We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Mehari Djerba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Mehari Djerba to your Saves list
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Touristique | BP 242, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Djerba Island
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good value for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just got back from a fabulous 2wks at Iberostar Mehari Djerba. Transfer was about 40 mins from airport and arrived just after 8pm. On arrival we were told to go and have our evening meal and fill in the checking in form. This hotel is classed as a 3 star so we always go open minded but must say we were very pleased with it. The hotel has a lovely big pool and beach( we stayed around the pool mainly) no fighting for sun beds- plenty to go around.

Rooms was what you would expect the only thing what stumped us was the shower head holder, when its in the holder it shoots over your head onto the back wall as its in a fixed position. My husband tied ours in place and re-did it every evening so the cleaner didn’t throw the cord away other than that much the same as any other hotel room. One more point on the room our room only had one plug socket luckily we have come across this before so we always take a small multi plug extension lead with us.

Food was lovely, got fed up of hearing people moan about food. If you don’t like the repetitiveness of the food then don’t go all-inclusive as this is how it works and if you only like English food then stay in England. I can’t work out why some people go abroad to be honest. You would never starve here no matter how fussy you are and I can be fussy I just accept that this is how it works and get on with it.

The entertainment team are a great bunch. I had read on here before we went that the entertainment was rubbish! How I look at it is we didn’t pay 5 star prices so don’t expect 5 star entertainment. I would say go on a cruise and pay the price if that’s what you want. The team ask you to join in but are no way pushy if you say no they leave you alone. They do very well considering the hours that they work- always smiling and friendly.

The hotel in general is nice and clean, the staff are lovely and friendly from the cleaners to reception. The two shops in reception- haggle hard and you will get a bargain.
Having been to main land Tunisia we found that there isn’t as much to do but what you do see is more of the real Tunisia, this is what we went to see. It’s a great place if you only want to do a couple of trips but more chilling and the weather is hot hot hot. Having heard some stories at the airport coming home I think we picked one of the better ones so do your research on here before you book any hotel.

All in all we enjoyed this hotel. We got two wks at a great price with great weather so I don’t see any point of looking for things to complain about. We would go back to this hotel for a chill out holiday.

Go to the crocodile farm 10 mins away by taxi, and the market in Midoun on Thur And Fri.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    352
    103
    24
    19
See reviews for
373
279
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here earlier in September. We booked it because the weather was looking promising, and it was the cheapest we could find. The weather was fantastic, hot and sunny all week, with a very welcome breeze on the beach. We'd read in the brochure that it had undergone a refurbishment. I would say there was still a lot of work to be done. Our bathroom was a bit grotty, clean, but old, with paint peeling and a horrible smell. The beds were like concrete - we had to put the duvets on top of the mattress to make them slightly more comfortable - and I sleep on an orthopaedic mattress at home! When we arrived it was about 1am. We were checked in blissfully quickly, and then walked into a bedroom which was similar temperature to an oven! The air con was fixed the next morning after an uncomfortable night. The rooms were ok for size, our balcony looked on to some waste land between our hotel and the next one, but was very quiet.
The food was brilliant - the best all inclusive I've had - a huge variety, always hot, and the restaurant staff are great - after a couple of nights of sitting at the same table, our waiter would have our drinks waiting for us when we arrived which was lovely.
There were some communication problems with the staff, but there is a lovely lady receptionist and her English is excellent. It's also incredibly easy to change money at Reception, and there's a cash machine in Reception too. As another reviewer has said, there's no air con in the Reception area so it is very hot!
We spent the whole week on the beach which is beautiful and quite quiet - apart from the sarong sellers, the palm sellers, the jewellery sellers, the fruit sellers, the horse ride sellers, the camel ride sellers and the water sports sellers. But what's really good is they're not allowed to come up to the sun loungers, they can stand and shout from the edge, but they can't bother you directly, so it's quite easy to ignore them if you're not interested, but watch them for entertainment. There is a lot of sea weed on the beach, until the tractor takes it all away each day, and in the sea - on one of the days the sea along the whole beach was just black with it, but by lunchtime it had all disappeared.
For me, there were two main annoyances. Firstly, a man employed by one of the shops on site, who tries to persuade you to go on his bus trip to his larger shop. We were warned about him during our rep's welcome meeting, but had already made the mistake of not saying a firm no. We were hassled by him for most of the week - we had said we were going on trips Wed, Thu and Fri (even though we weren't) and when he saw us on the Wed he said " I thought you were on a trip today" and was quite annoyed. In the end I was quite rude to him - it was the only way to stop it - he then blanked us for the rest of the stay! The other major annoyance for me was the animation team. We found it very difficult to get rid of one of them. He was everywhere we went - on the beach, at our table at meal times, in the bar - to the point I was going the long way back to our room from the beach to avoid him. And the rest of the team were a bit of a pain - they were always standing at the restaurant entrance at meal times - on one evening demanding kisses before you could go through, and would say "bon appetit" with so little interest that it would have been better if they hadn't bothered. I know that a lot of people find them entertaining and like to have the activities. I don't, and I would prefer it if they were better at reading people and knew who to leave alone.
We didn't spend much time around the swimming pools, although they looked clean and inviting.
Some other tips, haggle very hard in the shop in Reception. We were looking at a bag that he was asking 145 dinar for. He came down to 22 dinar. Don't wait for Midoun market to do your shopping, the prices are no better than the fixed price shops in Midoun - if you do go to the market, go early in the morning. Take lots of books as they don't have a "library" like other hotels we've been to, but they do have a couple of books behind reception - or take a wander around the first floor of bedrooms as the housekeepers seem to leave any books they find in the stairwells. Also, if you've got a late flight back, you have to check out by 12, however, if you ask at Reception on your last morning, you can have the room until you have to leave for the airport for about £20.
Overall, worth the price we paid, mainly for the beach and the weather, but probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel is amazing. The food is excellent, the rooms are large and airy and well equipped. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the entertainment team are really friendly and hard working. I will definitely go back and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just returned from a week at this hotel and have got to say that overall it was great.

Very clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff (who try very hard to understand English)

Rooms are large, clean and well furnished (plenty of storage and hanging space) with a wall mounted plasma TV - however for all you ladies who prefer to sit at the dressing table to do your makeup, be aware that the TV is above the dressing table and the mirror is fixed to another wall. There is another mirror in the bathroom with the hairdryer, so you can do you your makeup there. There is a bath with shower over - all very clean. Upper floor rooms (which is what we had) have a large private balcony.

The food was very good with plenty of variety for a one week stay. The all inclusive bar finishes, in the main part of the hotel, at midnight and you don't get an option of paying after this time - basically, the bar closes and the lights are switched off! The beach bar closes an 1am. Each day you are given a large bottle of mineral water per room which you ask for at the bar. Lager comes in half pint glasses, so if you get fed up having to go back to the bar, then just order two instead of one - they don't mind.

The main reception of the hotel is not air conditioned so can get very hot, so we invariably sat outside in the evening.

Wi-Fi is available at a cost of 4 dinars per hour (£2.00) very cheap when compared to roaming charges! Not sure how good mobiles are there - I had a full signal, but didn't receive my texts all the time (very sporadic)

The weather when we were there 10-17 September was incredibly hot and averaged around 44 degrees during the day, so it's too hot to walk anywhere. There isn't much to walk to anyway, unless you fancy a walk along the beach, but although it was clean, it did smell of sewerage so put us off a bit. Nice large outside swimming pool and an indoor pool.

The big negative we found were the animation team, who thought it was acceptable to pod and poke people (who were clearly asleep around the pool), or not interested. The music was very loud by the pool which ruins it a bit if what you want is just peace and quiet. The animation team are also a bother during mealtimes - generally making a nuisance of themselves when you are trying to enjoy a meal, by keep going on about 'showtime' which starts at 9.30 pm at the beachbar. Mostly showtime was rubbish in my opinion, but it depends what you are looking for I guess.

Overall we had a good week, and it would have been a whole lot nicer without the animation!

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a sea view - the view is obscured by trees and lanscapes, so not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and have got to say it was brilliant !!!!
This was a 'last minute' holiday for us, we only booked it 1 week before departure and we are so pleased we chose this place.
To start with the hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful, we arrived at about 2am and were greeted with a smile and a cold bottle of water as we checked in (very quick process, most of the paperwork was left till the next day !!), then we were shown to our rooms
Rooms are clean, nicely furnished, wall mounted TV, bath & shower with a balcony or terrace (no fridge or tea making facilities !!!) and were cleaned and towels changed daily.
The hotel surrounds the large outdoor pool which is lovely and clean surrounded by plenty of sunbeds and 'straw parasols', there is also a nice indoor pool 20yds away. Beach/pool towels are provided by way of a card obtained from reception. The pool bar serves drinks and snacks and there is a nice shaded seating area next to it.
The main restaurant has inside/outside seating and personally i think it served the best 'all-inclusive' food i've ever had, there is more than an ample choice, including a 'pasta station', fresh made pizzas, lots of local and continental foods and a large 'salad station' . The staff are very friendly & helpful and eager to learn English wherever possible. Drinks in here are self service and include soft drinks, beer & a selection of wines.
The 'animation team' that provides all the entertainment around the pool and at night are very hard working and do try to get you involved but if you're not interested they soon get the hint !!! The night-time entertainment is at the 'beach-bar', a 2 min walk down a private track, (right next to the hotels private beach) and goes on until about 1am and can consist of anything from belly-dancing, bingo to mr&mrs and snake charming !!!!! There is also a 'quiet' lounge bar next to the reception area.
At the beach (which is cleaned & raked everyday) there are more sunbeds and free water-sports including peddlo's and canoes. There are also horse & camel rides being offered but these don't bother you too much.
Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value, great weather and a great location but you must remember that this destination is new to British travel and has been mainly French & German in the past !!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed at hotel first week in September and had a fabulous time. Weather was great for whole stay! Hotel is appox 30 min from Djerba airport. When arrived at 9pm taken by hotel staff straight to restaurant for food and drink even before check in - a nice suprise and much needed after flight and transfer. Bags carried by waiter to room. Tip would be to have some dinars already changed in preparation for a tip as felt slightly mean when we had none on arrival after the help to room.

Our days were spent mainly round the pool - lovely area!! Pool was big and plenty of sunbeds with parasols for shade (needed from afternoon sun). Bar area near pool also, great for cold drinks, my only complaint is they serve the drinks in small plastic cups, after lots of sun it meant regular trips back and too. Would recommend to take a bigger cup with you for round pool. Have to comment on the hotel staff and reps - so friendly and provide lots of entertainment and options for games (darts, water polo, aqua fit to name a few) - no hassle if you dont need to get involved. Beach also near by, short walk from pool, option for water sports and bar on beach where entertainment is provided at night.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis so were given clean towels everyday (one per person), we took a beach towel each also to cover the sunbeds. Also you have one visit to the hotels a la carte restaurant per stay included (a fabulous alternative to the hotel food), waiter service and 4 courses, great way to finish the holiday. booking is needed with the restaurant manager. In peak season the a la carte is outside near pool. Slight niggle would be the outside seating area of hotel at night time, not much space so limited tables and chairs - but we just took our drinks and card games to the sunbeds round the pool to relax after evening meal!

Not much around the hotel and only small shop on the hotel for suncreams, drinks and gifts so go prepared. we travelled into Midoun (nearest town 10 mins from hotel). Taxis are cheap but shops require lots of haggling. Paragliding on beach - short but recommended. Also buggying (reps sell this trip on hotel complex) £25 for 2 hours, great fun and nice way to get out of the hotel.

Perfect way to spend 7 days resting and relaxing. Would recommend, great hotel and great weather!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great holiday, all the staff friendly and very helpfull plenty of good food, drink and entertainment. Rooms clean. Large outdoor and indoor pool both clean, just 1 minute walk to beach down its own paths which as its own bar with plenty of beds and water sports. Bits to take note of no coffee/tea or fridge in rooms, lots of kids, and if you have walking probs. get a ground floor room as no lifts to 2nd and 3rd floor . Will deff. go back fantastic hotel. Go on the road train to local town on fridays £3 round trip start 9.15am back 12pm if youu dont like markets just go for the train ride.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Mehari Djerba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mehari Djerba

Address: Route Touristique | BP 242, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Iberostar Mehari Djerba 3*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm, classic North African style, the 3-star IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba Hotel is perched on the island of Djerba, Tunisia. This all-inclusive hotel is located beachfront with rooms perfect for your travel needs, from a fun-filled family holiday to a romantic couple's getaway to Sidi Akkour. Our rooms have been recently renovated to maximise guests' comfort in this Mediterranean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Mehari Djerba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mehari Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Iberostar Djerba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Mehari Djerba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.