We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaaaaaaazzzzzing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Manar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hammamet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Village Manar
Save Saved
You added Holiday Village Manar to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Touristique Mrezga, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 127 Hotels in Hammamet
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amaaaaaaazzzzzing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from H.V. Manar, 02/06/13-16/06/13 with our two boys who are 9 & 4 years old.
Well what can I say but that we had the most amazing stay at this hotel. We could not fault anything. We stayed at the H.V in Turkey last year & Manar beats it in every way!
We had a kids den themed family room on the 6th floor room:1614 which had the most amazing pool & sea views. Tea, coffee & a kettle in your room plus a fridge which they stocked with water.
The hotel is spotless, staff always cleaning, so clean you could eat off the floor!
The staff are such lovely people who treated us like royalty, to mention a few is Mohammed beach security, he saved us sun beds each day on the beach, Sami -waiter in the main Restaurant, our house-keeper who cleaned our room superbly & Anis who is on the lobby bar, these are just some of the kind staff that made the holiday. They would do anything for you whether you tipped them or not. Not one of them expected any tips but we did tip them & boy was we looked after! They work so hard to please! Thank you all for making our holiday!
The beach was a dream along with the weather.
The pools & slides a kids dream but we all had fun using them, even the indoor pool a treat to escape the heat of the day!
The food was amazing too. Something for everyone, a BBQ station each night with different meat & fish plus all the different varieties of dishes too. Never got fed up with eating in the main buffet Restaurant. On each table was an ice bucket with a bottle of wine of your choice & water or sprite & coke. How can you moan at that!
The kids club great. Don't understand why people moan about queuing because on the door it tells you how many spaces available for each session, if you get there 15mins before they hand out cards to reserve your kids place, no big deal!
The beach towels provided you have a limit on the amount of changes, 3 per week, we didn't even use all our vouchers for clean towels so was no problem, we understand they are concerned with resources & fully back that.
So please if your thinking of booking this hotel. DO NOT HESITATE & DO NOT LISTEN TO THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS. These people who moan must generally be moaners in life always looking for something to be negative about! We are well seasoned travellers who have been fortunate to travel the world & we cannot give anything but praise & commendation for all who make this Hotel what it is today. A first class resort!! We are definitely returning next year without hesitation!!
Thank you all so much!!!

If anyone wishes to ask anything about our trip to H.V. Manar please feel free to message me.

Room Tip: Kids den themed family room 1614. 6th Floor nice & quiet. This type room has no balcony but a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    373
    108
    29
    28
See reviews for
838
106
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First of all, we were very miss informed by our travel agent, and advised this hotel is suitable for couples. Its not. If our looking for a cheap tacky family resort then this is for you.

The hotel is well kept and clean, the staff work very hard across the resort. The room was nice, but seems they do not have double beds, even though we paid for this - its just two twin beds pushed together, with a very large gap in between. The sheets were only changed once in a week, and only one towel per person, so take another if your like me and like to wrap your hair up after a shower. There's tea and coffee facilities in the room and the mini fridge has water in it, though never re-stocked. The safe was also a charge.
The food was ok, not a very good selection and not very hot, the veg was soggy and not appealing. Every night in the buffet was a themed night, some good and some not so much. The BBQ outside was very good, but very long queues all evening. The wine was drinkable but the lobby seemed to be he only place that served cocktails, mixers etc... the drinks were very cheap and a lot of the liquor was not nice. Found the G&Twas the best. We went to the sports bar (Golf Bar) which is NOT included in the all inclusive, but are premium drinks. A warning, watch the barman when he makes the drinks, he will try and slip cheap sprits in (that you get free in the lobby) if your not looking and charge you the premium price.
We travelled 9th to 16th June, we thought the hotel would be quiet since the kids should be at school, but we were wrong. The hotel was full of families, the pool was not enjoyable by late morning, as lots of children screaming, and throwing balls about, after hit by serveral footballs we avoided the pool for the rest of the week, the beach was better. The beach its self was lovely, there is a beach bar, the water is clear and plenty of sunbeds. Lots of beach sellers - selling sun glasses, necklaces, sarongs and bongo drums among other things. Their not too bad, unless by the shore, but they soon move on if your not interested.

Overall, the hotel was nice, but didn't really feel this was an all inclusive resort, as there was a lot of hidden extra charges, and people were out to rip of the guests. I wouldn't return, and wouldn't recommend this to a friend, unless they were a family - and this was the kinda thing they were after. I would some it up as a sunny Butlins - not my kinda place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the HV Manar from 2-9 June with our son, aged 7. The Hotel is immaculately clean - always someone cleaning/wiping/tidying and they have very friendly staff - nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them - no-one seemed to expect a tip but were grateful when you gave them one. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor which was quite large and we had a very big balcony; the bathroom is larger than normal as well which helps when there are 3 of you! The facilities were very good - we particularly enjoyed the slides and high wire ropes. Yes it's a bit of a nuisance having to queue to book in for them - but take a book and the half hour wait soon passes! The pools were very cold but they soon warmed up once you were in there! The food was very good with a very varied choice even for the fussiest of eaters and there was plenty of fresh fruit. The entertainment was a bit of a let down for us - we're used to seeing more professional shows on holiday BUT you couldn't fault the First Choice staff - they worked very hard and tried their best to keep everyone happy - the conference centre was not the ideal venue and the atmosphere was much better when the entertainment was moved outside towards the end of our week. We can't comment on the kids club as we didn't use it - but our son went to the football academy which he absolutely loved - Billy & Nick did a great job! The beach was lovely - and the hot shower in the toilet block was very welcome! We only went on one trip - the Pirate Ship which was excellent and good value for money. Overall we had a brilliant family holiday and although we like to try new places each year for our holidays if we could get a good price for the HV Manar we'd definitely go back!
Elspeth Whittaker,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ives, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went for two weeks with our son, daughter-in-law, two grandchildren aged 9 and 6 and our daughter-in-law's parent in May this year. Great hotel with excellent food and good service. Children had a great time, which was the main objective and I think all the adults enjoyed themselves as well. This is a family holiday resort and facilities and activities are aimed at families with children. We met some adults who weren't enjoying themselves as much as we were and I think they may have been badly advised to choose this resort. This was our first all inclusive holiday and we would definitely do it again. Food and drinks were very good and in unlimited quantities. Local beer was very drinkable as were local spirits but the red wine tasted like alcoholic blackcurrant cordial! It was possible to buy western branded alcohol from the sports bar but we didn't bother. We went to the My Thai restaurant on site which was OK - not fantastic but OK. The a la carte grill wasn't open when we were there.
There's not much to do outside the hotel - just a few shops. Our son picked up an ear infection (swimming pool ear) and went to see the nurse in the hotel who called the local doctor. The nurse was free and the doctor was not expensive We then had to walk out a bout half a mile to find a pharmacy where the staff were very helpful and spoke English. The doctor's prescription for antibiotics to treat the ear infection was about £5. The total cost of treatment was much less than the excess on the travel insurance.
We got a taxi into Jasmine Hammamet and walked around the local shops and marina and had a snack in one of the local restaurants, which was a nice half day out and went on a pirate trip organised by First Choice which was good fun, though the sea got a bit rough on the way back to port. We also got a local taxi driver to take us a a day trip around Cape Bon, which was the highlight of the holiday; he took us off the beaten track and showed us places like a local market, local ladies cooking flat breads in a village square and the volcanic hot springs at Qurbus, which none of the First Choice staff at the hotel have apparently ever heard of!
All in all a great holiday and I wold recommend this hotel for any family looking for an all inclusive stay aimed at families with children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very clean hotel with excellent service. excellent Staff, food is excellent. I will return back to this hotel. Animation is a little bit weak and only for kids and for english speaking visitors. Beach very clean. Swimming pools are excellent.

Room Tip: Best service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

after 8 yrs of florida holidays, we decided to be lazy and opted for a late all inclusive deal.. we decided to join our friends and spend a week at this holiday village..i have to say that we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone..i would however disagree with the 5* rating and give it a 4*,only due to carpets and doors in the communals that could be replaced and upgraded in the older block of the 2..dont expect marble floors and shiny granite everywhere,go to dubai and pay 3/4 times the price if you want that.at the end of the day you get what you pay for and i believe this is a GREAT hotel for what you pay.once inside the rooms,they are bright,colourfull, spacey and modern..the hotel is always kept immaculately clean and tidy and ,you will be very surprised at how often and how far they go to keep everything immaculate. even the pool side lifeguard wanders about tidying up everywhere..
on arrival,we were greeted with a coctail drink and made to feel very welcome (nice touch).the reception staff and first choice staff were really friendly and helpful and i couldnt pick out one person that i could be negative about.
the hotel is very spacy and there is plenty of room to sunbathe around the pools,(this might get busier in peak season).the pool was quite cold on the first 2/3 days but got a lot warmer as the weather got hotter.i recommend mid june onwards to vacate,as it was quite windy when we first arrived but still hot.(can be funny watching inflatables flying about :)..)
my daughter is 12 so didnt play many poolside games, so she went on the water slides(spoilt in florida), but there are so many things for the younger ones to play,may be better to read other comments about kids games. the reps are fantastic and a few of them are very witty and funny and how they manage to entertain in that heat all day is a credit to them,cant be easy.night time entertain isnt bad,plenty going on,singing dancing,great if you have young kids but sometimes i prefered to chill in the 'lobby bar' and sample the cocktails.each to their own i suppose.
in the 'lobby bar' the waiters keep busy and and do a great job, the list of cocktails is not bad.there could be more selection of drinks, but thats only a personal request..im a cider drinker,not lager, so i was happy with the sweet cocktails..it states that its all local alcohol anyway,so im not complaining.
if, like me,you love food, then you will really enjoy the selection of food here.there are plenty of different dishes to enjoy and plenty of desserts.the desserts may be the same most evenings,but there is a good selection.the waiters and cleaners in the restaurant are always busy keeping the room clean and tidy,always taking your empty plates and topping your drinks up.if you are a fussy eater,they do all the basics,toast,fried eggs,scrambled eggs, although i didnt see any bacon..if you're really fussy and just eat english food,i suggest you stay home and be a boring brit and eat the same crap you do at home every day.why go abroad..?

this really is a fantastic hotel to stay in with a great friendly, fun atmosphere..top marks to each and every one of the staff that work there,they enjoy their job and have a lot of pride in their work,
we paid £650 each for a week, and for our first all inclusive, it was worth every penny to be waited on hand and foot and treated like royalty..
10/10 from us..
anyway,we've just got home and cant be bothered cooking,so we're off out for a curry..
get it booked,you'll enjoy it..
the 'ackis' 17 june..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I returned yesterday from a 7 night stay with my partner and 4 year old daughter! i was initially a bit worried about going to Tunisia but I can honestly say its been one of the best family holidays we've had and knocks spots off the Holiday Village in Turkey that we went to last year.
The Staff are all so helpful and friendly, we had our outside table reserved for us everyday under umbrellas and a constant supply of drinks from our lovely waiter. The staff all work incredibly hard and long hours and are always smiling and joking with you and a pleasure to be around.
The food was fantastic, BBQ'd meat and a selection of other lovely dishes as well as your normal english pub grub like pizza, chips and burgers, I cant see how anyone could moan with the salad bar and fruit on offer as well as the amazing puddings! They even had my favourite stilton and crackers lol i was a very happy bunny!
We didnt put our daughter into the kids clubs as she was so happy playing in the pools and visiting the beach in the day, but we all loved the evening entertainment, It is absolutley cheese on toast but thats what holidays are all about, laughing and dancing and enjoying yourself!!!
The beach was beautiful, white sands and Crystal clear water, the only downside is the sellers near the sea but that comes with being abroad and if you say no thank you they generally wont push any further.
It was the first holiday ive had where i genuinly didnt want to go home at the end of it! wish we had booked to stay longer! we will be visiting again for sure! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Village Manar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Manar

Address: Route Touristique Mrezga, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#3 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Manar 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Manar Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hammamet
Magic Life Manar Imperial Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Manar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.