We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Phenicia to your Saves list
SENTIDO Phenicia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8039, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All inclusive ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

So the good stuff: The hotel animation team, and the staff around the hotel were very friendly and efficient, the food was good but don't go near the unpasturised cheese, rooms were clean and OK, facilities on the beach were good (although some of these were not run by the hotel, and ALL cost money), and the bar was what you might expect.

The bad stuff: If you want to play tennis on the 7 courts that the Phenicia boasts, forget it, unless you are happy to play on a court with a surface rougher that a freshly planed road, and you like dealing with a 'tennis coach' who really doesn't want you there, tells everyone they are fat and unfit (neither of which apply to us) and is possibly the rudest person on the face of the plannet. Also be ready for strangers who have just arrived at the hotel, to wander into your room at any time; proper control over the room allocations and keys, doesn't exist. As for the inclusive Gym, it's not inclusive, same for the WiFi, which doesn't work anyway. Don't pay fpr the safe in your room because it is open when yoiu arrive and you can set your own code. As for the reception staff; they are very well trained in the art of complete indifference.

So in conclusion: if you just want a pool or beach, food and drinks great! If you want to do any sport, or other fun activities, either forget it, or get you wallet out!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday - impressions with other tripadvisor members.
As mentioned many times it is always helpful to read the brochure to know what to expect in all in and to avoid any dissappointment. We are astonished to read that "strangers" went into your room? And in case :Did you inform the Room Divisions Manager about it, or the Holiday Concierge?In order to investigate immediately? If the tennis trainer has been so rude as you
described we would interfear also immediately - we are glad that until today we didn't get
any complaints about him. We apologize if he did.
We are happy you enjoyed the beach, the pool and the food.
Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,083
    948
    312
    110
    66
See reviews for
1,113
1,238
73
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at the hotel phenicia 5th Aug-15th 4 10 days, on arrival we were greeted by the reception staff, we were given a drink & cool flannel which was a nice touch. Our rooms were ready straight away, our rooms over looked the reception which was a lovely view( 3082+3083) the rooms were basic but clean( which we only spent sleeping, showering) there were 2 swimming pools, the big pool was where u could join in the entertainment if u wished but u were never forced 2 do this, there was the smaller pool if u wanted 2 relax, and could use the indoorpool as well. The animation team were fab and worked very hard, Rio,fifi, bebo,Alex Kimo, archery man( sorry fogot his name) and of the course big boss vin who was so funny( yabba yabba we will we will rock you lol) I have a 7yr old who loved the kids disco and the shows were great especially the pool partys, my daughter brought the dance cd, and is playin it non stop! I wud like 2 thank our cleaner man( sorry 4got his name) he was always very polite & hard workin, rooms cleaned daily& towels changed every day, the food was lovely something 4 everyone, I wud like to thank our waiter keemu table 79, unable 2 spell his name lol, the bar staff, reception staff were also lovely, I think they need a Mention as they work very hard, also I would like 2 say the shop lady was always pleasant & chatty, and gave my daughter lollipops, she deserves a mention! We met some lovely people & made many friends, lastly I would like 2 say hello 2 Kerstin who always had time 2 chat, and couldn't do enough 4 u, we only tipped at the end of the holiday 2 the cleaner& waiter, but did give the odd tip 2 the bar staff now & then, I will be returing 2 the phenicia next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for posting this lovely comment following your holiday at the SENTIDO Phenicia on tripadvisor.
We will be delighted welcoming you and your family again next year!
Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Generally speaking this is a good hotel with staff that are keen to please, everyone's experience will probably depend on expectations so I will start by saying we were upgraded to a Suite!! so you can't really start better than that on arrival.

The hotel more or less stands on the beach so its no more than a minutes walk from anywhere in the hotel to the glorious sandy beaches. A few tips here: The sun loungers are free but there is a guy who will bring you as many beds as you like, you don't have to tip him but you really should, 1D is fine. If you choose to lie in the first 3 rows you will be approached by the beach sellers, selling anything from cigs to fruit. They are not allowed on the hotel beach which is behind the wooden walk way so if you don't want to be bothered by them then sit back a bit.

On the beach there is the normal Banana boat, Jet Sking, Paragliding and camel rides, everything is up for negotiation, there are no prices anywhere on anything, so don't take your wallet down just go and ask and haggle. Camels dont pay more than 10D a ride (£1 = 2.5D) so £4. Its all reasonable anyway, in total I paid, over 5 days £100 or 250 D for 5 people to do Jet sking, Donuts boat ride, Camel rides and Pargliding.

The restaurant for both evening and breakfast is self service, so if you are use to a Rui or real 4*/5* this is a bit of a shock. At first it felt like a cheap Butlins bun fight, but as the days go on we learnt not to go at the start times and were able to avoid the Russians pushing through!
The food is generally good and there is plenty of variety and quantity. Remember you are in a Muslim country so no Pork, meaning no pork sausages or bacon for breakfast and no pork chops in the evening! But should you like Lamb, Turkey and Chicken then you will be fed like a King/Queen.

Pools, there are three, one central large one with a bar in the middle and one pool just off this main one. This is where all the activity happens during the day. There is another quieter pool very close which was always fairly empty and considering we went during the peak period I was impressed by how non crowded the place felt (other than dinner time)

Rooms, well as I said at the beginning, upgraded, so obviously very impressed. However I think all the rooms are good and sea view balconies are a must.

There is nothing outside the Hotel, so if you want to go to the centre and shop you need to get a taxi from the hotel. It costs between 6 -8 D depending how good you are with negotiations.
Speaking of negotiation if you don't want to haggle all day and night then go to the Fixed price shop and don't enter the other shopping areas as you will leave with an empty wallet. No matter where they start knock 80% off, eventually I was told I was crazy and the guy walked away from me!! Result!!!

Entertainment: Well having read other reviews this will come as a shock, personally I thought it was dreadful. Its all done by the hotel staff who no doubt give there best but its very 1970's. I cant say more as we watched two acts and had to leave as it was so Franky Howard and "not in the best possible taste" as Kenny Evert might have said!

All in all it was a good holiday, endless sunshine, easy sleep, and reasonable food.

Room Tip: Pick sea view and as high up as you can go, we were in Suite 4017
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guests,

all in all you had good holidays - we are pleased about your positive comment.
Thank you!
Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

just got back from a 2 week holiday there and as requested from vin diesel (boss man) yoolo yoolo oioi!! its been one of my best holidays so far and looking forward to going back there next year. foods good but after discovering the alcoholic drink boukha i cant say I had the stomach most morning to eat. The animation are the ones that made my holiday and I massive shout out to kimo due to the fact he is completely mental and you couldn't help but laugh when he was around, defiantly my favourite one but they all work very hard to make sure you have a good time. The night life in the hotel is really good with the pool party's and beach party's and of course the dances that you end up learning within the first day as they seem to crop up all the way through the day including when 'it is a show timea' haha. Have to say thankyou to rio,bebo and alex for looking after us when we went to the clubs outside the hotel. WAKA BAKA BOUKHA!!!

Room Tip: sea view ones are very pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

you are welcome - thank you for posting your comment on tripadvisor!

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

i just got back yesterday and i can easily say this was the best holiday i've been on, i actually cried the last night. the food and service is outtanding and there are a veriety of food to choose from, the hotel alsoprovide english food aswell, . the animation team was by far the best though, the provede pool sports in the day like water polo, aerobics, zumba and belly dancing and they also do dart competitions, at night they do dance routines, shows, pool parties and beach parties. 3 of the best though were Rio, Bebo and Fifi, Rio and Bebo made me feel very welcome, and i will miss them a lot,m and fif was a great laugh, the bet holiday, I MISS TUNISIA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

please don't cry - just be happy you had lovely holidays - and please don't forget - there will be always a possibility to come back.

Thank you for sharing your comment with tripadvisor members!
Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottish b orders
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

just returned from ten days at phenicia. Had a really great time all staff so friendly and helpful yes they do rely on tips but they only make five pounds per and work so hard ! The food was great always found something tasty. The entertainment team the best always friendly and stopped fro a chat each day they have so much energy and enthusiasm.. Special thanks to Reo, Fifi, Nemo,Bebo,kimo and all the others some names we didnt catch. Would definately return weather fantastic .

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you ! Just return very soon !
We are looking forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

What can I say, have just returned from a week's stay at the Phenicia and I really don't have any faults at all.
The rooms were good when all you need are a bed and somewhere to have a shower!
The food and drink were plentiful and you could be as adventurous as you wanted - there were always the staples of spaghetti bolognese for those that didn't fancy trying the local specials. We went to Le Panache for our meal one night (one trip included in your stay) and had a very good fish meal. We also booked for the Chinese restaurant one night (20 dinar per person - about £8) and the food was fantastic - you had to choose your courses before you went and I would certainly recommend a trip there.

However, my best review goes to the animation team - they tirelessly worked throughout the day getting everyone involved in all the events and then did their shows in the evening. Special mention for Rio and Nemo who were my favourites.

Am already looking into going back next year.......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding the SENTIDO Phenicia.
We will be happy welcoming you back next year!

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#3 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Business Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Phenicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.