We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no way a 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Hammamet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Mouradi Hammamet to your Saves list
El Mouradi Hammamet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone touristique Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 124 Hotels in Hammamet
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“no way a 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

we went for christmas and arrived christmas eve. we were given a room with a small window and no balcony. the hotel was very shabby with worn carpets and well in need of redecorating. there was 2 long black hairs in our bathroom that stayed there all week. the bidet was cracked. the food was of very poor standard and was always cold. there is one microwave for the whole hotel. the table manners of some of the guests was disgusting. it was every man for himself. no one queued up for food. it was the tallest with the longest arms who got fed. one man was getting ice cream and because he could not get the scoop he used a spoon. but the ice cream was hard so he warmed the spoon in his mouth before helping himself to it. i felt sorry for the waiters as the tables were left covered in fish heads and rice food all over the floors. the sight of the debris left made you dreading going into the restaurant. the rep from sunshine holidays said she was sick of putting in reports about this but nothing was ever done. i will not be going here again especially during the local peoples holidays.

Room Tip: floor 4 looked cleaner and the carpets were not as threadbare
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    178
    152
    88
    122
See reviews for
182
252
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

staff at thishotel tried to charge me one more night during my staying in 2008 it's really a nightmare
food is soo crappy
worst service i ever seen

Room Tip: just go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is written from MR and Mrs White from Wigan. We spent our weeks holiday this october 15th -22nd .Well what can we say .We arrived late due to the plane being delayed.When we arrived we were tired and was hungry .On arrivel at our hotel we were made most wellcome by all the staff .They opened the dinning room for us all so we could freshen up then go and have something to eat and drink .Found the staff very plesent and helpfull .The rooms were big and had everything we needed . After reading some of the reviews before we went we was unsure on what to expect .We droped lucky with our room but other couple we spoke to was,nt but they did change there room for them.The food was fine ok there may have been lots of the same things on each day but there was lots of other things you could have instead .We had no problem at all about the food .The bar staff looked after us a small tip at the beging of the holiday and you wanted for nothing .My husband and i would go back to this hotel again had a great time .The entertainment was ok as well .The prize of the holiday was good value indeed.We would also recomend going on the pirate boat sultan 11 but to get it cheaper look round we payed ten pounds each and it was the best trip ever .You get what you pay for and it was great value for the money.The reviews about the airline were nothing like they had put {tunnisan airline}there was a good amount of leg room and the staff were fine ok the sandwhich wasnt up to much but you didnt need to eat it .The meal on the way back was fine and the staff were helpfull so we cant fault that . We must be easy please are is it some people just look for the worst all the time are bring the worst out in people .If you are nice to them they are nice to you

Room Tip: 2nd floor over looking the pool room 271
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana,Slovenia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed there on July 2009. The hotel complex is very big. A lot's of rooms, swiming pool,a broken fitness, and also a inner swimnig pool.The hotel is 4 star, but ofcourse it isn't. It's more like 3 or 2 and 3/4. Stayed in double bed private room. The room was very big and it has a balcony. Our view was on the other hotel, and if you leaned your head on left you would see the ocean as well. We had shower and WC in the room, with TV, that didn't catch any useful programs. There was only 2 Tunisian programs....so the room was OK,and it was clean. But be aware, that you must have all your money, documents with you, or in a safe box.
We had AI, so there was food , drink for free allways and everywhere you want, ofcourse in hotel complex. I realy needed to get away from there for a bear in a bar, because i had enough of that complex and free beers and food and....
Breakfast, lunch and dinner was allways on time and it was very,very good and very decorative and a lot's of differend food, sweets,vegetables....The hotel was in general good for money we have payed. I recomend it, it is not so bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

my first ever review, but felt I had to as so many had given it a bad review.
1. flight .
we were delayed, but otherwise everything was fine and efficient 3/5
2. transfers
old minibus , but so what, it got us to the hotel safely within 1 hour 3/5
3. hotel
very clean and spacious 5/5
4.staff
all the staff we came into contact with were great 5/5
5.rooms
both our rooms were spacious, cleaned every day, great sea view, FREE safe, 5/5
6 food
we were all inclusive, food was plentiful in the buffet . Lots of things you wouldnt recognize, ( but we were in north africa ). if you didnt like it you go and get something different. I did have to use the microwave 1 day but so what, thats what it is for. Lots of freshly cooked food, omelettes for breakfast, pasta, pizza and other(such as fish ) at lunch or dinner, and pancakes. plenty of salad, fruit and desserts too 5/5
7. Drinks
small beer, yes, but they soon get you another one, cocktails gin, vodka etc fine 4/5
8. tips
We never felt we had to give tips, but we did in small measures 3/5
9. private beach
Great beach. We are not really beach people but we went down most days as we enjoyed it. We parasailed, kayaked, swam and people watched while sunbathing great!
plenty of pedlars , but a stern no and they were off. Do try the nuts though ( 50p for a bag ) delicious 5/5
10.Resort 3/5
maybe a bit tired, but it has all you need
there is haggling at the shops, but you dont have to. there are plenty of fixed price shops too
11. trips
We went to Nabeul market by taxi ( only about £8 for half an hour ) 4/5
Zoo and zulu show. good value , not bad food, brilliant energetic show . we also did a camel ride there as it is only 10 mins. we didnt fancy a long camel ride. great 4/5
horse and carriage . we went on a cinderella carriage and waved like royalty . made people laugh great fun ( £10 for about 15 mins ) 4/5

Overall a really good holiday, we enjoyed every day

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have just returned from a 7 night all-inclusive stay at the El Mouradi Hammamet. After reading some awful reviews we were very apprehesive! Within a couple of days we knew that we had nothing to worry about.

We had room 210; it was large, clean and serviced daily. There was a distant thud of the club but as I wear earplugs it didn't bother me at all. There is a free safe and you should use it as a standard holiday precaution. Air conditioning could have been better. It's a beautiful sea view from the spacious balcony.

The food was very good. Usually hot enough, plenty of choice and tasty. Don't expect good ol' English grub- you are in an international hotel in north africa! Stay open minded, try new things and you'll be pleasantly suprised! It was reguarly replenished.

The staff, on the whole, were very friendly. They responded best if you smiled and said "hello" or "Bonjour". A lot of the guests don't seem to engage with the staff and then complain about unfriendlyness. Waiters are human too!

As for tipping, it was never expected from the staff. We gave tips for good service- 1-2 Dinars (50p-£1) and a few more on the last day to the most helpful staff. The pool staff, animation team, reception staff were all efficient and friendly enough. We never waited too long for service in the hotel. Which is at odds to the normal waiting around you do in this laid back country!

I would recommend all inclusive as the resort is quiet and dining out seemed a little limited. For the little extra to get all inclusive it is worth it, you'll easily spend more if you go B&B or half board.

We booked with just sunshine, special mention to the rep-Sue- she is fantastic! A very knowledgable and experienced rep who gives a thorough and fully relevent welcome meeting and further infomation.

On the El Mouradi beach there is a great security/sun lounger person who keeps an eye on things and gets you comfortable. He keeps an eye on the traders that come along-these traders are OK-they try and temp you; but never forcefully. I would recommend the little bags of sweet nuts, don't pay more than 1 Dinar (50p), they are a lovely little treat.

Overall, don't worry-you'll have a great time! Keep your expectations moderate and you will be very pleasantly suprised. It's not 5* as we would expect, but 4* certainly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

We are still here at the hotel. Our flight home is tomoz.
We came with an open mind, but a little apprehensive because of the bad reviews on here.
The hotel is large, clean and generally has a friendly atmosphere! There's lots of comfy sofas around and bars where you can get a drink/coffee etc. Our room (428) is a good size, with a balcony and great sea views! A Big bathroom, nice decor, fridge and tv. A free safe, where we put all our valuables/cash, as we would anywhere we stay! We can hear the disco thud at night but it hasn't keep us awake! Our room phone didnt work but was fixed soon after we told the reception. On our floor (4th) there is brand new carpet everywhere! We watched the in-house show last night and it was fun; not on a grand scale, only hotel staff dressed up, but enough for us. The food has been good. Salad, meat and fish dishes, veggies, cakes, ice-cream, fruit, fresh pizza, pancakes and various other foods that we havent tried. If it's not hot enough there's a microwave by the tea/coffee. The staff here have been generally friendly and helpful. A smile and a hello go a long way! We haven't felt pressured to tip, but we have for great service! All-in-all, I'd recommend this hotel. The location is great! We got it relatively cheap- all inclusive!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mouradi Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Hammamet

Address: Zone touristique Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Mouradi Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Hammamet Hotel Hammamet
El Mouradi Hotel Hammamet
Hotel El Mouradi Hammamet
Hammamet El Mouradi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Hammamet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.