We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best museum there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guellala Museum

Guellala Museum
BP 102 4155 Guellala, Djerba Island, Tunisia
00 216 75 76 11 17
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built in 2001, this art museum boasts a fine collection of pottery and a round observation tower, excellent for viewing the sunset.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best museum there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we went here on a island explore tour with thomas cook, only complaint i had was we didnt have enought time there to see everything. unlike other museums we had gone to where nothing was in english, this was and there were friendly staff around to help. remember to take few dinars so you can take photos! i was allowed to have go on camel while he worked and dressed up as a bride. very enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    109
    24
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nicest museam ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great views, so quiet and great history. only a short drive from any of the hotels and is definately a place you must see if in Djerba.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Never forget to take a few dinars to take pictures on the inside. very nice museum for traditions lovers with gardens and sea views

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favourite museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me and my partner went to this museum when we was on the Island Tour booked with Thomas Cook. Other museums we went to do not explain the displays in English, mainly just French and Arabic so we could not learn anything but this museum educates you a lot on marriage and how they traditionally celebrate it and all explained in English. I leaned a lot from this museum and the grounds are really pretty. We also got our names written by a professional calligrapher at a small charge of 5Dinar each.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A nice place to discover real Tunisia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Guellala Museum is one of the must-do's when you are in Djerba, the dreamsisland as called in Tunisia, and the Lotus-eaters Island as described by Homeros in his Illyade and Odyssée.
Mainly dedicated to the island traditions, the museum includes a huge collection of statues, showing scences of the traditional Djerbian marriage, also explaining all routine day life in Djerba, in a wonderful architectural design. You can discover how a typical Djerbian house looks like, how do Djerbian Women and men spend their days, how they are dressed, what are their occupations, ..The museum also includes traditions from other cities of Tunisia. You can also discover jewish traditions which are whole part of the Island...The museum is worth visiting...Around, you can buy some potery and see caves from wear clay is extracted. The regions is amongst the famous one for clay hand works.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guellala Museum also viewed

Midoun, Djerba Island
Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
 

Been to Guellala Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guellala Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.