We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Dhiafa

Save Saved
You added Dar Dhiafa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Dhiafa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erriadh, Djerba Island 4146, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 112 hotels in Djerba Island
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
213 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

There are 14 rooms grouped around several courtyards. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The only thing that might deserve some explenation is the architectural decision not separate the bathroom by a door. Breakfast was OK, staff very friendly. Unless you are prepared to drive to town or zone touristique for dinner, you'll have to eat at the hotel's restaurant. However, this is not a drawback, we enjoyed th food.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    29
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
72
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Truly one of the best places I stayed at. It really immerses you in the life style of the locals. The architecture is wonderful. The rooms are astonishing. If you are looking for a unique experience come here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a find! It ticked all the boxes for our weeks holiday on the island of Djerba.As the heavy front doors of the hotel opened, you knew you were somewhere rather special.Sunlight filled the beautiful courtyard, spilling over with bouganvila and we were met by charmimg staff.Everywhere was most tasteful,best described as simple understated elegance.Being a somewhat fussy vegetarian( who doesn't eat fish either) I was slighty concerned about what the menu had in store.I need not have worried as the chef made me the most delicious and unusual delights at every meal, infact after a few days I simply left it to him and I was never disappointed.He is a true artist when it comes to food it was superb,and my husband also agreed (he is not a veggie')
and often enjoyed the catch of the day!
.
We came home refreshed,relaxed and sorry to leave our little haven and can thoroughly recommend Dar Dhiafa.

Room Tip: As I didn't like the 'alcove' rooms, I asked for a bed where there was plenty of space o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place is really beautiful. I couldn't recommend it more. Its so tastefully and beautifully decorated. Its such a romantic little hotel. We had supper by the pool on a couple of evenings, and the pool was filled with floating candles and they decorated our table with borganvila and jasmine.

The staff are so welcoming and friendly and really couldn't do more to make it perfect for you. They where a really special group of people.

We sadly didn't stay here, just came four times for dinner. The food is exceptional, the head chef worked in Nice (france) for quite a few years and you can tell from his food. No one does food as well as the french!! (maybe the italians!?) We had an amazing rack of lamb, beautiful steak in peppercorn sauce, slow cooked lamb with prunes and almonds. My sister works in a michlin star restaurant, so know what I'm talking about when I say the food was amazing.

I wish we had booked to stay here as it really is the most romantic and chic hotel on the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having in the 10 last years many journeys in Tunisia and Morocco, in different hotels and houses, we are really falling in love with this house and her so charming "proprietaire": rooms, services, surroundings, atmosphere.

A so quiet place, with so astonishing peaceful corners, what a fantastic place.
and in addition to all that, the owner is a really ethical minded employer. a unique jewelry in this peaceful island...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Staying in the Dar Dhiafa was a very interesting enjoyable experience. We stayed two nights and were so glad we had the two rather than the one we first planned. The rooms, with their alcove double bed-spaces, were full of character. The food was excellent and all staff involved were eager to please. We had a lovely candlelit meal by the pool on our final night. Both the A la carte (pricey) and set menu were very good. (We don't know what the set menu cost as it was part of our package.) Having 1\2 bottles of wine available was a benefit to us. It was definitely worth the extra distance to the beach. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having visited several hotels in the awful, sanitized 'Zone Touristique' that stretches south of Houmt Souk, we were SO pleased we had decided to stay here instead. If you don't have a car/private transport it could be a bit of a hassle to find, but taxis should be able to locate it quite easily if you are coming from the airport or Houmt Souk. It is an atmospheric and photogenic property consisting of four old homes and it's a real breath of fresh air in a country where service is often very average at best. You are welcomed on arrival; the rooms are charming and well-maintained; the place is clean and well looked after. There's an excellent restaurant in the hotel, with friendly and efficient staff, although the prices are a little steep and I suspect a number of clients may opt to eat elsewhere. Perhaps the hotel should consider a cheaper 'set menu' to encourage its customers to eat here. This is my only criticism.
We spent 12 days in Tunisia. We stayed in Dar el Medina (Tunis), Le Kasbah (Kairouan) and Dar Said (Sidi Bou Said). Dar Dhiafa was by far the best experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Dhiafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Dhiafa

Address: Erriadh, Djerba Island 4146, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#5 Best Value Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Dhiafa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and charming place on the island of Djerba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Dar Dhiafa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Dhiafa Djerba
Dar Dhiafa Hotel Djerba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Dhiafa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.