We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sindbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sindbad to your Saves list
The Sindbad
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des Nations Unies, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 126 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
roma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I found this exellent hotel and a very good offer on trivago.com.... evrything, room, sweemming pool, beach and restaurant were ok. Also the parking car inside the save hotel space. I reccomand this hotel. 200 character are too much to describe. I think now could be enough. thanks ..

Room Tip: I found exellent offer using trivago.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    178
    70
    27
    11
See reviews for
98
251
36
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place is wonderful if you want a beautiful beach and pool for a cheap price? It is not 5 star,if you want that go to Dubai or stay in Europe. The rooms are clean, spacious and basic. Eat breakfast early if you don't want to wait in line. The staff is helpful but you must speak some French or Arabic. Most of the the guests are older or young couples and some children. It is a quiet place not party beach.
The mattress have to be replaced. Putting two small beds together does not equal a comfortable bed.
It is better to go to the Old Medina to eat. It is 3dinars by cab. You should buy water and snacks there too.
Overall great beach stay for the money.

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy on the weekends if there is a private party
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel as we walked on the beach from the Medina. As we had rented a house, we were looking for a nice, safe hotel where we could use the facilities - such as a pool - for our son. The beach is extremely safe with security there to protect. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and we were able to use the facilities. Wifi was available on the beach at the water's edge! They brought lunch directly to your beach chairs. Although, we didn't stay in the hotel rooms this time, with the staff service, beauty, and secure location, I will be booking this hotel for our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for one week half board at this hotel. The public areas are really nice but I was disappointed with the room. Although it was spacious and clean we were not enthralled with the number of cockroaches that were also in residence. To be fair the receptionist did deal with this promptly and we didn't have any more creepy crawlies afterwards but I found it very hard to relax after this. The food was nice with many choices available. The majority of staff were nice particularly in the Djinn bar but as usual there were some that let the rest down especially at the Infinity Pool Bar where they could be a lot friendlier. The beach was lovely and the 20 minute walk to the town was very pleasant. All in all it was a good base to explore Tunisia but could have been a lot better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Two nights here in May were wonderful. Excellent rooms, service,reception and food for a nation that uses local products....don't expect smoked salmon. It is a labyrinth and the grounds an arboretum. Very few sea views from bedrooms.....if you need that, but most rooms seem to have an interesting outlooking area of some kind. Lovely pools and 'professional' sunbathing area on fabulous beach....ie a bit cramped if you require attention of beach facilities. Plenty of space if you don't need drinks etc. Lovely walks along beach.

Room Tip: Ask to be near reception area if you have walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just had a five night stay here and had an enjoyable stay. Nice food, nice staff and nice room. But nice is as far as it goes. Can't understand why it has been rated as a 5* hotel. The lobby, the rooms and the indoor and outdoor pool areas are in need of an update. The longer you're there for the more you start to notice how run down the hotel really is. The restaurants on the beach serve good quality, value for money food and it's great that they serve lunch to your sunbed. I think the saying "you get what you pay for" is what you get with the Sindbad.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Best place to stay in Hammamet. Well-designed to avoid the impression of mass tourism. Lovely gardens with individual paths leading to many rooms, nearly all at ground floor level. All rooms have an outside seating area. Very nice stretch of beach in front of hotel. Attractive and spacious bedrooms, well appointed and of finished, something you can't often find in Tunisia. Lots of places to relax inside the hotel and around the swimming pools,which makes this a hotel difficult to leave. Superb spa. The food is very good: excellent buffet breakfast offering plenty of choice. The a la carte restaurant which offers international food and Tunisian options is first rate. People come down from Tunis to sample their fresh fish dishes. The décor, service and quality of food in this restaurant are excellent. General manager is alert to guests' suggestions (and those of hoteliers from France and Germany) which helps ensure quality constantly improves. He claims, there are many repeat clients. Best of all is the value for money. Compared with other 5* Tunisian hotels this beats them hands down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sindbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sindbad

Address: Avenue des Nations Unies, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#19 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sindbad 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magnificent lush garden surrounded by palm trees and exotic plants you will find The Sindbad a charming hotel. Guest accommodation is in Moorish-styled bungalows with all comfort and amenities necessary to ensure a relaxing holiday. The 145 rooms and 9 suites have been entirely refurbished and are decorated in a contemporary style with an oriental touch. Be seduced by our exceptional service and our refined cuisine, offering flavours from around the world at anyone of our four restaurants. For your well being and relaxation, the hotel offers a choice of three swimming pools, one fitness room, a spa centre, yoga courses and in close proximity a horse riding centre. The Sindbad is a part owner of one of Tunisia's most beautiful golf courses, Citrus golf. Guests at our hotel benefit from a free shuttle bus and reduced green fee rates. Enjoy the charm, tranquility and pleasure of The Sindbad with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sindbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sindbad
Sindbad Hotel Hammamet
Sindbad Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sindbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.