We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even a "Tunisian 5 Star"!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Gammarth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Mouradi Gammarth to your Saves list
El Mouradi Gammarth
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Marsa | BP 597, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gammarth
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not even a "Tunisian 5 Star"!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for a total of 4 nights on 3 separate occasions whilst on a tour around Tunisia.

Large hotel with its own small beach, that's miles from anywhere, mostly used by groups in November.

Free WiFi in rooms and reception.

The reception and restaurant looked OK, but the tatty bedrooms and bathrooms are in need of major renovation. Some were tiny, others much larger, but all were 2 star at best and most stank of smoke.
We advise that you check the bedding, as we found a massive stain on the sheets one night.

The massive buffet restaurant serves a large range of food for breakfast and dinner and they have 2-3 cooking stations preparing fresh food. However, the buffet items are of variable quality (and warmth) and there is a great deal of jostling to get anything freshly cooked.
Fresh orange juice at breakfast was chargeable.
This was probably the best hotel restaurant on our trip, but that's not saying much!

Overall, it's probably OK for a couple of nights if it fits in with your arrangements / tour, but this is definitely not somewhere to stay for a week or more.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Angu , Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. For the rooms, we have already refurbished many of the rooms with only a few still to be done. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Many thanks, The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    106
    112
    75
    52
See reviews for
70
107
58
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel needs thorough refurbishment: the rooms are shabby and dated. It is certainly NOT 5-star. The rooms are dreary, and the fittings in the bathroom are in an extremely poor state. As other guests have commented, there is not so much as a bottle of water in the room. Does the management not read comments left on this website? Are they too complacent? The worst feature, however, is the

all-night disco at the back of the hotel, which blasts out 'music', making sleep impossible at the weekend.

I stayed at several El Mouradi hotels during a group tour of Tunisia and found them all to be mediocre to bad.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay in this hotel, ask for a room as far as possible from the disco.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Florence, Thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. For the rooms, we have already refurbished many of them with only a few still to be done and the same for the problem of disco already solved. We look forward to welcoming you back with the service you are expecting in El Mouradi Gammarth Hotel in the not too distant future. Yours respectfully ,the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli District, Libya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was one of the fastest hotel in check-in and out, and it has a big, nice, good looking swimming pool. The food is not bad also and it is close to the sea.
However, the hotel located on the coast and it is far from any shops, there is no way even to top up your mobile, it will cost you min 17 TD for one way trip to town. The worst, that the mini fridge is empty, there is no even a bottle of water in the room, you have to pay for that, the room carpet is very dirty, you can see very big spots on it, it look like never been washed since they putted there, the showers handle is rusty and looks bad, the TV is the worst, mostlyFrench, Italian, local Tunisian ones, all with bad signal.
It looks like it was 5 star hotel before, but sorry, not any more. Sorry for that, It not more than 2.5 stars, but I give it 3.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Eid, We would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. We make every effort to ensure the customer satisfaction of all our guests and we do wish that you had bought these issues to our attention whilst still in the hotel and that way we would have been able to rectify. We would be happy if we can welcome you again to discover our renovation.
Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I really liked the stay at this hotel. The rooms were big and clean. The choice of food was huge. They had every morning fresh omlets, pancakes and fresh juice. For lunch and dinner they made fresh pizza and pasta, and there were also a lot of different things to eat - from meat to vegetable, fruit, pasta, different kinds of potato, deserts, etc. As we had all inclusive we got drinks and food at any time of the day. Between meals there were little hamburgers and deserts to eat if you were hungry. The pool bar worked almost all day, but as we were there in June the bar at the beach didn't work. The staff at the pool bar gave us more drinks at the same time to bring to the beach. The pool is really huge and there were always sunbeds free. I liked that there wasn't a lot of people and the atmosphere was calm and relaxing.

If you go to this hotel you should really try their coffee and tea at the shisha bar.

If you want to party this hotel isn't for you as there isn't any bars or shops outside the complex. Overall we had a nice relaxing time and really enyojed the food and the staff working there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Piqolina We read your review posted on Tripadvisor after your last visit. It is a big pleasure to know that you had a very relaxing holiday with us. We were happy with the services and the facilities of the hotel such as the quality of the food, the cleanness, the beach, the pool bar service and mostly the staff. We will share your satisfaction with the entire team who is working hard in order to make from the holiday of our customers more interesting as they can. We are still making many efforts in order to improve the well being toward our dear guests. We would like also to thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor and we are looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit to our hotel.
Regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had to write this review on this hotel: i just checked in and the check in was fast. I walked into a modern white decorated room, with great working desk, no chair! Wanted to send laundry for pressing for tomorrow 8 am meeting, no laundry bag. Opened to get a bottle of water, the mini bar is there, plugged and empty. Ordered room service, took me 3 calls and 45 minutes later they replied. I get a tray full of aluminium foil covered dishes, a bottle of water with no glasses. Finally TV was not working. After 4 calls to reception, and the promise to send a technician, they say: general tv failure in hotel, only God knows when it will be back... But wifi is working, thank God.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monastir, Tunisia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, Lives up to its 5 star rating, very calm atmosphere,clean hotel,spacious rooms, 24 hour room service, free wifi. The Italian restaurant was amazing! its more expensive than other restaurants in Tunisia but you have to remember where you are. Pool and beach both lovely,camel/horse rides available. staff were very helpful and polite. Lots of spa/beauty treatments available. Not too far from other towns if you have a car, La marsa and Sidi bou Said are about 10mins away and definately worth visiting, Will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June this year for 4 nights. The hotel was quite a distant from the city. My room was very big but not practical at all - the position of the TV and sofa were somehow awkward. I took all my meals at the hotel - the food was plentiful but after the second day it was too much for me having of the same food. Nevertheless, I love the fresh dates and figs they have there.

This hotel also has a wellness centre, gigantic swimming pool, nice beach behind the hotel which comes alive at night.

Since I came for business, this hotel is not for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel El Mourad... G, Directeur général at El Mouradi Gammarth, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Google Translation
Cher client, Tout d'abord, sachez que nous apprécions énormément le temps que vous avez consacré en adressant vos commentaires sur TripAdvisor, et nous vous en remercions. Nous saisissons cette occasion pour vous informer que toutes vos observations sont prises en considération avec la plus grande attention. Nous espérons vraiment regagner votre confiance et vous rencontrer, lors d'une prochaine visite, pour vous offrir un service à la hauteur de vos expectatives.
Sincères salutations.
La Direction de l’hôtel El Mouradi Gammarth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mouradi Gammarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Gammarth

Address: La Marsa | BP 597, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gammarth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gammarth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Gammarth 5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Mouradi Gammarth is situated alongside a beautiful beach of golden sand facing the forest of Gammarth and close to the town of La Marsa, once a summer resort for the beys (rulers) of Tunisia. It is near to the ruins of Carthage and the village of Sidi Bou Said and is 10 kilometres from Tunis-Carthage international airport and 15 kilometres from the capital Tunis. This new hotel is ideal both for holidays for pleasure and for business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your El Mouradi Gammarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Gammarth Hotel Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth La Marsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Gammarth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.