We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Azur Thalasso Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Azur Thalasso Golf to your Saves list
Royal Azur Thalasso Golf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ave Assad Ibn El Fourat | BP 13, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 126 Hotels in Hammamet
Southampton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Impressive Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed here a long time ago and travelled in April, so the weather wasn't amazing. Was working for a holiday company at the time and they arranged for me to stay at this hotel.
It was an impressive place, clean, good food, great pool. Had a night club too.
Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    94
    43
    28
    43
See reviews for
42
121
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We visited this hotel for the fifth time in June to celebrate my 50Th Birthday and had a wonderful time. Despite all the problem that Tunisia has faced this year we had no problems at all and were treated very well by all the staff.
On arrival we were given a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice and after filling in a registration form were shown to the room that we had requested. One of the first things that we noticed was that all the carpets in the corridors had been replace with nice new ones which made a big difference. The room was covered in flowers and spotlessly clean.
Due to the reduced number of visitors to Tunisia the Hotel was very quiet which suited us just fine, never a problem getting a sunbed by the pool or on the beach. The beach is a short walk through the very pretty gardens and has toilet an shower facilities and a beach bar. We did notice that some of the sand had been washed away to reveal some rocky bits but over all the beach is good with free sun-loungers, mattresses and towels.
The food was overall good especially the breakfast, plenty of choice and lovely to be able to eat it outside on the terrace(a real treat). The waiters and restaurant managers are great and always make sure you have everything you need.
We went another hotel in Port El Kantaoui last year which just made us appreciate the Royal Azur even more. We have already booked to go back in September and can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

First of all we had a serious check in problem with this hotel group. They are 3 hotels together in a complex. We booked our room via Expedia, but when arrived there they said they don't see the reservation. After a struggle lasted more than 1 hour, we finally moved into our room.
Our holiday was good later in general. I should say that we enjoyed it! But, considering their "welcome" torture and the service in general, I must say that it is not a real five-star hotel. By the way internet is a disaster! May be it is like that all around Tunisia, I don't know.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We arrive lunchtime on Sunday the room allocated was dirty & smelly. After asking to change rooms the Manager showed us a further three before we found one that was reasonable - even then the fridge had to be replaced (due to dirty state & stains) as did the TV which was badly scratched. The air conditioning control was broken & replaced as was the bidet as it was broken & loose. The bed sheets had stains on them! The Manager asked us to allow them to do a "Deep Clean" & given that we had no way of contacting Thomas Cook we agreed. To be fair when we went back into the room there was a vast improvement. The corridor carpets were badly stained - the Thomas Cook rep told us it was due to the wrong glue - rubbish if thats true the so is the Tooth Fairy Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny. The decor throughout the hotel was badly marked, light bulbs were missing, fire doors wedge open & the glass in the lift had the same stains on all week. The indoor pool showers had black mold & I dread to think what was in the water. The hotel is in desperate need of an update & refurbishment. - DON'T GO!!.
But in fairness the polite & helpful of the staff did make a difference unfortunatley they are flogging a dead cause!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We only booked the holiday on the Saturday before we left on the Wednesday. Like many of you I used trip advisor, so here goes! Lovely hotel, very impressive as you walk in. We hadn't paid for a sea view, but requested it and yes we got it, beautiful outlook, both day and night. We were advised that that it wasn't suitable for under 12's, which was right, can be a bit quite, but there is a sister hotel next door, which has livelier night life, there is also a night club down the road (2 minutes walk). The hotel reaches onto a lovely beach, with 2 large rocks in front; this is where the snorkelling is good with lovely little colourful fishes. The food was really good, I had read a previous comment and they had mentioned that it was much the same. The variety was very good and tasty, but none of us are fussy eaters. There are pancakes and omelettes in the morning made fresh as you wait, I recommend that you fill up at breakfast and then it see you through to the evening meal. Excursions: We did 3 excursions, the first to Slide and Shop, nice day, but the slides aren't as good as we had been to before in Turkey and Portugal. Also they close parts of the park down during the day, which was disappointing. We didn't go shopping. At the park you can have a henna tattoo, make sure you barter the price, as we paid half the amount as other people having them done. Also take some allergy tablets, as my son had a reaction. Second excursion was to the African dream, you arrived about 3.30 where you walk around the zoo, and then made our way to the large building at 6 where we had a lovely 3 course meal and as much red wine as you could drink, whilst watching the Zulu dancers and belly dancers. We finished at 8, although we were told by our rep that it finished an hour later (she is following this up). Third excursion was 2 days to the Sahara, I can not recommend this trip enough, if you want to see Tunisia, this is a trip not to be missed. We travelled 1,200km in 2 days, never in the coach longer than 1½. The scenery is stunning, we rode the Dromedary as the sunset and we were on the Salt lakes when the sun rose. The hotel we stayed at overnight was very good and so was the food. The places we visited were all worth visiting, I couldn’t fault anything; our tour guide was brilliant, giving us lots of history to the country and lots of general information. We did see a lot of poverty, there was one point of the trip that we saw lots of people in the sea; I thought they were collecting shell fish, but when we asked the guide, it was women doing their weekly laundry. The 3 main meals through the day was included in the price and for £90 per person it was very good value and the experience that you gained made the holiday. When you are visiting Tunisia in October just be aware that it can rain quite a bit, for 4 days previous to us arriving it had been stormy, we were lucky as it only rained in the later part of one of our days. My only little gripe is that you had to pay to use the tennis courts and they also have a lovely swimming pool overlooking the sea that you have to pay for, which is £15 each. However there are 2 more pools, one indoor and one outdoor, the outdoor is not heated. Otherwise a super holiday, well worth visiting Tunisia.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

After booking the Diar Lemdina in Jasmine Hammamet we were told it was over booked & up graded to the Royal Azur in Hammamet. This Hotel was absolutely beautiful, the staff were so helpful & attentive, the only complaint we had was that after being there a week the food was changed to accomadate the germans & french.for three days we ate out in the supposedly best restaurants in Jasmine Hammamet near the marina, they were both disgusting( the steak house & the la romana ). We complained to the the Matradee in the hotel & he personally aranged meals of our choice for us for the rest of our vaccation. We went on the African & Zoo trip which was very good, the park keepers went into the cheetahs & took close up photos of them for us for 1 Dinar. the Zulu dancers were very entertaining & the food was typically Tunisian & really good. Places to visit in the evenings are Shakespears bar, which have drag artists on a Tuesday & Fryday, reallly funny nite out, also the View Bar in jasmine hammamet, brilliant Kareoke, & best English chips in Tunisia, Ask for the bar lad Hannish, he is such a lovely young lad ( aright commedian ) & sammy the DJ. beware of their sizes in clothes as they are different from ours, the Market in Nabaul on a Fryday is really good but avoid the madinas in Hammamet & Jasmine Hammamet as the men can be very pushy & rude.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Portugal, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

A backdated review!! Stayed year 2 years running...2008 and 2009.
Hotel a little faded, but this was more than made up for by the fantastic service.
Staff friendly, attentive and professional.
Beach amazing... lunch experience out of this world.
We got seduced into trying another hotel in Hammamet in Sept. of this year and were sorry we didn`t just stick with the Royal Azur.
That`ll teach us! It will be the Royal for us in future!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Azur Thalasso Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Azur Thalasso Golf

Address: ave Assad Ibn El Fourat | BP 13, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Azur Thalasso Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Azur Thalasso Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Azur Thalasso Golf Hotel Hammamet
Royal Azur Thalasso Hotel
Royal Azur Thalasso Hammamet
Royal Azur Hammamet
Royal Azur Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Azur Thalasso Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.