We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barraket Essahel, B.P 58 | Hmmamet Sud- Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Hammamet
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Having been to Tunisia many times before, we knew that you have to make allowances when you holiday there. For example, you have to recognise that the Hotel 'star' rating system is not meant to provide a direct comparator with hotels across the world. Star ratings in Europe are determined by local government agencies or independent organizations, and they vary greatly from country to country. In fact, star ratings in Europe can also vary from city to city within the same country, and even between hotels in the same city. In other words, there is no uniform measure that determines a hotel's star rating. So as long as you don't go expecting the same level of luxury of, say, the 5 star Waldorf Hilton in London from a beach front hotel in a third world country (let's face it you couldn't stay room only in a London 5 star for the price of two weeks all inclusive here), you'll have a great time.

We were amongst the last of the Thompson 'Couples Only' customers - we understand that it future it will be marketed as recommended for Adults, and that seems sensible. Whilst there is a small children's activity area and pool, as other reviewers have pointed out, the hotel seems more geared to adults. The food was varied and of good quality/presentation, and the staff friendly and helpful. We had a garden room view, which was bathed in early morning sun, and was nice and cool in the evening. It was a substantially sized room, the bed comprising two double mattresses! Like the hotel itself, some of the furniture looks a little dated, but it's not shabby. We were generally on the beach by 7:30 each morning, and whilst there was some towels on sunbeds nonsense, it didn't matter because people were coming down mid-morning and having no problem getting a good spot. Having walked both up and down the beach 1/2 hour each way I can assure you that the Hotel has the prime spot in this stretch. All areas of the hotel were kept really clean, and whilst there was some rubbish along the beach, it was cleared occasionally. Evening entertainment was generally man & keyboard coupled with either man with saxophone, or female singer. To be honest I could have done without any of it - if you go to your local pub/restaurant you don't necessarily expect to be entertained - but that's my personal preference. The usual selection of European tourists, mostly polite and friendly. There was no loud or 'loutish' behaviour, just the occasional queue jumping which regrettably you have to expect these days apparently - oh, and they are insistent on long trousers at dinner.

Great holiday, weather superb, two weeks of cloudless skies. Recommended (to adults only).

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view if you want to...garden room view 'uninspiring' but, hey, how often d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    157
    44
    19
    8
See reviews for
110
450
26
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We found the staff here to be of the highest standard, very friendly and knowledgeable. You can just relax in the foyer/bar of the hotel as the seats are very comfortable and the bar area has a very grand presence.

There is evening entertainment everyday. Two outdoor pools and one indoor pool.

Taxis are inexpensive and so its a quick ride to the marina. Rooms are huge!

Breakfast does custom fresh pancakes which are wonderful.

Room Tip: Stay on a pool facing room, not on the ground floor, as the balcony's are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The best holiday ever - fantastic hotel / staff / resort.
We spent a brilliant week at this hotel, the place was spacious, rooms were large, great selection of food in the resturant.
I don't think we could fault this holiday at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This reviw is to outline our utter disappointment with regard to the holiday:

We query the 5* rating of this hotel. We have stayed in numerous 5* hotels throughout the world, indeed travelling with you in April to the Premier Le Reve hotel in Hurghada. This hotel is not 5*. The hotel provided no bell boys or concierge services which we would expect. There was no consideration for late arrival such as a late supper although we were all inclusive (even room service had ceased). Any good service within the hotel had to be proceeded with a tip, sometimes considerable.

Facilities: the beach was utterly appalling, it had piles of rubbish and detritus mixed throughout the beach area consisting of plastic, camel and horse manure etc. and to top it all the beach bar staff were extremely rude and lazy.

The gym within the hotel was extremely poor: this is a facility we specifically required, the equipment was poorly maintained with some pieces out of order, there were no gym towels, the cups for the water fountain were shared and there was no onsite supervision / monitoring of clientele. (My partner is a qualified fitness instructor in the UK and was appalled at the lack of supervision and management of the equipment).

The hotel provides an onsite bank due to Tunisia having a closed currency but at least twice whilst there they ran out of currency, this not only caused us problems on one of our trips but also made the issue of tipping even more paramount.

The entertainment was dire especially in the evenings and the animation team are incredibly poor.

As for "all inclusive", this was not the case. The pool bar provided a very good range of food for lunchtime however we were charged for this, all inclusive should mean just that, also coffee on the beach was chargeable but not around the pool! Just not consistent.

If you went for an early breakfast (as we did several times) there were no drinks even just water available until 10.30, all inclusive should mean 24/7 not when they choose to open the bars.

Considering we paid over £3000 for this holiday it was just not worth it. This is one of the worst holidays we have ever taken and even more disappointing was the fact that we rarely take more than a 7-day break and decided to extend this particular holiday, we very much wish we hadn’t.

and the icing on the cake was to find a cockroach in our case when unpacking, we have no idea whether there was more than one!

Room Tip: Don't Go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth Northumberland England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from a week here with my daughter 19.What a fabulous hotel-super rooms.Food was excellent-we were all inclusive-bit of a pain having to sign chitties every time you ordered drinks-Staff were lovely-very chatty and friendly-daughter found some a bit over friendly-good job she had mum as minder!!!!Beach area lovely-we only had one walk along it however as she was followed by local boys trying to chat her up and it made her uncomfortacle.The pool area was lovely and apart from when water aerobics on,very quiet-no hastle getting sunbeds and shade as plentiful.Went on zulu trip and thoroughly enjoyed the animal park-meal Ok with entertainment-very hot wandering around though.Would defo go back for a week to ten days-think 2 weeks would be too long unless you did a few trips.Well reccommend paying to use VIP area at airport-airconditioned,get drinks and a sandwich then when boarding straight through no queue and escorted to boarding desk.

Room Tip: We were in 403 and only slight negative was noise from next door hotel which went on til 11.30 but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Have just returned from holiday with my daughter (mid 20s), really enjoyed the relaxing quietness of the hotel, exactly why we had chosen a couples hotel. Food, waiters and restaurant were great especially the seafood. We were made to feel that it was important that we enjoyed our dining experience which we did. The towel man on the beach also made our stay feel unpressured with his attention to us as soon as we went on the beach. He worked really long hours but always spoke and smiled and found us a spot. Would have been nice to have light snacks and coffee at the beach bar. Purely drinks.
Rooms a little dated but comfortable. Little evening entertainment but that didn't bother us.
Although I had been contacted by Thomson 2 days prior to our hols regarding the hotel changing to a mainstream hotel I was assured that during my stay children would not be there. Just a few were.
Also was a little amazed that one of the gazebos was constantly reserved for for 'the boss' holiday makers were told they could not use that particular gazebo.
had a couple of issues that I've e mailed thomsons about, just waiting for a response.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went half board in the first week of August. Nice hotel, pool area very nice & beach & beach bar good too. A bit to quite in the evening for us, it would have been nice to have had the beach bar or pool bar open in the evenings. Waiters in bar & restaurant very good & no need to tip every time.
Main restaurant very nice food, but beware the Smiling Assasin (the head waiter) he likes everything his way & he was less than helpfull when trying to book Al La Carte restraunts. He was all faulse smiles but dont let this put you off nice hotel & 99% of staff very genuin.
Walked along beach to Yasmine (30mins) nice Harbour & Medina for shops & food. Taxi back about 5 Dinar but make sure driver puts meter on.
All in all i would recomend for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet

Address: Barraket Essahel, B.P 58 | Hmmamet Sud- Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Hammamet-Jinene * Situated on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 4-storey building surrounded by 70,000 m2 of gardens * 8 km from Hammamet's old quarter * 2 km from various shops * 60/95 km from the Tunis/Monastir airports * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.