We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OAP HOME” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Khayam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Khayam Hotel to your Saves list
Dar Khayam Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Omar Kayam, Hammamet 08050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OAP HOME”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

a nice very clean hotel with very nice staff and a good spa. the beach is very nice apart from the plastic rubbish everywhere, our room was very clean and looked like it had been painted, that may explain why the plastic socket fell off the wall, i just put it back on and used the other one. the wc seat was cracked and the wardrobe door handle kept coming off but these minor things did not spoil my holiday. it was the bad food and the 1920's music that depressed the life out of me, combined with the half dead oap's and nothing to do. the entertainment was the tv in your room. in all fairness on returning home our bus picked up from four other hotels with more stars, and all 38 people on the bus hated there holiday in Tunisia. the whole place has rubbish every where.

Room Tip: over looking the pool would be the best choice of room, but you will still be able to hear the 1920...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    508
    322
    181
    208
See reviews for
614
517
38
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrhead
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family and I went to the Dar Khayam two months ago, the hotel was average, but we must warn you about Prince Jewellers nearby. My mum was told that she had bought a Pandora charm bracelet which was made of real silver. When we returned the bracelet started to turn pink and we found it was only silver coated and fake Pandora. Be warned.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This gud hotel if u want a quiet hoilday staff very friendly and go out there way to help. I have only 2 problems with this hotel the food very respective day in day out an guests an my self have had to complain that the food only Luke warm. My biggest complaint is the flys u can't sit out side 4 long as u get coved in thn even when u in reception but restaurant is the biggest problem

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

It was amazing met so many people all the staff is kind the food is lovely and I would go there again the pool &beach is absolutely gorgeous free drink whenever you want got good trips, I would advise not to go on to the beach because people pester you to bye things but the pool is really nice the rooms where comfy and roomie, the view is amazing from where we were.the pudding where tasty:D overall I enjoyed my stay and you shouldnt be put of by the bad commemts it was an amazing holiday and going again next year can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have not returned to the Dar Khayam since 2009 and not a lot has changed. It is not luxury, but then most people who stay there have paid ridiculously cheap prices for all/inc (4 weeks A/I for £500 was reported). To do that something has to give and in this case, sadly, it seems it is the food. Some of it is ok, it doesn't upset your tummy, but it really isn't great. It never was brilliant but it has deteriorated a bit.

However, not all bad news. The snack bar outside by the pool still does great pizzas, and the drinks are most definitely full strength (I have bruises to prove it!) and the bar staff are great (IMO). The sort of Brits who go here are mainly over (or well over!) 40, and enjoy a good drink and a laugh. Good friends are easily made, and a lot of good times can be had. Of course there are moaners, there's always a few wherever you go.

The rooms have had a makeover. New smart matching furniture, comfy new beds, flash new TVs, and the balcony walls have been raised to a safer height. The rooms would be very spacious were it not for the set of bunk-beds in every one. Great for families and even then there's plenty of space. Roomy bathrooms and good hot water supply.

The hotel generally is clean, comfy and very friendly. Most staff are lovely. For the money I think it is extremely good value. Just don't expect 5 star luxury for 3-star prices! (more like 2-star prices actually)

Notes:- CATS - horrified to read of poisoning episode in a earlier post. It means that the disappearances in the first week of December were victims too, though we were told they'd been rehomed we didn't believe it. The hotel did have a point as many were unwell (probably all the hotel food they were given by guests) and had started to poop all over the patio. No excuse for cruelty though, and many people were fond of them. Big Ginger Boy was the only survivor of the purge.

HORSE RIDING - The stables which used to be 5 mins walk from the hotel have been forced to move about 3 miles away nearer Nabuel, so I don't think they can have been a part of the disgusting episode reported on the beach. Inconvenient location now but still have good horses and for experienced riders worth the trip as they now have great hacking country over dirt tracks in a rural agricultural area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain get no sun at all in the winter but could be much cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just come back from the Dar Khayam, we were very worried by some of the comments. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are clean and the maids are lovely. We tipped her each day 2 Dinar approx 80p, you would have thought I had given her the crown jewles, I did this each day and she always looked after us.Food is not good it is cold and if you are vegeterian you cannot find a good wholsome meal I cannot say anything else about the food. there is a restaurant oposite the hotel which is very good £18.00 for 2 people steak salad and chips and 2 pints lager.Beach is beautiful it can be a pain though when the locals come to you offering tree off cuts, tortoises which they keep in their pockets,scarves,cigs they are your best friend when they realise you are english (they see us as been rich) until you say no then they curse you which can be intimidating. They do not come into the hotel grounds though as there are security men watching.However, while in the hotel the spa man/women do not leave you alone, the photographer, camel trip man,4 x 4 trip man it is non stop! There were kittens at the hotel they poisened them and left them for us to see which was very upsetting, to them the cats are vermin! They went round in the moring when light 7ish while I was sitting on the balcony and just threw them in a black bag. This was extremely upsettting for me.I believe if they have to poison cats then do it when the guests are in bed and move them before they wake up.I will not be travelling to Tunisia again because of the food and the way they treat animals, also because they do not leave you alone in thehotel the beach and when you go to the Market it is awful they pull you literally into their stall and they curse you when you will not buy anything. I hope this is some help to you.

Room Tip: above the indoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We went to this all inclusive hotel in the last week of Nov 2012. If you go to all inclusive in Tunisia expect to be away from any large town. Dar Khayam is only 6km from hammamet so easy to get there if you want to get out and experience a different feel. I would say in the height of season this would be a full on family resort but out of season it has few families and is lovely and quiet. The weather was good and we swam in the sea every day although the hotel has a good swimming pool and lovely warm indoor pool. Some activities were still available - boules, archery, aquarobics. The hotel also has a serviceable gym although it is a bit tired looking. Staff were very good - the usual overfriendly flirting ( apparently I have Pamela Anderson eyes!) but they quickly back off if you let them know that you are not that naive! Taxis are available directly outside the hotel but if you walk up the road over the railway tracks and flag a taxi there it is usually about 2 thirds the price!
In low season the shops outside the hotel shut very early so dont expect to be able to get anything after 5, cigs or crisps etc. The food was plentiful and lots of choice, in fact they practically feed you all day! Puddings are very popular and we found that it was a good idea to go and get your pudding first and put on your table while you go back for your starters and main course!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Khayam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Khayam Hotel

Address: Rue Omar Kayam, Hammamet 08050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Khayam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Khayam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Khayam Tunisia
Dar Khayam Hammamet
Dar Khayam Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Dar Khayam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Khayam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.