We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Tunisia but it needs a lot of improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Tunis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Tunis to your Saves list
The Residence Tunis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Cotes de Carthage - BP 697, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Gammarth
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Tunisia but it needs a lot of improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Having a Tunisian spouse, I used to go to the Residence a lot for dining out and spa. The residence is the top hotel available in Tunisia and you can also meet quality of people. The atmosphere is quiet and there are not many kids making noises to bother guests.
This summer, we were told that they are not accepting external guests to utilize swimming pool facility. Because we knew that it was the best possible facility and we have a small daughter, we had decided to treat ourselves and stay there for a night. During the summer time, the daily rate goes up outrageously in Tunisia in general and we thought it was over-priced for the room, services and facilities they offered. I consider myself a world traveller and know what is good standard service and what is expected for paying high rate. After the revolution, unfortunately, I see the standard of service is degrading and the facilities like spa is deteriorating. I love Tunisia and hope that the hotel would do their best to maintain its high reputation they gained in the past years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mosquito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with the hotel, I am however concerned about your constructive remarks about the quality of service and the spa facilities are degrading. August is indeed a very busy period in terms of occupancy, and I sincerely apologize if we were unable to be reactive at that time. Your constructive remarks will certainly help us to quickly reach the quality we aim.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next reservation in order to make sure to accommodate the best available room.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,


David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good hotel and well appointed rooms / emenities with good service with lovely pool / lobby but.......for a property that is a leading hotels of the world there are a few hiccups (but could be fixed)

1) The restaurants are in need of better food quality and variety - I ate in both the Chinese and continental offerings and would expect food to a higher standard

2) TV - the selection of TV stations is very weak (a simple free to air satellite decoder would be better....) - When OSN has hotel packages this seems like an easy fix

Room Tip: Pool view is nice and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fwohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your remarks on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at "The Residence Tunis"

First of all, I would like to personally apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with some of our services. Your observations were immediately investigated and you are absolutely right in your assumptions, we did not provide you with the service you quite rightly would expect from a hotel of our standard.

On a more positive note, it was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our service and its location. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

Your constructive remarks will certainly help to us to quickly reach the quality we aim.
We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Good clean hotel. Free WiFi. Nice indoor pool but with strict regulations on what type of swimming suit may be worn. As a Muslim, I have a swimming suit that covers my entire body but was told that if I wore it I would make other people uncomfortable. This being said, shouldn't I be feeling uncomfortable? Looking at half naked fat people while there was a lot of PDA going on.... The food is mediocre. The Chinese here is just tasteless veggies, not that decent. The staff are not very warm and the interior of the hotel is cold and sterile due to vast open spaces. I enjoyed my stay but there are just those few complaints.

Room Tip: Pool or sea facing. Lovely view with a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faatimah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Residence Tunis and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments about the quality of the food in our Chinese restaurant, that the staff was not very warm and that the interior of the hotel is cold.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Residence Tunis and to show you that the hotel has the charm you have been missing.
We look forward to your next visit and remain,

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Elegant hotel located on the outskirt of Tunis. Beautiful decor, excellent service, comfortable and spacious room, wonderful indoor swimming pool, but small sauna. The hotel organizes dinners in the garden where an amazing selection of North African food is offered (delicious couscous.) I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Residence Tunis and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor !

How wonderful that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and we appreciate very much your remarks about our North African food!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon! In the meantime, the entire team would like to wish you and your family a Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

As you reach the hall of this wonderful hotel a smile will appear on your face. Big hotel,big rest areas, nice live music in the evening... That's really surprising. Your smile will come back as you will enter the room: comfortable, big bed, still and facing to the sea. Do not ask more than this!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nikew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read on TripAdvisor that you have enjoyed your time in Tunisia and at the Hotel The Residence Tunis ! You have indeed left an amazing description of our hotel !

Your comments about the service of our team are marvellous and we thank you very much for your wonderful support. They will be a great source of motivation to them!

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in Tunis,

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great Spa with Indoor Pool (salt water). A fantastic place to relax after a business meeting. Very quiet surroundings and rooms. Good variety for breakfast. Very nice rooms and restaurants. Free Wifi! Staff is very friendly.

Omly negative point: no individual adjustment of the Airconditioning possible. During my stay we were already on heating mode while it was still very warm outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gundwane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,

It is always such a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay at the Hotel The Residence Tunis and I thank you very much for your wonderful feed-back!

We do apologize for the individual adjustment of the Airconditioning, we will changed it during our investments in the next future following your comments. Indeed, our team takes much pride to ensure that our guest needs are fulfilled and that their service is up to the standards you would certainly expect from a hotel like ours.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Tunis!

Yours sincerely,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marsa, Tunisia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although not a bad hotel in terms of overall ambience and facilities, staff at the Li Bai Restaurant fail to grasp the importance of good customer service and completely miss the point when it comes to being polite and courteous to guests. Avoid the restaurant like the plague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aruschpler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David19690, Directeur général at The Residence Tunis, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Client,

Your comments relative to your last visit to our restaurant Li Bai received my full attention.

We acknowledge your comments about your disappointing experience.

I have taken good note of it and will share this with the entire team to prevent such reoccurrence in the future.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment that is may have caused to you.

We hope to welcome you back for a more pleasant experience and wish that you let us another chance to regain your trust.

Sincerely yours,

David Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gammarth
3.4 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
0.8 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#3 of 14 in Gammarth
3.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carthage Thalasso
Carthage Thalasso
#4 of 14 in Gammarth
3.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ramada Plaza Tunis
#2 of 14 in Gammarth
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 7 in La Marsa
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Acqua Viva
Hotel Acqua Viva
#8 of 14 in Gammarth
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Tunis

Address: Les Cotes de Carthage - BP 697, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gammarth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gammarth
#1 Spa Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Tunis 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mint tea and orange blossom-scented towels welcome you upon arrival at this luxury beach resort in Tunisia, a first hint of the legendary local hospitality that warmly awaits you throughout your stay. This enchanting environment of voluminous halls, domed ceilings and arched alcoves reflects the distinctive style of Arab-Andalusian architecture, combining palatial space with an intimate ambience. The luxuriously appointed guestrooms envelop you in elegant, contemporary comfort. Discover new depths of relaxation, sunbathing on the beach, heeding the call to mind and body wellness at The Spa & Thalasso, or enjoying the views from our magnificent 18-hole golf course. Experience this unique destination through a myriad gastronomic flavours and fascinating excursions. Whether seeking a quiet retreat or an unforgettable family holiday, The Residence Tunis offers ancient history and modern indulgences in one enthralling mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Tunis Hotel La Marsa
Residence Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing