We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - if you need to loose weight :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean World Gammarth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean World Gammarth to your Saves list
Caribbean World Gammarth
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 592, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Gammarth
Celje
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant - if you need to loose weight :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First of all, if there wouldn't be the animation team, our holidays would suck totally.
Arrived past midnight after a 2 hour drive from Enfidha airport (Tunis airport is 15km away, but the travel agency opts for the cheaper airport of course). The staff assigned us 2 rooms that were pretty far apart, considering that we are 2 adults and 4 kids, the older 3 kids share a room. After the first night they gave us an option of other rooms, but none together, though we requested it back in January (stayed in mid June). The rooms are very very basic, old and shabby. The aircon didn't work in any of the rooms, after reporting that they fixed that, but then it wasn't possible to turn the darn thing off, unless walking to the reception again - which we should do every time when we wanted to turn on or turn off... well...
In our room (2 adults with toddler) there was a broken glass on the floor between the master bed and shelf when we arrived: the cleaning staff didn't bother to remove it the whole week.
Bathroom towels are collected around 11 am, and we had to wait until 5 pm to get them back, even if you let them hang, they don't mind. The staff always hands out 2 sets of towels, never minding that there are 3 persons in the room. Each day the kids found at least 1 cockroach in their room, not to speak about the ants that are all over the resort.
Now the food: simply yuck. Basically the same stuff all week, no changes in their menu. Either it's stinky (dishwasher smell), spicy hot, burned, overcooked or not cooked enough. Our kids are not really picky eaters as we travel a lot, however we were starving. Not even french fries (and/or rice) are made good. The meat (never more than 1 style per meal) was always with black crust, same goes for pancakes and breakfast eggs. For those you have to stand next to the guy preparing them, forcing him to give you the food before he burns it. Pizza: they make it uneatable too.
Location: middle of nowhere. Another run down hotel is next to it, but otherwise you have to take a cab to go to the next village. On the other side is a garbage yard, actually it is on the other side of the main road too. (Be prepared for a lot of garbage in Tunisia, people simply throw anything in the bushes, so they are decorated with plastic bags and other litter)
Beach: sandy, right in front of the hotel it's nice, not overwhelming, but nice. There are sunscreens and sunbeds on the beach, hotel property. Left and right the beach is a mess.
There are guys in the hotel that try to sell anything from pirate ship trips, quad rides, horse rides... They are like piranhas, we told them 100 times we are not interested, but they even bother people bathing in the pool.
Pools: cold, but clean. The main pool is deserted, all the action is in the pool with the slides. Those operate on a hourly basis, from 10-12 am, 2-5pm. There are 4 different big slides and 2 more for kids.
The big animation team (at least 14 people) is really cool, the people are extremely friendly, all are smiling all the time. My kids liked them. Within days they knew their names and thankfully came to pick them up from the cyber cafe to get them in different kinds of activities such as waterpolo, noon game, archery, boccia... and of course mini club for the little ones.
Not being racist or anything similar (and not that the hotel has anything to do with this), but what really bothered us was that there were a lot of hm, Arabian families that don't really pay attention to what their kids do. Besides dropping all kind of litter on the floor all the time, it was also a pain that those kids simply took our stuff and toys without asking, stuff we had stored in our beach bags, and then they treated our stuff like garbage... ???
The hotel also has non all inclusive guests. They have two main restaurants, for the all inclusive, and for the rest. In the first one there is not one Arabian guest.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get 100 or 200 rooms, those are closest to the beach and other hotel facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    55
    37
    35
    66
See reviews for
101
45
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sousse, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you want to come for a holiday to Tunisia, then avoid this place. Run down, smelly, and poorly managed. The price might be right, but you can do a lot better. I live in this country and work in Tourism-- so it is alright for a one night, cheap place to stay, but not for coming to Tunisia for holiday. My kids liked the pool and most of the staff were nice. The sad thing is that the management just doesn't care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

First thing is first food is very bad here i have the imprssion that its one my perpes i have estomac eches since i am here diahria ever day i just cant take it any more.
The second point its in the middel of noware you can even just go out and pay some thing to eat or soo.
The beach is dirty and there is every ware the smell of wast water its in a midel of a swap goodmoring musqutos
And the worst thing is i wanted to go to the nightclub they call it so i was rejected because of the dress code which was fine till the point where an europen gay went in not respecting the dressing code so i went again and told the gay why did he go in he told me word to word that this are the instruction and the this law applies only to algerien tunisian and libyens this is the worst kind of self denigration i have ever seen ifeel really sorry for tunisian as they consider them self as second zone humains in there own contury i do not accept this for my self i am checking out

So if you are a humain do not accept this do not come to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel is perfect if you want to relax.....the bongalows are good,but rooms are the worse wht I saw in 9 hotels where i was in Tunisia,but it doesnt matter coz im going just only sleep to this room....so i didnt care abt the size....this hotel has perfect food,two swimingpools (one with tobogans) and enough places for guests,but beach is 5-10 mins by walk its up where is ur room :-)
Employees there are really friendly and professional....and if you want to see Sidi Bou Said go to this hotel coz its just only 20km from there and taxi will cost you maximum 20 TND (aprox. 11 EUR) there and back and the driver will come for you in wht time u would like.
Everything was nice and cleaned and full of colours.:-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I stayed here for two nights in late April.

It rained non-stop for two days which, of course, was not the hotel's fault. However the beds were more than damp - they felt positively wet - and the room was freezing cold.

As previously stated the room was very bare - twin beds and a desk but no chair.

The food in the buffet wasn't bad at all if one arrived early and the wine was fine (and necessary!).

I can't think of any circumstance that would get me back in Club Dar Naouar.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

We have just returned from here and enjoyed it thoroughly. The food was varied and tasty, the rooms bare but adequate, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There are a higher than average amount of germans/french visitors but apart from the language barrier they were friendly enough. We are thinking of booking this hotel next april

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — long way from tunis/airport
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

DO NOT GO HERE

This was without a doubt my worst holiday experience ever. Me and my friend travelled here in OCt 2006 and were the only british ppl on the complex. It was filled with french and germans who were completely rude and arrogant. The food was disgusting with flies everywhere. There were stray cats meowing and fighting under your dinner table. Some cats did not even have tails. The staff were perverts and you did not know who to trust.

The first room we were in had a flood and after a bit of complaining we were moved to a nicer one.

Do NOT GO HERE

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean World Gammarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean World Gammarth

Address: BP 592, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean World Gammarth 3*
Number of rooms: 424
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Caribbean World Gammarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean World Dar Naouar Hotel La Marsa
Hotel Dar Nouar
Resort Dar Nouar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean World Gammarth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.