We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVE BEL AIR :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bel Air

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bel Air to your Saves list
Hotel Bel Air
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Dougga | Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 126 Hotels in Hammamet
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“WE LOVE BEL AIR :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

My boyfriend and me were in the Bel air last summer at july. WE PAID 7 DAYS IN TUNISIA ONLY 300 EUR (includes hotel, plane, aerial taks and tranfer). For that money we got a lot more than we expected. Staff are very friendly and always available. Rooms clean and nice,if you give tipp of 1 dinar your bed will be strewn with flowers.
Our recommendation is to ask at the reception room on the side where is pool (not for sense but silence. If you will be on the opposite side will hear the noise of a disco.
This is the advice that we find on this site, and gold is worth. as we have always traveled on interesting trips, our dream was needed.
Food for breakfast and dinner was excellent, fruit by the pool too. All inclusive in our hotel was not necessary because almost every day went on trips. beach from the hotel is located about 10 minutes walk, not like our beautiful in Croatia, but we went to Tunisia because of meet new and completely different culture, desert, gracious hosts. If you have the beautiful beaches you can go as we taxi to yasmin hamammeta (very short and inexpensive ride). We swam at the beach hotel with 5 stars. Travelers who come to us from the Croatian and stay in 5 stars hotels was disappointed with food. in the Hotel Bel Air nobody complained. difference in the price of the hotel we spend on meals, souvenirs, massages, tours ,....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    92
    72
    64
    124
See reviews for
119
165
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

we were worried that we were gonna have a bad trip because all of these bad reviews however we had an amazing trip! the hotel staff were so friendly and the 4 entertainment guys were so funny and made everyone laugh.. entertainment is great here! there is always something to do.. hotel is positioned in a great place.. kids loved the holiday so much. food was okay.. may have been a bit better. we had vegetarians with us and we told our rep to tell the chef so he made us very nice vege food.. the rep lorraine is lovely :)
overall an amazing holidayy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girl up north
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We booked a last minute hol, and then came on this site and were horrified by the awful reviews we found. We would have changed hotel if they'd have let us, but luckily it was too late. We had a great time. What was all the sour grapes aimed at this hotel all about? It was good three star accommodation at a 3 star price. The hotel was clean and the food was fine, but not if you are one of the 'eggs-and-chips and ketchup with everything' brigade. All meals were buffet-style. There was a range of things for breakfast, always including eggs fried, boiled or scrambled. For dinner there was a huge salad bar, a range of a fish, vegetarian or 2 meat dishes to choose from, and vegetables cooked a variety of ways. Many of the meat dishes were french-style, which is understandable when you consider the French colonised Tunisia until the middle of the last century. The range of creamy cakes for dessert was fab, and there was always a big bowl of fresh juicy oranges to finish off with. The waiters were superkeen, and very helpful. The thing about paying for water is that it is all pre-bottled, and not out of the tap. You buy bottled water in the UK, so why would you expect it free in the hotel?? As others have said, The Shakespeare just up the road has a constant happy hour, making their prices half that of the hotel for the local beer, which is like a light lager, without the bitterness. They do a good cuppa and toasties for lunchtime and are very reasonable. If you have a smattering of school French the taxi drivers and train stations are very helpful. In taxis, you often pay less by going on the meter, rather than by asking how much the price is first. We made our own way on an early train to El Jem, rather than take the Thos Cook bus trip, and it cost us under half, and we had more time to wander around. The only down-side for us was that there was entertainment arranged in the hotel every night, and our room was above that area, so was quite noisy till midnight, but it didn't bother us enough to ask to change rooms. Make your way to the beach for amazing golden sands. The outdoor pool is very clean, and the indoor one is very warm, if you fancy a swim on a cloudy April day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

please do not take in all the bad reviews of this hotel me and my husband in our thirtys booked this hotel for two weeks in july 2009 we had a great two weeks it was great value for money especially the way the euro is at the moment elsewhere. some people just like to moan moan moan if you want a five star then pay for it. We were more than pleased with our hotel, we are going back to tunissia this year but trying a different resort only to see a different part of the country. Take reviews with a pinch of salt n go see for yourself we had a great time.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

After booking a last minute trip I was horrified to read the bad reviews. Unfortunately much of what is said is true. The hotel is in between the two hammamets and although the beach is lovely, the walk to the beach is rather bleak and not to be advised at night as its very quiet. On the plus side, there are always taxis waiting outside to take you anywhere. The hotel is ok, not so bad that we asked to move, but lots of irritations, eg the rooms were being painted and renovated as we arrived and we had to ask for the bed to be repaired,( it sloped on one side) and a light bulb be replaced, that said repairs were fixed straight away. The room was ok, although noisy at night from the hotel entertainment. However, if you like hotel entertainment this is the place for you. The staff put a great deal of effort to entertain guests throughout the day and night and are very enthusiastic, no complaints at all about them. A plus, this could be a great way to improve yours, or your kids French and/or Arabic as the friendly staff are bi lingual. Both swimming pools are excellent, but the sauna was closed. As for food, the selection was rather repetative, especially for vegetarians, but breakfast was fine. Hotel drinks are expensive but you can buy alchohol in Hammamet town from a goverment shop, which is an experience in itself . I would not recommend you go to this hotel unless you get a very good price and I wont be returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacy scotland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

great hotel dont listen to these people who pay little and expect alot, omg its a 3 star hotel in tunisa it has what u need, its frendly not over crowded the staff all speak and understand english, its really clean, staff are entertaining they wrk there butts off, the beach is a 5 min walk, the local english bar is at the bottom of the street,there is reps there with offers of tours, everything you want its there romance, culture,experience, excitment,sun, but most of all its just really laid back, the staff also entertain all ages,our room was cleaned everyday inc bedding towels ect and the water was clean enough to wash in, i have done spain twice and i promise i prefered this hotel and location to previous places, the staff treat you like royalty, and also the chears bar has some great characters all in all i loved it and so did my other half if you get the chance do the african dream its the most perfect day we had we done it the day before we left it was brill,please dont judge the hotel by prevous reviews coz we did and expected the worse and it turned out to be the best holiday we have had plus we were there in march and the weather was beautiful just make sure u take a warm top for night and enjoy the laid backnesswell as entertaining as of bel air

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Firstly me and a friend just wanted a little cheap break over easter and we didn't mind that it wasn't going to be perfect and to be honest having backpacked and stuff I didn't think I was that fussy but then again after working in a three star hotel in Belfast I thought it would be more or less the same. Don't get me wrong I did enjoy the holiday because I am 27 and I enjoyed the sun, relaxing and the company but this was totally below acceptable standards.

We arrived at our hotel after dropping everyone off at all these beautiful hotels and I knew straight away from the outside what it was going to be like. We walked in (we are two females) and there were two creepy looking men standing at the doors who were looking at us and saying things. When we checked in the receptionist couldn't be bothered and just wanted to get us out of the way but hey we understood it was late. There was no-where to get anything to eat so we headed to the Shakespeare and they managed to rustle us up something which was ok but stale bread etc. We went to the Shakespeare for a drag show one night and it was a good laugh, a change from the same thing in the hotel but I just a lot of vodka and it didn't seen so strong and it was buy one get one free, now I know why because there was hardly any alcohol in it.

Our room was ok, clean enough but the shower curtain was all mouldy and it is just generally old and dated. The sheets didn't fit the bed, the blankets we never used because they looked like something from the 19th century so we just slept on and with sheets which was a little cold at times. The maids done they're best god bless them, they done wee swans and put rose petals on our beds etc.

The food was unacceptable for a travel agent to even send people here HB was a complete joke. We never ate a breakfast the whole time we were there, diluted juice, bread, what was supposed to be eggs I think and some kind of meat which I couldn't even look at. We lived on french roll unless we went out or they decided to put fresh chips or saute potatoes out then we had like a chip buttie and ate desserts lol. We ate some of it because it was just ok but I would say by my standards and my experience of a 3 star hotel I don;t think I could star this hotel.

There is nothing to do in this hotel, we either sunbathed and I read my book, we went to the beach which was handy 1 day, we went on an excursion to the Fruguia Park which was absolutely brilliant and so good value for money. With regards to the Sahara trip the best part of it was the hotel because it was 4 stars lol. It was like a constant coach trip and the tour guide made it if Im honest, he was funny and always had a smile on his face. We done a million photo and toilet stops and went to the Sahara and seen a few things of history but I would not recommend it.

If you want a holiday to relax and enjoy do not go here....if you get it for dirt cheap, like £100 then go!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bel Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Air

Address: Rue Dougga | Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel Air 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Bel Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Hotel Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bel Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.