We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Averroes

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Averroes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Averroes
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 128 hotels in Hammamet
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

enjoyed every minute from stepping in through the front door. Lovely clean hotel where all the staff were friendly and helpful. Lots to do every day thanks to the animation team. Would definitely go back again. Food was excellent!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    703
    429
    185
    86
    48
See reviews for
428
606
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic staff and hotel in a lovely resort. This is one of the few hotels in Jasmine Hammamet with direct access to the beach and from waht we saw looking around, is definitely the hotel to choose in the hammamet area. Service is superb and the the staff fantastic. The pool is second to none and the food excellent. We stayed 10 days in March/April and in that time several people moved from other hotels to the averroes, even from ones rated 5 star and all agreed this hotel is far superior. We recommend upgrading to a sea view room on arrival for about £8 per night. The view is worth it! Things to do are numerous. We recommend taking the train to Tunis, carthage and sidi-bou-said. All fantastic and easily doable in a day on your own. The 2 day sahara trip is brilliant and bookable in resort, its 2 long days but you get to see things you might struggle to see with limited time. Hammamet can be reached walking along the beach or by bus in 15 minutes for about 30 pence each. The pirate ship, sultan 2, is also a great few hours and the rep, Mohammed, a great character. Thanks to everyone for a suprisingly good, and interesting holiday.

Room Tip: upgrade on arrival to sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable hotel, very clean and excellent restaurant staff. But, we went during the Easter holidays and the pool bar was closed, as was the outside eating area, and half the hotel. It was lovely and quiet but there was only one bar, inside, and service round the pool was slow at best and non existent a lot of the time. I'm sure it will be very different during the summer months, but I wouldn't go before may/June if you want the best out of the hotel.
Kids club and entertainment staff were great and worked very hard. Restaurant staff were also very welcoming and looked after everyone brilliantly. Rooms were spacious and really lovely big balconies.
Good selection of food and there is a speciality restaurant which you can book 24 hours in advance. It has different themed nights, including Italian and Asian, and doesn't cost any extra. It is a lovely, peaceful room, but it is a set menu and the food wasn't as good as the main restaurant. You can go as often as you like.
Reception staff were not very helpful. There was a severe lack of information, and they let us down on a number of occasions. You have to pay a deposit for towels, which are the size of tea towels, so take your own! You will also need to pay for your safe, about 20 pounds for a week. We weren't told about this until reception asked us for our money when we checked out. I would have been happy with the level of service and facilities if it was 3 star, but it should certainly not be rated higher than that. They charge to use the gym, and most of the equipment was broken.
You can't get hold of Tunisian dinar before you get out there but people are happy to accept sterling for tips! You also can't bring Tunisian money home, or spend it on duty free in their airport, so good idea to think about how much you will need.
Most things outside the hotel were closed but that is because Easter is obviously outside of their peak season. There are a few touristy shops along the sea front, and a couple of bars, although drinking is not in the Tunisian culture and they are only open to cater for tourists. The medina is a nice shopping and eating area and really close, where you can smoke a sheesha pipe. Shops are really cheap, and I'm sure the marina area is nice in peak season. There are a couple of clubs but they were closed this time of year.
We went to el Jem one day, on the local Tunisian train, which cost £5 each for a 100km journey. It was fun and really easy to use. Even easier way to get around is to get a shared taxi, which are white with a red stripe, and really cheap. El Jem is worth seeing, like the colosseum in Rome.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on your Easter holiday at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel in Tripadvisor, we strongly believe that listening to our guests is the clue to success.
We are sorry to hear your disappointment related to the pool bar and restaurant’s terrace being closed most of the time during your stay but as the outdoor temperature was low and the climate uncertain, as it is always during this period of the year, we weren’t able to guarantee a full service by our outdoor amenities.
Further it is very unfortunate to read that you weren’t properly informed about the safe at the time of check in, our reception normally gives complete information about the use of the facilities in the hotel and a flyer with the restaurant’s opening hours, bars etc… we apologize if this wasn’t the case during your stay and will pass on your comment to the head of reception to ensure that all the useful information is provided at every guest’s arrival; nevertheless we would like to suggest that for any upcoming holiday with us, you have a look at our website where you will find all the information needed to prepare your holiday.
On the other hand, we are proud to read that you had the opportunity to appreciate all of our prime pillars being, a varied and high quality gastronomy offer thoroughly prepared by our professional Chefs and giving our guests the possibility to try the typical Tunisian cuisine and a varied assortment of international dishes as well; The kindness of our staff and their guest oriented service, clean and comfortable in and out door installations and finally a varied animation program, including different sports and leisure activities throughout the day and entertaining shows at night.
Last but not least it is very enjoyable to read that you took the opportunity to visit the country and use the local facilities to travel across Tunisia, el Djem is truly worth a visit as you well say, Mahdia being the home to some of the most impressive Roman remains in Africa.
Once again, many thanks for choosing IBEROSTAR for your holidays, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to may serve you again in our hotels worldwide.
Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my time at averroes. the animation team was excellent i enjoyed the shows every night. the buffet style menu was very good they have a variety of food to choose from which was great. i would recommend this holiday to everyone .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

having only ever gone to spain prior to meeting my wife i was unsure what to expect but had great time can't wait to return. staff friendly and helpful. avoid the cedradine however or will have scene from the hangover

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlaston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have been to Tunisia once before not a good holiday. But after arriving to the Averroes hotel what can I say the best hotel and holiday we have had in a long time.
The staff here are the most helpful, nothing to much trouble for them to help rooms kept immaculate . Going back in October, best ever place to go thanks to all the staff and people we meet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

me and my boyfriend stayed her 24/3/13- 31/3/13! because of the snow back home we got delayed so ended up missing a full day of our holiday! we had 5/7 days sunny so csme hone with a pritty good tan! the weather is better than whats its saying on a iphone! hotel is massive with big rooms! seprate bath and toilet which is brill! pool is anazing, by far the best thing about the hotel!! staff are lovely and very helpful to. we ate out 2 nights of the week, we had the mexican from another hotel (in with your all inclusive) and then thomas cook put on a car for you to take you to this amazing restrauant, bu far the best food iv ever had!! the car waits for you then brings you home (free of charge) there was a lack of things to do at night after dinner the entertainment was poor and nothing outside of the hotel apart from a english bar! (ownd by a liverpool lady). we went to the Medina... worse mistake ever!! talk about hasseling and begging! we just walked straight back out after a tunisian local order 10 dinar off us for taking our picture on MY phone! very scary place that was(we didnt return). over all a lovely hotel and staff but stay away from the medina if u dont want to loose all your money and s**t your pants lol!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Averroes

Address: Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Averroes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel offers stupendous Hammamet vacations throughout the year. This 4-star all-inclusive Tunisian resort is the perfect spot for holidaying with children or for a couple's escape to the Mediterranean. With 242 Double Rooms, 7 Junior Suites, 7 Senior Suites, and 2 huge meeting rooms, perfect for your big event, this top hotel and spa is ideal for celebrations or trips to the alluring country of Tunisia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Averroes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.