met.
The rooms were lovely, ( we had a suite) the reception manager took us to our room and made sure we were happy. We couldn't fault the place.. Very good value. The only down side was the airport having several flights all landing at once. We have to que for ages.

Room Tip: Sea facing, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have returned from a week at the riu Marilla and our first visit to Tunisia. To break it down:

Rooms
spacious, clean, modern and well equipped. Maid cleans and refreshes towels daily. The only thing we had a moan about was the NONE EXISTENT air conditioning. Yes in the brochure it says all rooms are air conditioned but after listening to other guests, this is not true! we asked at main desk on two separate occasions for it to be sorted but to no avail. I warn you.... choose to either sleep with balcony door wide open to get some air and take risk of been bitten by mosquitos, or have a holiday with no sleep as room turns into a sauna at night meaning you struggle to get a good nights kip

Food/drink
food variety was good but i m sure would get very repetitive after a week. Being a typical all conclusive, the food is continuously topped up but unless you wait around till it is.... it is rarely hot, just luke warm. We also tried the asian restaurant which was very good and provided something different.
drinks are typical of the Rui chain, but are definitely watered down.
Staff in restaurants and bars are very attentive and friendly.

Pool/Beach
Amazing and largest pool I've ever seen in main area. There is also a quieter pool which although smaller is still big for a second pool. Both are spotlessly clean. Plenty of sun beds with cushions for extra comfort- no matter what time of day.
Good thing about this hotel it has its own private beach which staff clean every morning at the crack of dawn. A rarity in Tunisia im sure!

Entertainment
One word.... SHOCKING!
This is a big disappointment for the hotel and really drags it down. Unless you want to play 'guess the flag' or 'guess the celebrity' I suggest you do the overnight trips. I don't know what we would have done if we stayed for longer than a week, even though we are late 20's we were in bed by 10pm most nights!!! Thank god the shop sells a pack of cards, it kept us occupied after dinner.
Yes the entertainment team work hard and are polite and friendly, but i suggest the hotel splashes out a bit and out sources professional entertainment acts each evening. It really does make or break the holiday experience.

I'd give it 3 stars not 4.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Marillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Marillia

Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#17 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Marillia 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Marillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marillia Hotel Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Marillia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.