We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtesy and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Citronniers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Les Citronniers to your Saves list
Hotel Les Citronniers
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   rue de Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Courtesy and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely independent hotel in June 2012 and were pleased that we had read in advance the reviews previous gusts had written and upon which we based our choice.
Polite staff, attentive owners and a 3 course dinner ar 12 Dinar (£4.80 ). No complaints, time restrictions or excuses given when you made a request. Knowledgeable local information given with a smile and a service supplied that major hotel chains would do well to emulate.
We will go back to sample the simple delights and wonderful beach of this basic but exceptional hotel.
Teenagers would probably hate it as there is no entertainment so I mmention that to keep the noisy, selfish yougsters away but wonderful for the more mature generation ( a little selfish here meself ).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    59
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
90
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Me and my mum stayed in this hotel for a week in July. The staff were really polite and welcoming to us. The rooms and most of the hotel was spotlessly clean. The rooms were really comfortable and cosy. We did feel that there was a lack of facilities, such as a fridge and small kitchen commodities e.g. sink, kettle but that was about it. The hotel is in a good location, only a few minutes walk from the beach and from shops - but at the same time, the hotel is in a quiet and tranquil location. The breakfast was basic - bread, orange juice, jam and butter - but what can one expect for the small price paid for the hotel. The hotel restaurant offered a good menu with basic, versatile dishes such as roast turkey/pasta/pizza and they also had set menus which were a bargain. The restaurant did get quite busy in most evenings and service would often be slow, but what can you expect when the restaurant has more customers than its capacity. Occasionally the waiters seemed impatient during busy evenings. I would reccomend staying here with families and couples for a simple but relaxing and enjoyable break. I wouldn't say that the hotel is up to honeymoon standards but its great for couples, as there were quite a few couples there when we stayed. Excellent value for money and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We decided on the hotel because it was midway between Hammamet and Jasmine.

We arrived to a very helpful reception area and were made to feel welcome right away.

The hotel room was a decent size and whilst maybe a little tired in appearance was exceptionally clean (and kept so throughout the stay) and as it was facing over the pool it was actually nice and quiet.
We did notice the front area of the hotel was busy and any room over looking this would have had the background noise of many people talking and having an enjoyable holiday. Please don't think it was excessively noisy as it wasn't, just the noise you'd expect at the front of any hotel.

There was a safety deposit box in the room which we made use of, as at 7dinars per week this was excellent value for money.

There was free WIFI provided and the signal in the indoor bar area was pretty good and the connection was reliable although not terribly fast at times.

The bar prices were very reasonable for both alcoholic and non alcholic drinks, sometimes the service was a tad slow but that was only because the staff were rushed off their feet in the food areas. Perhaps a dedicated staff member at the bar might have helped...but the slight delays didn't cause us any issues as we were on holidays and not in a rush to do anything.

The staff were all very pleasant and very polite. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for any of them at any time.

The food in the restaurant of the hotel was simply excellent, especially given the very reasonable prices they charged! perhaps a little more choice of Tunisian dishes would have been better but the quality of what we had was very high. Each meal was preceded by a plate of olives, harissa, mayo and bread and on many occassions we were given a lemon sorbet style ice cream.
Food was served very quickly and always appeared freshly cooked.

The hotel has it's own private beach and beach bar area. We found the beach to be very clean and the beach bar charged the same prices as the main hotel. There are sunbeds and parasols and for two of us this was a reasonable 2dinars.

The pool at the hotel was kept very clean and we saw them test the water every day.
When we stayed we virtually had the pool to ourselves..very exclusive :-)

We found the location to be ideal for us...only a 40 min walk along the beach to Hammamet proper or a 3 to 4 dinar cab ride.
There is a small supermarket just up from the hotel and a range of shops further along the street the hotel is on.

There is not a lot to do in the evenings in the area and the hotel did not lay on any entertainment...this to us was a huge bonus!

This hotel would be ideal for couples who don't want night life on the door but not really suited to those with kids and/or who, themselves, want to be kept occupied in the evening as there is limited activity locally.

Simply put this is an excellent hotel, offering far more than it's 2 stars and with quality and value that would be hard to beat. We had a wonderful time here and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: opt for a pool view room to minimise noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have family in tunisia and go to see them every year and every year I stay at the Les Citronniers with my mum. We have to got to know all the staff and they are all very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are very clean. The Local beach is a short walk away and is very clean. The snack cafe on the beach serves delicious fresh local food, a must! the breakfast is very basic but not a problem for us as we normally ate fruit anyway.

Room Tip: all rooms have a lovely view of either the sea, pool or gardens. not a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Getting rather tired of the spread of AI hotels so prefer to support smaller bed and breakfast hotels.
Booked this hotel for 12 nights and have no complaints whatsoever. Exceptionally clean and well maintained and very friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was only basic continental but hotel had excellent restaurant for lunch and evening meals. Food was of a high standard and restaurant always full in evenings of local Tunisians and local expats. There was also choice of 3 to 4 locals restaurants nearby.
If you want animation and evening entertainment this hotel is not for you. If you want local good value, no frills then this is an ideal choice. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Chanced upon the place after staying and naebul and finding it too quiet up there. Very welcoming at reception and room was everything we were looking for and fantastic value, especially with the pound/dinar exchange rate.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned this afternoon from a week staying in Hotel Les Citronniers and thought I would share my thoughts.

First off. If you a looking for a hotel that offers lots to do by way of entertainment, has multiple restaurants, loads of bars, etc, etc then this is NOT the place for you. I doubt too, that it would be suitable for those with younger children / teenagers who need to be close to all the amenities they require

However if you are looking for a quiet family run hotel, that is relatively basic, and of a better standard than the 2 star rating would suggest, this could be just the place for you.

THE HOTEL
The hotel is situated on a quiet side road, close to the beach, shops, restaurants and cafes. It is close to the main road that runs from Hamammet to Yasmine Hamammet and both are within walking distance or by a cheap taxi (more of which later)

Check in was smooth and we were allocated room 314 on the 2nd floor. Our room wad a basic, clean and functional bathroom, twin beds, enough drawer and hanging space and a small balcony that offered a view to the side and front of the hotel. The room also had a phone and TV (BBC news was the only UK channel)

The hotels front desk is seemingly permanently manned and you can exchange money here. Behind this is the bar area where you can get all the regular alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks plus a few Tunisian specialities (Thibarine and Boukha). You can eat a meal or snack in this area if you wish and there are often dishes of complimentary nuts and nibbles on offer. All the staff are Tunisian, but speak good English. They soon get to know your drink preferences and deliver drinks to the table along with a receipt. When you have had enough to drink, just take the bills to the bar and settle up!

Please note. Smoking is allowed in the bar area (and restaurant), but there are a number of non smoking areas. To be honest though, this shouldn't be a major issue as the area is very well ventilated.

To the rear of the hotel is the breakfast room. Breakfast is served from 6am until 9am (aprox) and as others have noted, the choice can get a little repetitive. There is tea, coffee,chocolate and juice to drink. To eat, there are croissants, pain au chocolate, bread, cheese and jam. However if this is a little too basic for you, there is a cafe just down the road that sells a full English!

The hotel's restaurant is very good, but be warned, helpings are not small! Every meal begins with a meze style plate (Bread, harrissa, mayo, chopped and diced salad, tuna, fatmas fingers, etc). Your meal will end with a large sundae dish of lemon sorbet too. Both these courses are excellent and free of charge. My favourite starter course was the brik. This is a tunisian speciality that is something like a cross between a pasty and a samosa. There are a choice of fillings and shrimp was my favourite. From the main courses, I particularly loved the calamari with prawn (in a delicious cream and garlic sauce). I was also very impressed with my wife's grilled fish platter which contained a large fillet of fish, tender baby calamari, king prawns and more. Most meals come with a side order of rice, chips and mixed veg, but could also include a fried egg!

To the rear of the main hotel building is a decent size swimming pool. Being April, the water temperature was a little on the chilly side, so we didnt make use of it, but noticed it was kept spotlessly clean. To the side of the pool is a bar and also a pool table

One of the thing we enjoyed most was the fact that the restaurant and bar were both very popular with the locals. The Tunisians are very friendly and proud of their country. Although officially their second language is French, many can speak a fair bit of English. Dont be surprised if a local starts a conversation with you about your respective countries, TV, music or football. It should be noted that all the men were respectful when talking with women. We didn't notice any sleaziness whatsoever.

The hotel also owns a section of beach aprox 5 mins stroll from the hotel. Sunbeds are available at 2 dihrams a day. There is also a beach bar. We had a couple of days on the beach, and while not peak season there was very little "hassle" from the few beach traders who peddle their wares. Please note that during our stay, the beach was very clean.

We travelled independently to Tunisia, but were still able to book trips via the hotel. We booked to visit Sidi Bou Said, Carthage and Tunis. This all day trip cost aprox £30 pp and included admission to historical sites and lunch. The guide we had was excellent. Very informative about the places we visited and helpful when trying to haggle for souvenirs. His advice, to buy from the souk in Tunis was correct. This area had less tourists, less hassle and much lower prices.

SHOPPING
The are numerous small shops close to the hotel and a nice little mini mart a few doors down. This is handy for basics such as pop, water, suntan lotion, ciggies, crisps, chocolate, sweets, etc. The owners are very friendly and fair with prices (no need to haggle!)

Hamammet itself has a bigger range of shops and the souk is in the old medina. Expect a bit of hassle in here and be prepared to haggle, haggle, haggle. We bought saffron and harrissa here and by sticking firm, my wife managed to get our purchases at aprox 10 per cent of the suggested opening price! We found little to be unique to the souk. The leather goods, pashminas, spices and trinkets were easily available at hundreds of similar outlets. It is worth noting though, that the souk has a number of well signposted fixed price shops which will give you an approximate price on which you can base you haggling prices.

Further afield (aprox 12 kilometres away) is Naboul. This seems less tourist orientated (far fewer European faces around when we visited). It has a very large number of shops selling pottery and ceramics, which makes a welcome change from slippers and tat! There are also many conventional shops selling western style clothes, shoes, electrical goods, etc

TAXIS
A taxi from the hotel into the centre of Hamammet is around 3 dihrams and into Naboul is around 10 - 12 dihrams. All the yellow cabs have meters. Just make sure it is set on tarif 1 and set to zero before you set off. Also check your change!

A FEW PRICES
A pint of local beer in the hotel is 3 dirhams
A large vodka is a similar price
Mint tea in a cafe should cost around a dirham, while an English tea will cost around 2 dirhams per pot

Local cafes all sell sandwiches (usually with chips) for about 3 dihrams or less.
Lunch in a local cafe (large bowl of cous cous with large chicken portion or fish will cost under 10 dirhams. This cost often includes typical Tunisian starter and mint tea)

Cigarettes range from 2 - 5 dirhams for 20, with local brands being cheaper than imported brands such as Marlboro or Camel. If you want a local brand with a similar flavour to L+B or John Players, give the following a try Crystal Legere, Mars Legere or Royal Legere. "Legere" means light, but these are stronger than "light" cigarettes in UK

A 1 litre bottle of water is around 1 dihram

Note. Exchange rate in April 2012 was 2.4 dihrams to 1 UK pound

So then, to sum up. The hotel is quiet, clean and cheap. Our mattresses were a little too firm and the breakfast was a little lacking in variety, but other than that we had no complaints. We would certainly return again

If anyone has any questions, feel free to drop me a line

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Citronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Citronniers

Address: rue de Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Citronniers 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Citronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Citronniers Hotel
Les Citronniers Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Citronniers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.