We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sindbad Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sindbad Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sindbad Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des Nations Unies, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 128 hotels in Hammamet
Stuttgart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very nice hotel. Staff was friendliy and helpful, the food was excellent. Enjoyed our stay very much.
The hotel is a bit older but well mantained. It is quite near the center of Hammamet and you can walk to the city center. The rooms are a bit dark but in summertime
this will be an advantage.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    181
    62
    24
    8
See reviews for
83
213
31
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was our second trip to this hotel, the first time without the kids. We had a fantastic time. On arriving the manager greeted my husband personally - he remembered him from 3 years ago (or so he said). We had a welcome cocktail on arriving. The room was absolutely fabulous and was cleaned every day. The roommaid decorated the bed with fresh flowers from the garden and she was always smiling. The food and service was excellent. Unfortunately, there were not so many guests in the hotel, but we didn't mind. One guest celebrated her birthday there and was given a cake with a candle on it. I thought that was really nice. They had a bar/restaurant with a view of the beach, which was fantastic. We had a really relaxing holiday and will be visiting the hotel again in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was our fourth visit to the Sindbad and over the years it has consistently improved. It has been extensivly renovated and this is now complete with tastefully decorated and appointed rooms and a good standard of public facilities and restaurants. We always take the half board option and the we considered that the standard of the food had improved this year with a wide choice. We also dined in the Chiraz restaurant one evening and the meal was excellent and reasonably priced. The beach is brilliant with soft sand and safe bathing in the gently shelving bay while the hotels baech staff and security work well to ensure that you are not disturbed. We walked into Hammamet one evening and found that we were not harassed by local traders at all unlike other years. The hotel will also provide transport from and to the airport again at reasonable rates. Our visit was at the end of June and we saw no sign of trouble at all in the country and I would suggest that anybody being put off by Januarys uprising not to worry.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We went as three couples on a golfing package, and stayed at the Sindbad bed and breakfast. The hotel was first class - breakfast excellent - we tried one of the pension meals and it was OK. But the Thai restaurant was good and the a la carte restaurant very good. The hotel is very well situated with a good lay-out of low rise blocks in the Arabic/Spanish style. We ventured out for evening meals in Hammamet and that was fine - best was the Barbe Rousse in the Kasbah at the Medina. The golf was great - sadly for Tunisia the courses were virtually deserted, that meant very enjoyable golf for us on top notch courses (Le Foret, Les Oliviers, the Yasmin)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Nice hotel with friendly staff, I may consider going there again. However i felt slightly disappointed when arriving in the hotel since it didnt look as good as it did in the photos. The pool and bar area were nicely decorated and seemed five star but other areas such as the restaurants, reception and beach area need updating. The beach area was a bit tatty and the matresses and towels were old. Food generally nice but probably not five star. Since i had paid around 300 pounds i expected a bit more. Some of the rooms were rather small. The hotel did have its own character and some nice garden areas, the spa is definitely worth a visit since the treatments were excellent and good value.

Room Tip: ask to view available rooms -they differ in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

The Sinbad is a very nice, well run hotel with an excellent staff to match. The rooms are in small links scattered through lovely gardens connected by paths which also lead to the beach which has good quality sand, a good view of the bay, excellent sun canopies, sunbeds, cushions and beach towels brought to you by excellent staff. We were half board and the food was plentiful and of good quality. The lunchtime snacks are inclined to be expensive but you can catch a taxi into Hammamet and back for a very good lunch at a restaurant with beer and wine for a fraction of the cost at the hotel. Our favourite was a little garden restaurant on a corner diagonally opposite the tourist information office about 150 metres north of the medina.

Beware if you pay extra for a room with a sea view. Ours certainly had a sea view but only when you were standing, if you sat on the balcony to enjoy your morning tea or predinner drink you will be faced with a 4'6'' blank wall! (Room 207)

Room Tip: Difficult to tell due to the maze like layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Hotel being renovated and painted at time of visit with plenty of work left to complete. We were given a ground floor room which have minimal outside balcony space and also allows access to anyone walking around the hotel. So much that we had 2 pairs of training shoes and a camera taken whilst we were inside the room with the door open. dont leave your belongings out!! The hotel is nice but the town and the area surrounding is very run down with local youths hanging around the beach who are intimidating especially if you are female and walking/running on the beach alone. Could of been so much better but not all hotels fault!
Hotel very quiet with the average age around 60 years,nothing for kids to do in the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sindbad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sindbad Hotel

Address: Avenue des Nations Unies, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sindbad Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sindbad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sindbad
Sindbad Hotel Hammamet
Sindbad Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sindbad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.