We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make the effort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Emira to your Saves list
Hotel Emira
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Abou Dhabi, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Elstree, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They make the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

From the second we arrived at 2am, the staff were falling over themselves to help us! I couldn't really ask for more from most of the staff although the dining room staff I found very aloof and a bit rude. Our rooms were cleaned every day and most often they left flowers on the bed for us. The rooms are basic but they would be for the price that they charge. We had a lightbulb blow and another incident where a glass broke on the floor and in both instances it was dealt with immediately. One of the management talked to us at the bar and asked us what could be done to improve the hotel and I felt our suggestions were taken seriously. I requested more fruit at breakfast but left before I could see if this request was fulfilled! The breakfast is not great at all, we've never been fans of salad at 7am (!) but there was bread and jam and croissants and boiled eggs and coffee which did the job. The evening dinners were a choice of 2 three course meals along with a salad buffet and they were always cooked perfectly. The chicken in particular was gorgeous, but drinks were not included at dinner time and we had to purchase them separately.
The excursion men who worked within the hotel were a little pushy but friendly and I would much prefer to book an excursion with them rather than use an external person. Locally there is a medina about 20 minutes walk down the road and that is where the nearest cash point was. The bar was very limited but in Tunisia, there isn't much alcohol at all so we couldn't be too fussy! There was only one type of beer, no wine but gin and vodka and whiskey available. There was no entertainment or bbq, that might have been because it was Ramadan although I heard that since the revolution, industry had been quiet. The staff loved my children and were very friendly and affectionate towards us, and the bar man had no qualms about storing my daughter's antibiotics in the bar fridge. All in all, it is a 30 year old hotel and in need of updating and in a quiet area of old Hammamet so expect a modest accommodation. However if you book a more modern hotel in the tourist resort of Yassamine Hammamet you will be looking at at least 3 times the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor apartment backing onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    39
    18
    23
See reviews for
31
48
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benidorm, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Please do not go to the Emira expecting a five star luxury hotel, as it certainly does not fit the bill, but one thing that is five star is the staff, we have travelled all over the world and have never came across so friendly and helpful staff. They go above the call of duty to ensure that your stay with them is everything you wished for. We went to this part of Tunisia this time to get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy resort, and what we got was a little paradise, an oasis. Will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria, Europe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Emira needs a lot of renovation work. The employees are very friendly and helpful, but there are quite a lot of problems:
- it is quite far from the Medina: walking distance only, if you like to walk far (more than 1 mile)
- walls of rooms are paper-thin, you hear everything from the neighbour, the person passing in front of the door, the trains, the showers......
- it is not at all for elderly or handicapped people - there are stairs everywhere (no elevators), to the rooms, to the restaurant, to the bar, to the lobby, to the pool, to street level......And many uneven surfaces.
- if you are allergic, stay away: there must be a lot of house dust mites in the beds - I am allergic to them and had severe cough attacks at night. Fortunately the pharmacies near-by have codein tablets they hand out to foreigners without prescription needed.

Apart form these problems, the hotel could be a very nice place. The garden ist nice, the pool area ok. In low season the hotel is also very quiet - no shows, the bar closes at 10 p.m.

Cooking is poor, but there is a very good restaurant (Petit pecheur) next-door, where you can get excellent food for around 5 Euros each.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an empty room next door - if not, you wont sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

nice room, great staff and good service for the guest, Have stayed in the Hotel for 03 days and enjoyed every moment of my stay. The Hotel is around an year old and has 16 rooms. Let me say the rooms are chic, stylish and very modern. Spacious room, comfortable bed, all amenities required were available in room.

Staff highly motivated and very professional. Had buffet breakfast, good food with a variety of Indian and continental cuisine.
The location of the hotel is also a plus point. One can step out and will find Rajouri garden market within 800 meters and some very good and fine dining restaurants near by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Emira, on a bed and breakfast status. It was a pleasant hotel with a lovely pool, nice seating area outside and clean rooms with a private balcony. Breakfast was salads (from the buffet the night before), croisants, cakes, pan o'chocolat, boiled eggs, bread, cheese and meat with tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The pool was clean, there were ample sun loungers however no entertainment or BBQ grill (all closed). To be honest we did not spend all that much time at the hotel, it's about a mile from the Medina and not in a touristy area, which we liked. The beach was fine, clear water, umbrellas and waiter service. It is a basic hotel, you get what you pay for which at under £20 a night including breakfast is very good. Taxi to the Medina cost about 3td, I would also recommend petit Pechard, 3 doors up from the hotel, an excellent little cafe for authentic food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

we booked our holiday 8 weeks before we went, the hotel was worth every penny! it was clean and the staff could have been more helpful, the hotel was basic and does need a little love and attention, but you get what you pay for, our rooms were spotless and in the 10 days we stayed our beds were changed 3 times, the food in the resturant could have been better but it was ok and we did eat out as well as it was so cheap to eat out! the hotel beach was great, in all this was out 1st time to tunisia and we would go back again! please except this is a very different country, and if you go open minded and enjoy the culture you will love it! the location is in the old part of town where you will mix with the locals we would recomend the 'time out' resturant about 10 mins walk from the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I rarely write reviews for places we have stayed and I have certainly never written a poor one. I very much believe in the sentiment 'you get what you pay for,' and as long as the rooms are clean, I am happy enough. Although we paid very little for our week at the Emira, the standards were far below anywhere I have previously stayed.

I read the reviews here before we stayed. The majority of the poor reviews seemed to be blaming their unpleasant stay on the fact that the hotel does not cater for British people. I found it quite sad that people struggled to cope without British food, English speaking staff etc. Perhaps these reviewers could go to Butlins in future, so they can nip to McDonalds if they can't bring themselves to try some locally prepared food!

The location of this hotel is excellent. But beware, it is not where the maps (or the hotel) say it is. It's right in the middle of 'old' hammamet. The restaurants and shops surrounding it are not geared towards tourists at all and you will find that most places will not have English menus or English speaking staff. This was one of the things we liked most; immersing ourselves in local culture and trying different things.

We stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis, as it is so cheap to eat out. The breakfast was appalling. The same food being put out day after day. They advertise that it is served from 6am but on the occasions that we tried to eat at this time, there was no food other than what had been left out from the night before. Breakfast mostly consists of salad and bread. All of which is left out in the warm, uncovered, for the flies to enjoy.

The first night we arrived, we were taken to a room on the ground floor. My partner and I are very easy going and frequent travellers. Even staying in substandard conditions, we have never complained. In this instance though, I believe we had little choice. The room was filthy. It smelled terrible and the floors, surfaces and walls were covered in grime. The bathroom was disgusting. The toilet seat, lid and bowl was smeared with faeces. The shower was so dirty that I think you may have stayed cleaner by not using it. There was a large hole in the side of the bath and the floor was so grimy we made marks by walking on it. As I previously stated, we are not complainers, so we decided to get on with it and enjoy our holiday- we spend very little time inside the room anyway. So, after cleaning the toilet enough to use, we went to bed, however, as we pulled the covers down, it became apparent that the sheets had not been changed since the previous occupants. They had sweat stains, smelled terrible and there were a number of pubic hairs on them. At this point, we decided to speak to reception. As we opened the door, the handle came off in our hands, effectively locking us in.

In fairness, they moved us without any drama, and we went to a room on the top floor. The room was much better but it was still not particularly clean. There was no air con, which we found uncomfortable. The shower worked sporadically and the toilet was disgusting.

We had a lovely holiday though, as we spent very little time at the hotel. The locals made us feel welcome and the weather was gorgeous.

The real reason for this review however came on the last day as we were packing up to go home and we realised our money was missing. There are no safe facilities at the hotel so we had left the cash hidden in our room. The room was locked every day that we left it, so this suggests that the money was stolen by staff. I cannot convey how upset we were by this- a huge inconvenience, an invasion of our privacy and a really sad way to end a holiday.

The staff of course decided they didn't understand when we tried to report it.

Hamammet is lovely and we are intending ti visit again soon. However, I found this hotel to be dirty and dated, and the staff dishonest, and I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Emira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emira

Address: Ave Abou Dhabi, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emira 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Emira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emira Hotel Hammamet
Hotel Emira Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.