We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel not many English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Djerba Holiday Beach

Save Saved
You added Djerba Holiday Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Djerba Holiday Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plage Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 112 hotels in Djerba Island
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel not many English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Just back a few ago from this Hotel, very nice good facilities but the only thing was we were the only English couple there and not many of the staff spoke english. The staff were very helpful and polite. Lots of French, German people staying there.

Entertainment staff worked very hard to entertain during the day and the evening.

Hotel has it's own photographer which is nice if you want a special photo to take home and very reasonably priced.

Food very good, always a good choice of things to have hot and cold.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    415
    147
    66
    57
See reviews for
414
298
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feluy, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The rooms are nice and clean. Our bedroom is in front of the garden and my husband and I are enjoyng our time together while children are enjoying the huge pool. I love the aquagym every morning. The food was not excellent but lots of choices, i still enjoyed it though. Staff are friendly. I will go back there next year with my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domzale, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Every year much better and better. See you next year again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingør
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Everything about this hotel is very bad.
We spend 14 days there and is was the worst vaccation ever.
Trust me, familys with children, you dont want to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skive
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The beach was wonderful and the children loved the pool and free ice and that is the only positive thing to say about this hotel. Food is really bad and there's so dirty that we will never go back. An example: there were birds flying and shi**** on the chairs while we were eating. Animation team is having there own party with loud music and are really rude. They will play ball right next to where the sunbeds are and make fun of you if you dont smile at them while doing so. Will never go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

- Most of the staff is not friendly
- rooms are very old: beds are not good, part of the tv is in black and white, curtains can not be moved, door to the terrass blocks, smelly toilet (smelly water in general), darkened joints in the bathroom...
- Spa is so and so: Hammam was good, massage was not that good and again the bosses of the spa are not friendly. People working there are friendly though.
- The pool is clean and big, that is an advantage, but the deck chairs are old and dirty. And there are not enough chairs for all the guests
- Reception: very unfriendly staff. Not willing to help and very blunt. I am surprised that staff like that excists! Especially in a reception, people are supposed to be friendly!
- Food: not good, careless made and used for a couple of days. After the third day vegetables look brown and not eatable. Staff in the restaurant is not friendly and very lazy (most of them). You have to wait long before you get your drinks, tables are not cleaned...
- Animation team is very friendly.
- Bars: people at the bars are not friendly (maybe one or two will be, but most no)
- On the way from the reception to the restaurant, you have to pass a shop. They talk to you every day to get you in the shop so pretty annoying.
- you are awake very early. There is a lot of noise in the hotel.

Short: they want your money, but they don't want to give anything in return.
anyway the weather was good and we made the best of it, but we are really not going back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgundy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Arriving late at night after a 12 hours delay(Icelandic volcano), we were given a ground floor twin bed room.
the room had a strong smell of cat urine, the walls were dirty, and on opening the sliding door to the terrace, we discovered why the cat odour;
Not one but three cats came rushing into our room begging for food. Don't get me wrong, we have two cats of our own, but we decided to leave them home, so that we can take a break from them.
Rushing back to the reception,we found 5 couples begging for an exchange of rooms, without success, claiming that the hotel was fully booked.
Now, having spent my childhood in north Africa, I handed over my keys with a 20 dinars note nicely folded, and miracle!!! we ended up with a top floor double bed, and a private terrace.
Food:
all inclusive, absolute disaster, same food everyday, rice never properly cooked, and are the potatoes, barely any fruits, fancy an orange juice in the morning, it will cost you 2 dinars-about 0.80cent €.
The restaurant was more like an airport, noisy, and rushed.
Fancy a deck chair by the private beach, no problem, as long as you paid 2 dinars for the mattress.
Drinks:
Because the drinks were included in your package, the waiters will put you in a position of beggars.
I had to bribe the chambermaid to have shampoo and shower gel replace every day, otherwise, you only have them on your arrival.
Wine and water was included in all the meals, except when you wanted to book the Tunisian night(à la carte) when food was the same as the self service, but you had to pay for the wine and water.
Thalaso, hammam.
Having booked two days of the stuff, we were told that individual Hammam or sauna had to be paid for 15 dinars(8euros), so we paid 4 sessions, only to be told at diner by the manager that it was included in the fees.
We went back to the centre to claim our money back, but for some miracle reasons, the guy who took our money had gone on vacation for the rest of the week, and no proof of evidence, off course!
When having a massage, the girls will shout to each other across rooms(very relaxing time)
One particular event that really shocked us happened on Saturday the 1st of may 2010.
A family of 4 including both parents, his mother, 88 years old, and their daughter 14.
The bus taking them to the airport for 12.30pm had left without them, even though their luggage was in the lobby, and he had a check list.
The 88 years old lady, having just had knee surgery could not walk fast enough, had delayed them by just a few minutes(we were there watching)
Someone at reception got hold of the driver, who after a few minutes came back shouting at them in the lobby, and in front of three member of staff standing behind the reception...none of them moved an each.
The driver went back to his seat and left the passenger carry their own luggage ion the bus themselves(my wife and I intervene on carrying the cases and made a remark to the manager(in Arabic) on what happen..............his reply was.....it s an independent carrier, nothing to do with us.
Our only complement would go to the restaurant staff for being welcoming, and almost embarrassed about the quality of food being served.
Being trilingual, (French, English, Arabic, i did get a lot of complains regarding most of what is mentioned above.

One more time, Holiday Beach, never again in a million years!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Djerba Holiday Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djerba Holiday Beach

Address: Plage Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#13 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Djerba Holiday Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Djerba Holiday Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Djerba Holiday Beach Hotel Djerba Island
Lti Hotel Djerba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Djerba Holiday Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.