We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst open buffet ı have ever seen,poor!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carthage Thalasso

Save Saved
You added Carthage Thalasso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Carthage Thalasso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les cotes des Gammarth BP 720, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Gammarth
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst open buffet ı have ever seen,poor!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

First of al i want to start with the positives.Housekeeping service is good and the rooms are always clean and tidy and also comfortable.Facilities are good enough but everything about f&b is absolutely terrible.I have never seen any open buffet like carthage thalasso hotel,so poor and also all the pastries and salamis were off.Service quality is also quite bad and all the eyes looking towards you are negative.I dont recommend you to go there with your girlfriend because the hotel runs by sharia law.If you need help dont expect reception or the service people to help you.

Room Tip: I dont recommend carthage thalasso hotel for travellers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    35
    33
    48
See reviews for
41
53
21
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days of relax during eid while working in Libya.

Lovely complex - its huge - with wonderful gardens, pools and sunbeds and an indoor pool/spa/gym complex. All seemed reasonably well maintained and even in october outdoor pools jist about useable (and theres an indoor one too).

Rooms spotless, with enough tunisian decor to feel tasteful wothput being overthetop. Nice balcony overlooking garden.

Staff extremely friendly, helpful at reception, pleasant at the bars and restaurant (even though they were working over eid). They sorted us out a taxi to the airport through a friend as there were none (eid) for a good price.

Breakfast very good, excellebt selection and nice restaurant

Quite a way from Tunia city/carthage (15-20mins) but no more than 10dinar in a taxi (€5) anywhere so cant complain!

All of this said dont expect european 5* business hotel perfection (everything shining and cold efficient service) - it is more like an 4-5* resort hotel

In short would thoroughly reccommend - for the price we paid its a steal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

OK... just returned on 20th oct 2012..went last year .... fab... food fantastic.... its getting total makeover from last year ,, new carpets ect... indoor pool ect .. yeh ok drinks a bit expensive but theres a super market . less than ten mins from hotel .. turn right and right again and voila!!
staff are lovely just say bonjour and they will speak to you back..lovely room . people friendly very quiet and relaxing . no libyan war veterans ..and so what if there were .. yeh ok it might have been 5 star b4 and will be again 4 and half maybe .., and the people who write reviews might always go to five star // so theres a few cracks in tiles ! dirt hear and there .but if you are a normal person you will find this hotel fantastic if you read the reviews before you go .you may be unsure , egnore them !!. clean. .sheets, room great .. relaxing , and i love it !!!! thankyou to the friendly staff in restaurants the maids and the girl in shop . hope you like toy story !! and every one we meet and the lovely tunisian people ..........i will return ..... .

Room Tip: pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakworth, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.The food was awful and always cold. The place was filled with Libyan injured war veterans who do nothing but sit around the lobby and restuarants smoking. There are no smoking signs but they all still smoke and the hotel staff dont police this, my eyes stung when walking through the loby area and bars due to the smoke. The reception staff promise the earth when you ask for something but never deliver and top it all off there is a disco that goes on until after 3am or when the last person leaves that regularly resulted in fighting and distruction of lights and fittings in the hotel corridors. The only good thing is the size of the rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms over looking the swimming pool as they also over look the disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have stayed in in my life and I have stayed in many 4-5* hotels all over the world!!!! The food is awful, the place is filled with Libyan injured war veterans who sit and smoke all day. The only good thing I can say good about this hotel is the room was clean and spacious.
If you still decide to book this hotel make sure you given a room as far away from the disco as possible as it goes on until gone 3am on a Thursday,Friday and Saturday.
There is no way the travellers who haven given good reviews about this hotel can possibly mean a word of what they have written.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This hotel claims to be a 5 star, I would say it was no more than a 2. The food was awful, overcooked and tasteless, the drinks were outrageously expensive, the lobby was full of Libyan rebels who smoked constantly so I nearly choked to death every time I passed through the downstairs. My room was nice but the staff were not very nice, especially the females. They were only interested in what was on the computer and not with any of my queries. The upstairs corridors were very long and noisy at night so sleep was poor. I had a "do not disturb" sign on my door but no one took any notice of this as I was disturbed 4 days out of 7. I will never stay at this hotel ever again. A waste of money.

Room Tip: Getting the staff to listen to you is a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel is in no way a 5 star. The food is inedible. At breakfast the boiled eggs are so hard the yolk is powder. The bread is hard before it's even toasted, the pastries are thick and doughy. The hot breakfasts are few and are also tasteless. The dinner is also a buffet and everything is either overcooked and dry or undercooked and tough. The price for a quarter of a glass of white wine is 7500 td, £3.50 which is outrageous. The bedroom I was in was good. The female receptionists were rude, the male ones were at least polite. I asked one of them to put the internet on for me on their one and only computer and was told "in a moment" however the "moment" passed and he never appeared so I couldn't use it. The chair arm in the restaurant came off when I tried to pull my chair nearer the table. I will never go back to this hotel, not even if you paid me. The noise in the corridors at night were not conducive to a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Room 1228 was good although not a good view and the corridors were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carthage Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carthage Thalasso

Also Known As:
Barcelo Carthage Thalasso Hotel
Barcelo Carthage Thalasso Hotel La Marsa
Barcelo La Marsa
Barcelo Hotel La Marsa
Address: Les cotes des Gammarth BP 720, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Carthage Thalasso 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Venere, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Carthage Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carthage Thalasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.