We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fatma

Fatma
Hammamet, Tunisia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 83 Restaurants in Hammamet
Price range: $23 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate here twice during our stay, the food was excellent and very traditional Tunisian/Med style. We had fish soup, squid, oudja, fish, oven cooked lamb, couscous and seafood to give you an idea of the range of the menu. There were the usual complementary olives and Harissa, we also had some brik there too as an additional extra. The waiter service was excellent very attentive without being in your face and very sociable and friendly, it was also full of locals which is also a good indication of the calibre of the restaurant. The location overlooking the sea was lovely and the food was top quality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NorthEast UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Delightful dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A very good value restaurant in a good location with attentive , professional staff and good food. The resort was quiet but this restaurant always had plenty of customers. We ate here 3 times as it had a great atmosphere and our server Ahmed was a delight, full of fun but always ready with suggestions for our meal. I had the seafood spaghetti which was a starter but could have served 2 as a main.!! The fish soup was also delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Service how it should be - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is an fine example of professional old fashioned waiter service. We ate here 3 times during the week. Ask for Ahmed, who was a joy to watch as he served at table - always joking, bringing out special little treats. and giving tips how the locals eat their harissa and tuna. Situated in old Hammamet opposite the medina it is a must to visit

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, delicious food and good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We actually ate here twice as we very much enjoyed the food and service the first time round. The Menu du Jour was quite cheap (three courses for 12TD) and good wine (cheapest bottle about 13TD). The staff were very attentive, always topping up our glasses, good location, overlooking the sea and the old Medina, probably quite touristy in the high season but fairly quiet when we visited in October. The food was lovely - I had fish - well seasoned and with delicious buttery garlicky vegetables.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Was good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

This was the only one we did outside the hotel..... (we did loadsa things in Tunisia, but tended up end up back eating at the hotel at night. It was just to cheap and good food not to).

In terms of the Fatma, my son had fish dish - excellent. I had Merguez (to keep the price down!!). You could choose between three fish dishes and actually choose the fish you wanted prepared (don't worry, it wasn't swimming in a tank, it had already departed this world...)

Waiting staff very good, able to handle fish correctly, friendly, etc.

Good food, at reasonable price. Nice location - on the main sea-facing road in Hammamet.

Was recommended by another couple who had been there, who also enjoyed it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatma also viewed

Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
 
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
Hammamet, Nabeul Governorate
 

Been to Fatma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.