We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Visit to Chich Khan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chich Khan

Save Saved
You added Chich Khan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chich Khan
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rue la Medina, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 128 hotels in Hammamet
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Great Visit to Chich Khan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

just returned from another great visit to Chich Khan 16 of us for my friends birthday! restaurant staff particularly Ben Khidre amazing arranged cake (free) and decorated table beautifully!! Visited same time last year and in September! Food as always excellent, lovely clean hotel ,staff cannot do enough for you! New animation team and manager. Not as in your face as last year which was nice, Loki, Badi and Mido made us feel welcome and worked very hard in the shows and enjoyed the dancing each night. Saif and Neshla from kids club were lovely and lots of fun, rest of the guys were good fun no complaints. I would recommend to the Animation Manager that a 2 week programme of shows like last year would be good so people on 2 week hol do not see same shows twice ( or at least changes songs on hit parade night haha!!) but enjoyed it nonetheless. Only knocked it down to 4 stars due to waiter service outside of an evening has been in the past a lot quicker and given only start of the season this needs to be improved! All in all a lovely stay will definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    440
    231
    125
    77
See reviews for
543
523
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport , United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from 11 Nights in Tunisia and had a wonderful time.
Bit of a bad start due to problem with room but staff were wonderful and we had an upgrade to compensate for the delay and hassle.

Buffet food was pretty good, a bit repetitive but no complaints as there was plenty to eat and drink so I would really recommend all inclusive.

Be prepared to tip the bar staff and waiters..they will remember you and look after you.

By far the best part of the holiday was lounging around by the pool and swimming. The animation team were really really good at keeping us all entertained.

Only real downside was the air conditioning only came on half way through holiday so it got pretty warm in room at night.

Will hopefully be going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family and my sisters family (4yr old, 13yr old, 2yr old, 4 month yr old) found this hotel great for a fun all inclusive place. The food was varied and tasty even for our 22 month year old. We felt the children were always safe around the pool area which is one big pool with different style enteries. Ramp down one end and steps the other. There's also an indoor pool witch is extremely cold plus a small children's pool with a park next too it. The all inc drinks are nice too we enjoyed the wine in the day by the pool which came in ice bucket. Tipping the waiters does help even when 10dinar is only 3£. The evening eneterainment is ok but don't expect the broadway, kids disco and salsa from 8:30 till 9:30 then shows are from then. One bad thing is we were in a ground floor and fighting a losing battle against ants and Mosquitos all week. And if you like pancakes you have a chance between lunch and dinner too indulge also waffles at the pool bar. The bar on the reception floor we found alcoholic drinks too be the tastiest and the barmans very professional in his work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

not sure how this hotel got it's 4 star rating, but in my opinion it's not justified. stayed there for a week 5th-12th june 2013 with 2 friends, and a 3 year old child in the party also. we arrived at lunchtime, and after a long travel the reception seemed very disorganised. no welcome drinks for anyone, and none of the rooms were ready. we had about a 90 minute wait for them to be organised. we had asked for either adjoining rooms or rooms next door to each other which the receptionist said they were... but they were on opposite sides and ends of the corridor. pool towels were supposed to be included, but you had to pay a deposit in Tunisian currency for them, and then you can't take the currency back out the country when you get your deposit back. there was no air conditioning, and because of this, the dining room was unbearable. there was no safe in the room, no clothes airer on the balcony, and no water or anything in the fridge. all of which I would expect from a 4 star hotel. the pictures look deceptively spacious in the brochure, but there just were not enough grounds around the poolside for the amount of people. sunbeds were in short supply, mattresses for the sunbeds were in even shorter supply and a lot of the sunbeds were broken or cracked. the designated childrens pool had no shallow gradient for them to walk in, and appeared to be cleaned once a week judging by the amount of sand in it. the juice glasses were so small at breakfast it took about 3 or 4 trips to get enough juice for everyone. and at dinner there was no diluting juice available for the kids. simply fizzy drinks or water. I would not consider us to be particularly fussy, but I certainly wouldn't rate this hotel 4 star. wouldn't recommend it, and won't be back.

Room Tip: take binoculars to see the pool in the pool view rooms as ours had about 1cm of blue you could see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Chich Khan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Although we feel very sad to read that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Chich Khan hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

Related to the check in, we are sorry that you had to wait so long for your room however we would like to point out that the check in starts at 14.00 and we cannot guarantee that the rooms will be ready for early arrivals as the housekeeping staff has to proceed with a thorough cleaning of the accommodations as per IBEROSTAR hygiene standards. Moreover, pool towels are free of charge but subject to a deposit and as per the safe in the room, it is available but with extra charge, like any other IBEROSTAR hotel.
Concerning the minibar, we lament that you weren´t properly informed about the working of this service. If you allow us, we will explain the procedure: in the rooms you find a letter informing that depending on the treatment that you have chosen (Half Board, Full Board, All Inclusive..) this service may be included or not. In case it is not included, you are able at any time to add it to your stay with a simple call to our reception.

Finally, we would like to suggest that for any upcoming holiday planning, you get in contact with our call center where we can offer a personalized booking guidance for you to choose the treatment and services in accordance to your needs and wishes for us to be able to satisfy all your needs and provide unforgettable vacation memories.

We hope to may take the opportunity to serve you again in the near future and cause an excellent and lasting impression, through our high quality service and the fulfillment of our IBEROSTAR hotel standards.

Kindest Regards
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first trip abroad with the kids.
Our first thoughts of Tunisia were not great, the minute you arrive at the airport the porters are their waiting to take your bags just a few yards and have their hands out ready for a tip, we took our own bags. Our transfer to the hotel was interesting to say the least, the place looks barron and run down. We encountered police shooting at a car which was passing us, that was very scary.

The hotel Chich Khan was fab, from the minute we walked through the doors they were very helpful as we wanted to change rooms for a ground floor room which was more shady as we had heard that the air con did not get switched on until june the 15th. The room was spacious, clean and ours was cool.
The entertainment team did a fab job, big shout out to pinochio, dayand night they worked realy hard to make sure everyone was having a good time.
The waiters were lovely and made sure we always had a seat outside, morning and night. They work extremely hard and do not ask for tips, but knowing how much they got paid we were more than happy to give them a few dinars every now and again. Food choice was good and considering it was a buffet the food was always hot. The food at the themed resteraunt was mexicon and it was delicious.
The pool was lovely a bit cold but when it was 35 degrees you were glad of it. We had beautifull weather every day for the whole two weeks, we always managed to get sunloungers but we did get up eary to reserve them.
The resident cats and kittens were always around , my daughter loved playing with them.
We did not do any excursions as we were told that they were not that good. The quad bikes were dangerous, the pirate boats were ok but the food on it not great and a lot of people getting sea sick. The camel rides are best to do of your own back down the beach as it is cheaper.
One thing that was annoying is the people selling the trips in the hotel, verypushy and would not take no for an answere.
Our first trip out was a little scary with everone hastling you to go in their shops stick to the fixed priced shops then you dont have to barter and works out cheaper in the meantime. As the holiday went on however you do get used to it and you just have to say no thanks. We went to the old town of hammamet but the hastle was just ridiculous we stayed there about 10 mintues and decided to walk back to our hotel along the beach, wow it was amazing the scenery was fantastic and the weather glorious, 5 hours later and a camel ride we arrived back at our hotel tierd but happy.
The litter was everywhere and the private beach was full of camel poo, coming from torbay devon where the beaches are kept clean , we did not go down their after our first trip, however the other end of hammamet beach was lovely.
We will not be returning to tunisia, but the chich khan hotel was great and we were well looked after and we could not fault anything.
One last mention the maids, wow they work so hard and our beds were made and our room tidied every day for the whole two weeks, they make things out of the towels hearts, animals and petals all round the sink, sweets were left one day much to the kids delight. Brilliant , fantastic hotel.
!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned on sunday from 11 nights at this hotel and really could not fault it. Had a 2 year old with us!

FOOD; best buffet ive had and been to lots all over the place, also have mexican a la carte which was excellent. There is another 4 ibeostar hotels within 1km and you can book into their a la carte restaurants once per stay free of charge( asian ,italian, med,and another i cant recall)

ROOM; First class, large room with fridge, tv( couple of movie channels and euro news) , hairdryer, shampoo and plenty hot water for bath or shower.

POOL. Bit cold but will be hotter now as weather gets warmer 22 degrees our last day

STAFF; really good staff here and just a small tip here and there makes the difference. Sofienne at downstairs bar was always happy and was credit to hotel

ANIMATION; again really good, played water polo and football everyday. night time there is kids disco at 8-30pm then a show everynight at 9-30pm. the river dance show was one of the best ive seen at a hotel ,

HOTEL; reception and bars etc are all very nice, only small point for me was the gardens where we had to sunbathe as pool area busy were a bit overgrown and could do with trees and bushes being cut back as sunlight can be blocked out

OUTSIDE; there is a marina which is fine , a few restaurants , chich khan has its own private beach 5 mins away and just 5 mins along road is carthage land which has a aquapark, ali baba kids play area,, 5 d cinema, steakhouse pub which is good and shows all live sport on big screen. shops etc

Though Iberostar would be a good hotel and was proved right.a
ANY QUESTIONS JUST ASK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently returned from a week's all inclusive holiday in Tunisia at the Iberostar Chich Khan. Myself and my partner went with 3 children (7,6 and 18 months).
First off I must say that all the hotel staff were absolutely brilliant for the whole of our stay and couldn't have worked harder to make our stay enjoyable. I read some reviews about not getting same service if you didn't tip staff every day, but I cannot say that this was the case. At no point did any of the staff expect a tip from us, yet still went out of their way to make sure we were never without a drink at poolside or in the restaurant.
Hotel rooms were of a decent standard, not what you would expect of a 4* hotel in UK, but not sure why anyone would go to such a country expecting this anyway. As far as I am concerned, the room is just a base for us to store our stuff and sleep in. As long as it was clean and comfortable, which it was, then there is no problem.

The buffet restaurant was a typical all inclusive restaurant, plenty of choice, some which you will like, some which you won't. It can get repetitive at times, but again this is a pretty typical all inclusive issue, not anything specific to this hotel. It was also of a high standard.

The only major issue that we had during our stay was the fact that despite booking a room with a cot for our 18 month old son, when we arrived and checked in at midnight, we got into room to find there was no cot. We then had to go back down to reception to ask for this, only for the porter to then bring in a shoddy old cot, that was broken and had nails sticking out of it. When we then went back to reception again and asked about this, the porter then came back and tried to fix it by banking the part of the broken cot back into place. Due to our tiredness we decided to put our son to sleep in there and cover the broken parts/nails with blankets to ensure he wasn't hurt.

When we then went back in morning to ask for this to be changed we were told this would be done, only for us to arrive back in room mid afternoon to find the same cot still there. My partner went straight back down to front desk to ask about this and were told it would be sorted straight away. However , she ended up returning to complain that it still hadn't been changed another 4 times during the remainder of the afternoon / evening before it was eventually changed. To me this is not acceptable.

Other than that one issue and the fact that air con not switched on until mid June at earliest (despite temperatures of 30 degrees), the rest of the stay in the hotel was great. The older 2 girls went to kids club a couple of times and enjoyed it, and they loved the mini disco. My thanks in particular to the members of the animation team who ran the kids club and disco as they made our children feel right at home.

Overall a great stay, though I would issue a warning to anyone going to Tunisia to be wary outside of the hotels as there are many people just constantly trying to rip you off, be it people pretending to be the waiter at your hotel in order for you to trust them enough to "be your tour guide" or the people at the airport who immediately try to help with your bags but then expect ridiculous amounts of money in tips (one guy was asking for £20). However, as stated the staff in the hotel were nothing like this, and I would like to think those outside of the hotel were only a minority!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Address: Rue la Medina, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chich Khan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.