We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flamingo Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Djerba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Save Saved
You added Hotel Flamingo Beach to your Saves list
Plage Sidi Mahrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 112 hotels in Djerba Island
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A rare find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is a great location on the beach between Houmt Souk and Midoun. Taxis are plentiful and a bargain. The owners, Nabil and Hela, are very welcoming and hospitable. I stayed in my favorite room, #202 with a balcony overlooking the beach. The hotel is very clean. The people of Djerba are very friendly and I felt very safe and secure. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms at the front of the second floor with balconys overlooking the beach. The rooms...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
44
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Flamingo Beach hotel was one of the friendliest, and accommodating hotels that I have ever visited. Nothing was to much trouble, and their hospitality was exceptional. The location was beautiful, quiet, and located right next to the beach which was clean, and I've never seen such calm, lovely water. The accommodation was comfortable and very clean. The food was presented extremely well and our likes and dislikes were taken into account for all of our meals. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing, peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Whilst researching hotels in Djerba i came accross this charming hotel, well what a wonderful find,
small & friendly hotel. just steps away from the beach, rooms were clean & comfortable,
this hotel is owned by Nabil & his wife Hela,, they welcomed us with such hospitality, gave us lifts in to town,
even visited their house & met their 2 lovely sons, this was such a lovely experience, we had many good
conversations & learnt a lot about the culture past & present ,the staff at this hotel are just delightful,
all including Nabil & Hela have a good sense of humour , we had a lot of laughs with them all.
We stayed half board, breakfast was a light continental style, which was fine, for our evening meal
we had delicious fresh home cooked Tunisian food, cooked by the lovely chef, he always came out to see us
& ask if the food was ok. The weather was beautiful, & Hela had 2 sunbeds put on the roof terrace for us
where we spent lazy days sunbathing & enjoying the views, we ate breakfast on one of the terraces overlooking the sea, there was also a choice of dining areas. We did an island tour & they arranged for an english speaking taxi driver, we thoroughly enjoyed the day & Shukri the taxi driver was amazing, Djerba is a lovely island , i will definately be returning here & staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Coming to Tunisia from the US and from France, we decided to re-discover Djerba one year after the Jasmine Revolution. We chose to stay in the Flamingo Beach Hotel, a very nice family-run human sized hotel overlooking the sea, located right above the beach, far from the hustle and the bustle of big resorts. The owners and managers of the Flamingo Beach, the charming Hela and Nabil Bouabid, offered us the friendliest hospitality and we enjoyed very interesting conversations with them about the situation and the perspectives in Tunisia and in Djerba one year after the revolution. The hotel is very well kept, decorated with simplicity and taste and the whole staff is dedicated and extremely kind. As far as the safety in Djerba is concerned, we found the island very alive and totally peaceful and we absolutely never felt unsafe. Yes, tourists can come back to Tunisia and even more so to Djerba, and we can only recommend you to stay in the Flamingo Beach hotel, perfectly located to explore the beauties of the island and to enjoy your stay in Djerba.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I decided to try something new and Tunisia came to mind, Djerba in particular.Wanting to avoid all the package deal people i did some research and chose this small hotel. There were no other guests there apart from the cats when i arrived but the hotel slowly filled up during the week. This indeed was not a bad thing as there was no rush to do anything or be anywhere as the splendid Rachid was always on hand. The bar downstairs is frequented by the locals, who are not allowed on the resorts which added some interest as they are happy to chat. There is a supermarket nearby which has everything you need. All in all a little gem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-on-Thames
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We do anything to avoid the new “stack ‘em-high approach to modern sardine holidays, (your holiday pics may have been taken anywhere in the world!) This little gem emerged when seeking to avoid the above. We were met and welcomed by Nabil and Hela Bouabid who with their fantastic staff hosted us for two memorable weeks treating us like royalty.

A fine breakfast, followed by a quiet spot of sunbathing, book reading, siestas, and an occasional dip in the pool (still a little nippy in May, with Arched in constant attendance to satisfy our every wish, (and don’t miss out on the “snack lunches). And finally. Dinner. With Mahomet, the best chef in Djerba (the prawns are to die for!) and a choice of excellent wines recommended by Racheed, I cannot imagine that even Mr Winner (of UK Sunday Times fame) would do anything other than enthouse!
Alas, the situation in Libya has had a dramatic effect on bookings, so we were the only residents. It really was as if we were staying with friends in their luxury villa! We paid no attention to warnings from friends, and indeed found the lack of tourism an added bonus. WE encountered no evidence of any unrest anywhere on the island; only enquiries from locals as to why there were so few benefitting from their beautiful climate and friendly hospitality.
Undoubtedly we will be going back!

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea / pool?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Spent a few days at the Flamingo Beach hotel. We arrived at around 1am and the staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful. When I mentioned I was feeling hungry they went off to the kitchen to see what they could find and brought back a snack. The staff are lovely and they will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is small and friendly and the decor is simple but charming and tasteful. If you are looking for poolside cocktails, luxurious sunloungers and big fluffy towels and bathrobes , then this isn't the place you; there are plenty of hotels in the area which can off you that but they can't offer the personal, friendly service which Nabil and Hela and their staff can offer. They made our stay comfortable and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flamingo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo Beach

Address: Plage Sidi Mahrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Djerba Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Flamingo Beach Djerba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flamingo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.