We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hols” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Averroes

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Averroes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Averroes
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 128 hotels in Hammamet
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Happy hols”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I loved this hotel. Lovely reception, friendly staff. Gorgeous building mix of Arab and modern. It felt like a small hotel, relaxed atmosphere. There is a great little shop in the hotel and a market for gifts sets up on the lawn once a week. all very cheap and lots of authentic local made nice things. Our room had sea view, nice and clean also modern and comfortable. Really nice bathroom with shower over bath. Shower had plenty pressure and lots of hot water. The bath was great too filled very quickly and also lots of hot water. Housekeeping came round every day to do rooms.

I enjoyed the buffet meals. Breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, not many places do it, usually diluted stuff. There was a really good variety of food, always plenty choice and lots of it and always hot. The waiters were excellent, made us feel welcome and made you feel special that they kept you your favourite table and brought out your usual drinks very promptly. Waiting staff work hard and the atmosphere is lovely efficient service always with a smile.

We enjoyed the pool area where the sunbeds are placed with lots of space between them, it doesn't feel like we're all packed and its a very well kept lawn lawn. We especially enjoyed fussing the hotels gentle dog since we were missing ours. Such a nice natured dog, we got a wagging tail and a quick fuss then she settled herself in the nearby shade under a tree. The pool was lovely, there were regular activities throughout the day. Because of the shape of the pool there is plenty room to just swim or just float about while activities go on and the pool bar is great. The waiters in the pool bar are lovely, they make great cocktails. I wish they could wear sunglasses though for the glare from the water it must be uncomfortable. I only went in the sea once it didn't seem very clean. I walked along the beach past some other hotels, nice walk but hard work on such soft sand.

It's not the hotels fault, there are strict rules about the currency. Reception and your rep will tell you. Took us ages to spend the last of our money at airport shop before security area. Could barely carry the stuff it was so much. That was only the equivalent of £20 and that was after tips at hotel.

We will definitely return to this hotel, feel like we've found a little gem. Every member of staff from the manager to the gardeners put so much effort into making your stay special. I think I always say this, 'best holiday yet'! Certainly been very lucky again : ))) lots of pics to follow

Room Tip: I always ask for upper floor. If the air on is no good we can open windows. Aircon was great here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    429
    185
    86
    48
See reviews for
429
606
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very good hotel, recommendable, everything is as it should. The staff is very helpful and friendly, they are trying improve your stay as they can. Every small and big problem is quickly solved.
The Animation Team do the best work there!! Can`t imagine this hotel without them! Since every morning they start daily activities: stretching, volleyball, darts, pool games and more others. They always have an activity going on that will appeal to someone. They were brilliant, the amount of languages they speak is amazing! Mimo and Titi - thank you for your constant smile and positive energy!:*
The food was very good, everyone can find something for ourselves from a big variety of dishes.
The Averroes is one of the few hotels to have direct access to the beach and it's an easy 20 minutes stroll along the sea front to the Marina.
Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent stay at the hotel....Food not so good but am fussy when it comes to eating.

Lovely clean and massive rooms and the staff are fantastic...Animation team brilliant!!!!!

Lovely beach and pool...pool bar was lovely also the people that took perfessional photos are great!!! hotel friendly to children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel was lovely... especially the swimming pool!

We paid for a seaview room which I would say is really worth it and had an extra room (like a livingroom area) that we didnt use but which might have been useful for a family.

The food was nice, as people have said before, a little repetative but there was enough variety for 1 week for sure.

The service was varied. We found some very pleasant staff members while others were quite rude. In the end this didnt really affect our time but I thought it was worth mentioning.

The animation team were very active but not too pushy which was great. They all worked very hard!

The resort, personally I wouldnt go back as the marina is nothing special, and the walk there is horrible with EVERY shop keeper stopping you as you go past (literally getting in your way). I have been to Turkey and Egypt before but I had never experienced anything like this. My advice, stay in the hotel!

We bought 2 excursions through thomsons before travelling and they were very worth it! one to El Jem which was fantastic and the other to the capital Tunis, so much history there!

Overall, nice holiday due to the hotel, excursions, pool and beach (which wasnt always clean, but when it was it was lovely) but I wouldnt recommend the resort of yasmine hammamet.

p.s. Watch out for the flower boys, one crossed the line and stuffed flowers down my top. They are dangerous and will do anything. AND the trick of "dont you remember me? I work at your hotel" they will guess your hotel because of your all inclusive wristband. ignor them

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberddin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

we have just come back from a 10 day holiday June 2013 .
when we arrived at the hotel the lobby area was bright and spacious and clean, then we got to our room that's were things started to go downhill the rooms are outdated and in need of seriously decorating the walls were covered in dirt and hand-prints when we complained we was shown three rooms before we could find a room that was half decent and no air conditionnig. We went to the restaurant on the first night and the food was lukewarm and there is a lack of variety in the food day by day. We felt we couldn't go down to the beach without getting hassled by sellers on the beach. The animation team made our holiday if it was not for them the holiday would have been unbearable we wish to thank all the animation team for all there hard-work

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel for your holidays and for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.

We are sorry to hear your comments related to your room as your description is clearly not to our company’s standards, and are happy to hear that our hotel gave you a wide alternative of choices, however as per our cleanliness and hygiene standards, our housekeeping reports any failure in the room to our technical department in order to ensure nice and spotless accommodations to all our guests, we lament to hear that apparently it was not the case at your arrival.
Further, our Chefs work in accordance with our company’s high quality standards related to food preparation and they do their best to offer a wide choice of Tunisian delights and international cuisine in order to guarantee a variety of dishes and please all palates; further, this hotel participates in the new concept of “Dine Around” in collaboration with our other IBEROSTAR hotels within the Hammamet area, proposing thematic menus ranging from Asian, Italian, Mediterranean and Mexican cuisine to offer an alternative to the buffet meals in our main restaurant.
On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out our animation staff, at IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining shows are part of the real holiday feeling and it is wonderful to hear how much this contributed to your overall experience whilst among us, we will definitely congratulate the team on your behalf.
Finally, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to may serve you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost caring dedication.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds west yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

by far the best choice of hotels of iberostar in the area although 4 stars it is right on the beach and you are able to walk to the marina and other facilities perfect location. the staff are the very best in all aspects and could not be faulted in looking after you wherever you may be in the hotel or by the pool. the animation team are excellent and work tirelessly to entertain and amuse you.would recommend without doubt this hotel to all

Room Tip: sea facing on the third floor counting the ground floor as 1 our room was 3009
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just returned from 8 days at Averroes (our 5th trip to Tunisia). The hotel was new to us and this was a super holiday.

The hotel and staff could not be faulted. We found that both management and staff responded well to all queries and requests.

We would not like to single out any of the staff for mention as it would be unfair on the others..

We had a lovely room that was thoroughly cleaned each day. My wife likes early morning tea, so we took a small travel kettle. There are no kettles in the room. The bathroom was really great with good water pressure and lots of hot water. Clean towels and soaps daily.

The proximity of the pool to the Med was another plus. All these areas were well cleaned daily. From our balcony we could see the army of cleaners and gardeners preparing early each morning.

As with most resorts you do get sunbed hoggers who seem to get up at the crack of dawn to "reserve" their sunbeds and then disappear for most of the day but there are more than ample sunbeds. The hotel cannot be blamed for this as it has become an endemic problem in the whole tourist industry.

Being all inclusive, we went through a fortune of water as well as other drinks, but it was too hot to consume too much alcohol. The poolside cocktails were most enjoyable.

They do have FREE wireless that was not always easy to get onto as it was congested at peak times due to the volume of users, but we connected regularly.

We will return and recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view near the lifts. Being in the over 50 group we preferred the sunbeds furthest fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Averroes

Address: Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Averroes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel offers stupendous Hammamet vacations throughout the year. This 4-star all-inclusive Tunisian resort is the perfect spot for holidaying with children or for a couple's escape to the Mediterranean. With 242 Double Rooms, 7 Junior Suites, 7 Senior Suites, and 2 huge meeting rooms, perfect for your big event, this top hotel and spa is ideal for celebrations or trips to the alluring country of Tunisia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Averroes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.