We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach - horrible food, wine and a lot of noice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Djerba Holiday Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Djerba Holiday Beach to your Saves list
Djerba Holiday Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plage Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Djerba Island
Skive
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice beach - horrible food, wine and a lot of noice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The beach was wonderful and the children loved the pool and free ice and that is the only positive thing to say about this hotel. Food is really bad and there's so dirty that we will never go back. An example: there were birds flying and shi**** on the chairs while we were eating. Animation team is having there own party with loud music and are really rude. They will play ball right next to where the sunbeds are and make fun of you if you dont smile at them while doing so. Will never go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    469
    165
    73
    59
See reviews for
444
333
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

- Most of the staff is not friendly
- rooms are very old: beds are not good, part of the tv is in black and white, curtains can not be moved, door to the terrass blocks, smelly toilet (smelly water in general), darkened joints in the bathroom...
- Spa is so and so: Hammam was good, massage was not that good and again the bosses of the spa are not friendly. People working there are friendly though.
- The pool is clean and big, that is an advantage, but the deck chairs are old and dirty. And there are not enough chairs for all the guests
- Reception: very unfriendly staff. Not willing to help and very blunt. I am surprised that staff like that excists! Especially in a reception, people are supposed to be friendly!
- Food: not good, careless made and used for a couple of days. After the third day vegetables look brown and not eatable. Staff in the restaurant is not friendly and very lazy (most of them). You have to wait long before you get your drinks, tables are not cleaned...
- Animation team is very friendly.
- Bars: people at the bars are not friendly (maybe one or two will be, but most no)
- On the way from the reception to the restaurant, you have to pass a shop. They talk to you every day to get you in the shop so pretty annoying.
- you are awake very early. There is a lot of noise in the hotel.

Short: they want your money, but they don't want to give anything in return.
anyway the weather was good and we made the best of it, but we are really not going back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgundy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Arriving late at night after a 12 hours delay(Icelandic volcano), we were given a ground floor twin bed room.
the room had a strong smell of cat urine, the walls were dirty, and on opening the sliding door to the terrace, we discovered why the cat odour;
Not one but three cats came rushing into our room begging for food. Don't get me wrong, we have two cats of our own, but we decided to leave them home, so that we can take a break from them.
Rushing back to the reception,we found 5 couples begging for an exchange of rooms, without success, claiming that the hotel was fully booked.
Now, having spent my childhood in north Africa, I handed over my keys with a 20 dinars note nicely folded, and miracle!!! we ended up with a top floor double bed, and a private terrace.
Food:
all inclusive, absolute disaster, same food everyday, rice never properly cooked, and are the potatoes, barely any fruits, fancy an orange juice in the morning, it will cost you 2 dinars-about 0.80cent €.
The restaurant was more like an airport, noisy, and rushed.
Fancy a deck chair by the private beach, no problem, as long as you paid 2 dinars for the mattress.
Drinks:
Because the drinks were included in your package, the waiters will put you in a position of beggars.
I had to bribe the chambermaid to have shampoo and shower gel replace every day, otherwise, you only have them on your arrival.
Wine and water was included in all the meals, except when you wanted to book the Tunisian night(à la carte) when food was the same as the self service, but you had to pay for the wine and water.
Thalaso, hammam.
Having booked two days of the stuff, we were told that individual Hammam or sauna had to be paid for 15 dinars(8euros), so we paid 4 sessions, only to be told at diner by the manager that it was included in the fees.
We went back to the centre to claim our money back, but for some miracle reasons, the guy who took our money had gone on vacation for the rest of the week, and no proof of evidence, off course!
When having a massage, the girls will shout to each other across rooms(very relaxing time)
One particular event that really shocked us happened on Saturday the 1st of may 2010.
A family of 4 including both parents, his mother, 88 years old, and their daughter 14.
The bus taking them to the airport for 12.30pm had left without them, even though their luggage was in the lobby, and he had a check list.
The 88 years old lady, having just had knee surgery could not walk fast enough, had delayed them by just a few minutes(we were there watching)
Someone at reception got hold of the driver, who after a few minutes came back shouting at them in the lobby, and in front of three member of staff standing behind the reception...none of them moved an each.
The driver went back to his seat and left the passenger carry their own luggage ion the bus themselves(my wife and I intervene on carrying the cases and made a remark to the manager(in Arabic) on what happen..............his reply was.....it s an independent carrier, nothing to do with us.
Our only complement would go to the restaurant staff for being welcoming, and almost embarrassed about the quality of food being served.
Being trilingual, (French, English, Arabic, i did get a lot of complains regarding most of what is mentioned above.

One more time, Holiday Beach, never again in a million years!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Great pool and garden, loads of food and drinks, but bad planning of staff at meals - no seating, too few waiters for so many guests, noise and feeling of grand central station at peak hour in thew main restaurant.
Two a la carte restaurants, to be booked in advance. But then additional charge for food and drinks, even if you have bought an all-inclusive package.
Kind staff speaks french, italian and german - less english.
Clean rooms, aircon noisy.
There's not much outside the hotel, but there's a lot going on - stretching, gymn, darts, water polo, dance, shows at night and more. Not much peace and quiet at the pool then... Nice sandy beach. Children playhouse with staff. Most visitors are belgian, french or italian.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Would we go there again?. I Guess, not in the near future.!

The pool is great, the rooms acceptable, beach fantastic, in other words facilities are great, however when we get to "all inclusive" this is not completely the fact.

If you are not having your lunch/dinner in the main restaurant, you can access two other restaurants, but you have limited variation in food, and you even have to pay for bottled drinks. E.g., at the beach restaurant, you have to pay for a bottle of water, if you can not settle with just one glass at the time from the bar.

the Panorama pool restaurant is great, dinner is good, you have to make a reservation in advance, pay for wine and would you care for something special, like Lasagne, you need to pay a few TN, but service and food is great.

The Sidi Bou Said á la carte restaurant provides a little choice of tunesian dishes and has no climatization, which makes the dinner quite tiresome to get through.

In the afternoon there are delicious fresh made fritters and pancakes at the pool.

The main restaurant is a mess of people, noise, and it is quite normal to wait up to 15 minutes for a table. There is no seating, you just walk in, and hopefully there are 3-4 waiters to serve 200 people, cleaning, serving drinks etc.
Last summer We have been staying at Iberostar Phenicia in Hammamet, also "all inclusive" and quality is extremely high there, why we can only urge Djerba Holiday Beach hotel to go there for 1 day or two. We must say that Iberostar had a higher standard and less prone to charter-tourism.

For children this is a great place, the pools are large and you can feel secure. Facing the pool, you find a lot of palms, giving you shelter for sun. Distance to beach, you have to pass a minor road, is only 100 meter.

Most of the guests are from France, Italy or Belgium, and all the entertainment staff, guide are associated with the Italian travel agency In Viaggi, so unless you speak Italian or French, you have to use your fingers.

The tourist shop follows the average Souk standard and you cannot leave it without feeling cheated, which is quite annoying.

The animation team is very active and provides entertainment all day long, from gymn to water polo and dance, children activities, and evening shows.

It is a great charter-tourist hotel, but if you look for something more than just beach, pool, fun and meals, look for something else.
'

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

We loved the accommodations, the staff were excellent, and the room was clean and cool. The pools were great, and the sea fantastic. Plenty of activities on the beach with camel and horse back riding readily available. My children have been all over the world, but they loved it there so much they insisted we go back in 2008. Last year it was 1 week....in 2008 it is 2 weeks. If you'll be there from July 14th - July 28th let me know....we'll share a beer!

  • Liked — The pools, activities for children, and the weather!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

Everything is great. Nice people, good food, clean swimming pool, good service... See you next year.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Djerba Holiday Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djerba Holiday Beach

Address: Plage Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
#15 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#17 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Djerba Holiday Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Djerba Holiday Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Djerba Holiday Beach Hotel Djerba Island
Lti Hotel Djerba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Djerba Holiday Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.