We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to all our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Tunis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Tunis to your Saves list
The Residence Tunis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Cotes de Carthage - BP 697, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ENJOY MORE IN TUNIS
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Gammarth
bexhill on sea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lived up to all our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have stayed at The Residence Mauritius on a number of occasions and it is, in my opinion, one of the great hotels of the world, so our expectations of one of its' "sister" hotels were high. We were not in anyway disappointed, from the moment we arrived in Tunis, to the moment we left, the quality of the offer and the personal service we received was impeccable. One of the things which takes us back to Mauritius, is the extremely high level of service which guests receive, and so it was delightful to receive this same high standard from Christophe and all of his staff in Tunis.

The hotel is I feel quite stunning, the architecture, layout and general ambience holds you there, so apart from one half day into Tunis itself, we were very content to simply spend time in and around the hotel itself. We love to walk, and there were miles of sandy beach on which to do this, if I have any negative comment to make, it would be regarding the litter on the beaches beyond that of the Residence, but I fully accept we went out of season and I understand the municipality does clean the beaches in July and August, and so this comment is absolutely no reflection on the Residence.

If Tunis has any advantage for us over Mauritius, it would be the fact that it is under three hours flying time from London(compared to 12 to Mauritius), and in that three hours you travel to a very different world and some rather good weather!!

We will without any doubt return to the Residence Tunis, and if M. Cretien, the manager in Mauritius is reading this, I would reassure you that we will also be returning to see you in the future!!

I would end by saying that the owners of the "Residence group" have a fantastic "product" and should be very proud of the service which their staff are giving.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, we had a sea facing room which was great, but I guess the ones the other side be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feed-back on Tripadvisor following your recent sty with us.
We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations about this stay and I personally wish to thank you for your warm comments about our staff!

We truly hope to be able to welcome you back soon In The Residence Tunis and maybe I will be able to meet you on that occasion.

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    122
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
83
140
31
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great hotel. Clean, well furnished. Rooms are spacious.
the staff was very friendly and helpful
Food was also very good, in all restaurants. Breakfast had a large variety of local and international food, with no shortage of choices

Room Tip: nothing but excellence
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay at the Hotel The Residence Tunis and the services we propose. Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor!

We have shared your remarks with the entire team, which will be a wonderful source of motivation for all of them.

We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us, which hopefully will be very soon!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk bij Duurstede
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in The Residence in Tunis for a business meeting and virtually everything was perfect. The location, the Spa with Hammam, the 4 restaurants, the rooms and most of all, the staff. We just came back from a long vacation in Asia so we were doubting if the African service could match with the Asian service. But it did, we felt welcome from the first moment, the service we experienced in The Residence comes from the heart, at least it feels that way. Even on the beach the service was good, although it was really quiet. Complimentery water with and without gas is not what you expect from a 5* hotel but at the Residence it is supplied for free with a smile.

Anything that could be better? No not really, the only thing was that the drinks in the Hotel Lobby were quite expensive (A coke is more expensive than a white wine which is odd).

We will come back, that's for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in The Residence Tunis.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its services and hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Being a road warrior, I always get easily disappointed when trying a new hotel.
However, this time I can say I was happily suprised when staying at The Residence in Tunis.

This hotel has a feeling of being "at home" despite being on the other side of the world.
The staff is very attentive and friendly. They genuinely care about making your stay the most pleasant stay possible. David, the director is certainly one of the best hotel director in the world. He's available and knows how to make you feel good in his hotel, like if you were visiting an old friend.

The food was great. I tried the restaurant near the pool (try the grilled fish platter - it's delicious if you like real fresh fish) and the Chinese restaurant Li Bai (even though when I go to Tunisia, I'd rather eat local food). I also tried the room service which offers a good selection of meals on a 24x7 basis (they actually have real chefs handling the night shifts, so that the food is actually cooked and not just microwaved like in so many other places). The breakfast buffet offers a good variety of continental, british and local dishes.

Rooms are nice, spacious and nicely decorated. Maid service is done at your convenience and with great care. They place jasmin flowers at night on your bed providing a nice smell in the room.

The hotel location is perfect for someone looking at mixing business with pleasure. You get to enjoy the calm of the ocean front and the great surrounding of the hotel, while still being close enough from the airport and the city center to conduct your business meetings. The hotel is close to the downtown of La Marsa, a very nice city with plenty of good restaurants (try La Falaise, very nice place).

Overall, a great experience that I will definitively renew next time I travel to Tunis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Sylvain,

Tunisia is always a great idea and how wonderful that you chose this destination for such an important relaxing time!
What a wonderful comment on the hotel and our service, we thank you very much for sharing them on Tripadvisor. We constantly strive to achieve highest standards to satisfy our guests and we are happy that we were able to make your stay memorable.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon in your "second home"!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
Général Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Residence Tunis offers an unforgetable stay, with its beutiful rooms, the large swimming pool, the beach, the eclectic restaurants, but above all, the politeness, friendliness and excellent service of the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with a see and pool view are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you at the Hotel The Residence Tunis during your stay in Tunisia and to read that you enjoyed staying with us! Thank you very much for sharing on Tripadvisor.

Hopefully we will have the occasion to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have been to this hotel for 9 different holidays and it only gets better. The whole experience from the minute we arrive is excellent. Great rooms, great service and a fabulous beach and pool. Nothing is to much trouble for any of the staff who genuinely want to offer great service. This is a genuine Leading Hotel of the World. A fantastic breakfast, great food at Lai Bai and O'liviers and tremendous fun at the Beach Bar and Zembra. The Spar is really good and the small gym is great plus there is a good sized room with a sprung floor, ideal for yoga, pliometrics and callisthenics. What more can I say, but that we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Words can not describe how thankful we are for your beautiful comments! Thank you very much for sharing your impressions following your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

How wonderful that you were able to enjoy our restaurant and our Spa facilities during your stay.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back to The Residence Tunis soon!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great hotel. Beautiful room. Attentive staff. Magnificent spa - best I've ever experienced. Expensive but worth it. Near Carthage, La Mersa and Sidi Bou Said. A fair way to the centre but easy by taxi. Own beach on the Mediterranean. Excellent restaurants: L'Olivier attracts people from all over Tunis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay at the HotelThe Residence Tunis and the services we propose. Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor!

We have shared your remarks with the entire team, which will be a wonderful source of motivation for all of them.

We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us, which hopefully will be very soon!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Tunis

Address: Les Cotes de Carthage - BP 697, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gammarth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gammarth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gammarth
#1 Spa Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Tunis 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mint tea and orange blossom-scented towels welcome you upon arrival at this luxury beach resort in Tunisia, a first hint of the legendary local hospitality that warmly awaits you throughout your stay. This enchanting environment of voluminous halls, domed ceilings and arched alcoves reflects the distinctive style of Arab-Andalusian architecture, combining palatial space with an intimate ambience. The luxuriously appointed guestrooms envelop you in elegant, contemporary comfort. Discover new depths of relaxation, sunbathing on the beach, heeding the call to mind and body wellness at The Spa & Thalasso, or enjoying the views from our magnificent 18-hole golf course. Experience this unique destination through a myriad gastronomic flavours and fascinating excursions. Whether seeking a quiet retreat or an unforgettable family holiday, The Residence Tunis offers ancient history and modern indulgences in one enthralling mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Tunis Hotel La Marsa
Residence Tunis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Tunis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.