We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Djerba Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added SENTIDO Djerba Beach to your Saves list
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone touristique | (previously Iberostar), Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Djerba Island
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned for sentindo Djerba beach hotel 15th June as a party of 4 adults,and a fantastic hotel, great location and fab service, arrived late at night quickly checked in, no hassle and shown to room, next day welcome meeting with Andrea (TC rep) who was great, very knowledgeable and didn't do the hard sell, if you want it come and see me, she was staying at our hotel so saw her most days and and she was a real credit to Thomas Cook (thanks). The hotel was spotless, always cleaners knocking about even at midnight, food was great always fresh meat, fish, salads / fruit at every meal, fresh pizza chips for kids, meat was delicious not as much variety as what we have had on Previous AI. But u think they have gone for quality more than Quantity and they was a vast selection !!!
I would recommend tipping earlier rather than later if you get good service we did and every day (lunch & Dinner we had water, water and beer waiting for us and its a couple of quid nothing major 20TD !!!
Lastly the entertainment team were great lead by Kimo, Joseph especially great fun but not in ya face just right... Well done boys & Girls...
My only gripe during the whole week was the Al-la carte which was shocking, we booked Italian and TBH Andrea told us to look at the menu, but we love all Italian so I though bring it on, when we arrived if was 3 fish courses Squid, Shrimps and fish fillet no Italian to be seen, I ended up with 2 cold potato croquettes which were not good, if you don't like fish don't book the Italian, but I heard the Tunisian was good... A lesson to learn check the menu or listen to Andrea
All in all though fantastic hotel, location with great weather
Well done Sentido beach Djerba
***** 5 star's

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    279
    71
    20
    5
See reviews for
307
322
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the sentido Debra beach the last week in may last year and enjoyed it so much we returned the same time this year but for two weeks this time. The hotel staff could not be more helpful and would go out of their way to help you. The animation team were fantastic and worked extremely hard all day and night. We even got a lesson in Arabic by Joseph ( one of the animation team ) while he was off the clock. As others have said our rep Andrea was excellent, very friendly and always there when we wanted her. We are hoping to head back in September depending on money at the time and were told by Andrea there wer a few couples there the same time as us that we're planning to do the same. If not we will definitely be back next may/June.

Room Tip: Both visits our rooms have been in different places in the hotel but both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent the last week in May at this hotel with my mum and cannot speak highly enough about it! The atmosphere is laid back and you can do as much or as little as you want. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff and the animation team were outstanding... Look out for Kimo and Leo they were a great laugh as were all of the team. The food is varied and there is something for everybody, the beach bar is a nice place for a coffee and to watch the world go by. As others have said there are plenty of sun beds: the week we went the hotel was fully booked and yet we still found space to chill. Our Thomas Cook Rep, Andrea was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for her. I enjoyed it so much that I am returning this September for another week....See you soon guys!!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned after spending a week beginning 1 June at the Sentido. First time at this hotel but 2nd in Djerba (previous hotel just down the road). Love the place and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a restful time. Probably too quiet for those who enjoy a lively nightlife (although there is nightly entertainment) but no disco on site. Most of the guests were 30+ when I was there. The hotel staff and entertainment team go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. They are friendly without being pushy. The food was excellent, varied and plentiful. Hot meals were hot, not lukewarm and the restaurant is enormous, so never had a problem finding somewhere to sit. The Hotel "brags" there are enough sunbeds both on the beach and around the pool for every guest, and that was certainly true when I was there. Although I don't think the hotel was at full capacity. The grounds and gardens are very well maintained and a joy to walk around. I travelled with Thomas Cook and must say, Andrea our rep was brilliant. She is actually based at the Sendtido so passed on some really good tips, most of the staff members names and things to do outside the hotel. Her best advise was how to deal with the beach sellers - basically "make like a camel and look straight through them", do not engage in conversation at all. It works too. All in all, amazing value for the money and I can't wait to go back there.

Room Tip: No lifts on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having booked a week at this hotel to stay 1st-8th June last September, I was always checking the reviews on here and was extremly worried with the negative comments regarding Nouvelair. HOWEVER, I have to say that although the in flight service is basic, it was a pleasant start to our holiday and exceeded our expectations. We landed at 23.40 and were swiftly through customs and at the hotel in no time. We were checked in very quickly and friendly, & greeted with cocktails. Only problem, it wasnt not easy to find our room and when we got there, reception did not explain that your room key operates the light switches (tip to all) so this took some time to figure out when your tired!
We slept well and did so for the rest of the week, the room air conditioning only operates from June and although it did not work at the start of our holiday, it did come on half way through the week.
The first day I was gently encouraged to take part in yoga. This is something I NEVER do on holiday however the animation team were very friendly and not pushy. If you dont want to join in something, a polite `no thanks` is all you have to say, although they will still ask you every day. Leo, Josef and Kemo were all great not forgetting the others. Yes there are sellers on the beach. My boyfriend wanted to buy something from the open seafront restaurant and we waved him over however they are not allowed, and will only sell if you go to them. If your not interested my advice would be to avoid eye contact, making eye contact only gives them the impression you want to buy. The horses and camels are paraded up and down the beach all day long and I have to say the beach was kept very clean and we never saw any poo! If you walk up the beach it is less cared for than the Sentido strip which is ample to be honest. We got up at 5am one day to see the sunrise only to find a German putting her towel on a bed round the pool which we couldnt believe at that time! The hotel say they have a policy of no sunloungers taken with towels before 8am, though they do not enforce this.There was only one day we couldnt get on the beach at 10.30am but after a stroll we found loungers.
The food for us was amazing `catch of the day` was always on the menu and always cooked fresh. I would avoid the eggs as on two occassions, boiled and fried were very raw, these were the only foods we could not eat, everything else was wonderful to try. Everyone does flock to the restaurant at opening times so we avoided this and went a little later but the food was still always good, fresh and more importantly hot. There are cocktails included in the All inclusive but you can buy others from a range for a few dinar. If you love seafod, the al a carte restaurant is a must, four course seafood on our last night just finished the holiday off nicely.
I would avoid a `seller` who came into the hotel on the Thursday evening to set up a small stall of `artisan` gifts. He offered us a trip to the old town and markets. He was very polite and we assumed he was endorsed by the hotel given he had a stall opp the bar. He took us around the old port, gave us info on the Island, took our photos, didnt ask for any money BUT he would only take us to the shops he said his `family` owned and we did feel pressured to buy items we would not of otherwise wanted. We did haggle and barter over a handmade rug and it was interesting to see it being made in the old cave style shop but we felt we wouldnt be able to leave the shop without buying one. We were later told that you should only buy from `fixed price` shops to prevent this. Having said this, it was all an experience!!
We did the Quad tour which was brilliant and the guides were very focused and safety cautious of the group. The shock we did get was how dirty the areas away from the hotel are, rubbish everywhere and we were told that there is no interest in cleaning the areas up. Just be prepared for this as we were not. All in all I loved this holiday, everything about the hotel was great, any issues we did have are too trivial to complain about, although bathrooms could do with an upgraded as could the tvs but you dont go on holiday to watch Tv!

Room Tip: Remeber to use the room key to activate lights Be prepared to haggle if leaving the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got bk after 2wks billiant holi this is our second time at this hotel and it only gets better even nouvellair now serves drinks and food both ways where as last year nothing so that was a great improvment .Food still vry good,rooms goods ,staff billiant nothing to much trouble and plesent,animation people good and not pushy but stop to chat to see how you doing will miss Leo, Joseph ,Nadia all work so hard also thanks Andrea (Thomas Cooke Rep) she really does her job well and is there if you need helpand so cheery.Love it so much going bk in Oct cannot wait missing it alredy definatly a get away from it all holiday .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Sentido hotel, the hotel is in quite a bleak area, with just a couple of shops so very much a hotel based holiday. Hotel was mostly full of couples so would not recommend to children. The first day on the beach we were constantly pestered by beach sellers who didn't seem to understand what no meant. There is also lots of camels and horses on the beach all day so plenty of smelly poo to dodge around so gave up going to the beach.
The room was clean except for the bed which appeared to have something living in it which covered my wife with bites, I saw several cockroaches around the hotel and many stray cats that were roaming around the dining hall.
The rooms were very hot with no air conditioning.
The animation team were great and worked very hard and Andrea the Thomson Rep was fab.
Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Djerba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Djerba Beach

Address: Zone touristique | (previously Iberostar), Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Djerba Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the fine, sandy beach that slopes gently into the sea. 5 km to the town centre of Midoun. Ideal for families. Short transfer. Fully renovated. Daytime and evening entertainment programme, live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Djerba Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Djerba Beach Hotel Djerba Island
Iberostar Djerba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Djerba Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.