We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a cheap bit of winter fun and sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bel Azur Thalassa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bel Azur Thalassa to your Saves list
Hotel Bel Azur Thalassa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Ibn Fourat Boite Postale 13, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for a cheap bit of winter fun and sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We got a great last minute deal for a week half board at this hotel. (£169 inc flights) It was what you would expect from a 3* with such a cheap price - a bit rough around the edges, but perfect to use as a base to explore Tunisia. As we were out off season, a lot of the facilities were closed, and the evening entertainment was, er, to put it politely, rather lack lustre, but we were out exploring most days.

The staff were friendly. There was more than enough choice for breakfast and dinner and we certainly didn't go hungry. Shower was hot and powerful enough. We had a problem with the plug in the bath - it was stuck solid and water couldn't drain out. We did report it, but it wasn't fixed, so we sorted it ourselves. More of an annoyance than anything else. We were wakened most mornings by the TV blaring in the room next door, but other than that, the rooms were quiet. The beach was so close you could hear the waves. Hammamet town centre/medina was about a half hour walk away - a nice walk along the shore line if the weather is nice.

All in all, we had a great little break, and thoroughly enjoyed Tunisia

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    64
    29
    16
    16
See reviews for
38
60
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We had been to the Bel Azur before & knew what to expect. The staff are friendly and the food more than adequate. For a 3 star it does what it says on the tin. The place is being refurbished and there was quite a bit of banging during the day as whole sections of rooms were internally demolished. That didn't bother us a bit. The fact that there would be noise is probably whey there were no big UK tour operators there at the time.
The weather was a bit changeable so there weren't too many round the pool but it was well kept and very clean. It's position on the beach is a major plus for us (we don't fancy the supposedly better places at Yasmine Hammamet).
We had a problem with the lock on our room door but it was sorted out with a minimum of fuss. It will be interesting to see how the refurbishment goes. Another English couple there had a peek at some completed rooms & said they looked very good. With higher grade hotels as part of the complex we are more than happy with our bit.
I'd like to single out the bar organist who played for a couple of hours most nights. He was deceptively good playing western standards with some local stuff thrown in (we preferred his Tunisian tunes). The Animation team were very low key while we were there and as we don't like being organised that was fine by us. Nice place, nice stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby,england
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stayed at the Bel again, have on numerous occassions and will do again. For me its a no airs and graces hotel,which suits me fine and you can be yourself, don't have to dress up for dinner, the food is great and so much choice, you can relax, wander through the lovely gardens or sit on the beach and unwind.
The staff are helpful, many have been there for a long time and recognise and remember you from previous visits. They are'nt there to hassle you, tipping 1 or 2 dinars won't break the bank esp as they don't earn very much. I went on my own this time, I did'nt get any hassle in or around the hotel or when I walked into Hammamet itself (and I'm blond). You have to remember that you are in Africa, culture and customs are totally different and respect and embrace them. If you have time do take a trip, there's loads of history, Carthage ( capital before rome) El Jem, Tunis.
Not all the negative comments are warranted, some are just plain picky. The hotel is in desperate need of an overhaul I agree, so you'll be pleased to know that the rooms are being done block by block at the moment, I've seen the first set and they are much better.
Its not everyone's liking, but to me its great, 3hrs from the UK, sunshine, clean beaches, great food, loads of culture, time to relax and very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed here with my husband and 3 boys 11,13, and 17. Sea view balcony was fine if you stood right at one end of the balcony and peered around a tree... the boys balcony had a better sea view - just don't bank on a glorious view. The bathroom had a very unpleasant odour which was only improved by switching on the air conditioning. The boys room bathroom had no odour. Both had dusty/sandy balconies so were not enticing to chill out on. Pool was okay - if you would choose to swim - using the term loosely, in a channel next to a dividing wall next to the infant pool - so you had a run about 5 metres long by 1 metre wide before it steeped sharply to 2.5 or 3 metres. Consequently, this area became very congested while everyone got their breath before swimming around or hanging on around the edges. When you enter and leave the pool - this is by steps - great - however, directly into the very deep end. Around the pool I found the surface really slippery and used to take it very steady - wasn't only me that was slipping though. Food was good around the omelette/pancakes area in the morning so lots of congestion and by the ice cream in the evening - not everyone was patient. Food was not great not even good. The beaches are fine - however, the sea is full and I mean full of jelly fish - the boys went on jet ski's which was fun - later they went on a pedalo - there were many jellyfish - larger that they found at the shoreline. The stings gave a really nasty pain - you would hear children squeal out. I would go to Tunisia again however, to the larger hotels in Jasmine Hammamet - with a pool - we visited there for an evening and although much busier very friendly and very hassle free - very entertaining evening.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

hotel is a bit dated but dont let that put you off , food is great , waiters brilliant ,beer is cheap ,entertainment is fun. animation team are hard working . but do please look out for kevin in the corner of the bar . so go on ,go and enjoy and dont forget to have a camel ride in the mountains

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Me and my Husband atyed here for a week in July...Hotel is immaculate, staff are over friendly and the rooms are nup to scratch, everything and MORE you could expect form a 3 Star!
the food was great good choice everynight and morning...you dont even have to move from your seat in the evening to get a drink as the waiters are happy to serve you, if you leave them a small tip they look after you all week!
Drinks prices in the hotel are very reasonable and good quality, pints are in teh Huge old style pint pots and wine comes by the bottle (small of course)
the beach is beautiful and no problem getting a sunbed, beach bar is great very reasonable priced and again waiter service on teh drink, this hotel gives the sort ofd service you would expect from a 4 star!
my Granddaughter was staying in Yasmine Hammamet in an Iberostar 4 star and when she came to vist us at the Bel Azur she said the Bel Azur was much better that their 4 star Hotel.
Hammamet its self is very busy with big Medina and Bazars but you really do not need to go out the hotel.
Bewear of the locals trying to Con you by sayinhg do you remember me from your Hotel? trying to get you into their shop but Tunisai its self is very mythery but dont let it put you off as its a beautiful place.
There are not many bars outside of your Hotel so it is hard to get a drink anywhere apart form your Hoptel due to their religion.
I would reccomend this Hotel to Everyone mainly older couples and familes

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Me and my partner had never been to tunisia before, but we had nothing to worry about on this holiday, the hotel is just a 20 minute walk from the centre of hammament (you can get a taxi for 3 dinars- we just walked tho) the hotel is a bit dated but that did not bother us. Rooms a good size and we got a sea room which is an amazing view! the rooms and hotel were spotless, always maids cleaning, and towels changed when you want them. Food was nice, provided something for everyone- there is other places if you fancy a change or a meal out just across the road. Overall staff were friendly, waiters certainly took care of us when at the pool getting us drinks etc (bit hard to get there attention at supper time tho so were sitting there with our food and no drink!)

Reception staff were not the best - On arrival, we got checked in and then they handed us our key but we had to find the room ourselves, not a problem for me but some would not like this. Other staff fine, pool is good size and was clean. hotel is a few steps from the beach which is georgous! would def go back!! excellent value for money!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bel Azur Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Azur Thalassa

Address: Avenue Ibn Fourat Boite Postale 13, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel Azur Thalassa 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bel Azur Thalassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Azur Thalassa Hotel
Bel Azur Thalassa Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bel Azur Thalassa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.