We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradition, simplicity and good taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Dhiafa

Save Saved
You added Dar Dhiafa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Dhiafa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erriadh, Djerba Island 4146, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 114 hotels in Djerba Island
Faro
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Tradition, simplicity and good taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have been told by several people in Djerba that this was the best and most expensive hotel on the island.
That said do not expect the luxury and amenities of a 5 * hotel. What we found was a charming, unique and appealing to tradition hotel, with rooms not very large, beds on the floor on top of stone platforms, tucked under a vaulted ceiling, with little furniture, stone floor with a carpet in front of the door. The bathrooms are open to the rooms (no door), very rustic, water from the shower ran with very little strength.
The rooms and common spaces are connected by a maze of small streets and charming courtyards, white and ocher, many plants ( beautiful bougainvillea), places to sit and enjoy. It has two small pools in two different areas of the hotel and an excellent Haman, we have used and recommend.
One of the nights we had dinner at the hotel, very well-placed tables in the courtyard by the pool, the service good, the food is not bad but didn´t dazzled and i consider it an expensive dinner for Tunisian prices (85 euros per couple with wine). We were not fans of fish and shellfish we eat in several Tunisian sites. Our (Portuguese) is incomparably better.
Breakfast is served in the hotel's courtyards, a small buffet with basic things, yougurt, bread baguette, cheese, jams (try the fig). Simple, but good quality.
We had a problem during our stay, our room have been flooded (luckily not spoil anything), we were moved to a suite (the Emir) which seemed to be under renovation and I did not like it, and we just got back to our room (Princess Gemma) because going out for dinner on the second day we talked about it with the owner of the hotel who apparently knew nothing. We believe that these situations happen, but this one could have been better resolved.
If you decide to stay at this hotel it is important to make sure you like this kind of hotels (which is our case) for example one of the friends in our group did not like because she found the rooms claustrophobic, however my husband and I liked very much the bed on the floor under the arch, so it's really a matter of taste - for those who enjoy this type of experience is very interesting and recommend , to anyone who does not is better not to go.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with beds on the floor under the arch. Ours was Princess Gemma and it was nice. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    29
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
72
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Words can't quite capture the beauty of Dar Dhiafa or the wonderful experience we had there. Everything about the place -- from the food, to the tasteful, relaxing decor, to the doting hospitality of the owners and staff -- is extraordinary. I've never stayed anywhere so magically relaxing.

Djerba island is a remarkable place in itself, historically home to a number of minority communities and a resting spot for passing traders. While it hasn't avoided the failings of Tunisia's other beaches -- the large, all-inclusive hotels with few independent ventures -- it is certainly more pleasant and interesting than other destinations like Hammamet. Dar Dhiafa sits in an older quarter of Erriadh, a bit removed from Houmt Souk and the main beaches, but easily accessible by taxi.

The hotel is the restored combination of several homes, but the basic architecture has been unaltered. Each of the 14 rooms/suites is unique and authentic, made of stone and mortar. As you'll begin to see from the photos here and elsewhere, each room is laid out beautifully and furnished with charming touches like antique cabinets. Several also have rooftop terraces. Between the rooms are lovely courtyards, including two lovely, small pools and a cafe. The first-class restaurant and attentive staff stand ready to bring anything you need. It's cliche to say we never wanted to leave the hotel, but in this case completely true. We ended up spending a few hours each afternoon at the beach, and the rest of the time around their pool.

If you're looking to relax, or if you come with some quiet work, as I did, you will find no better place to stay in Tunisia. For that matter, I'm not sure if you'll find a more pleasantly quiet and refreshing hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We came back to Dar Dhiafa for a second long weekend because we loved it so much the first time. The place itself is so tastefully done, and just enough out of the hustle-bustle of Houmt-el-Souk that you feel like you're on a retreat. The rooms are all different and all combine modern conveniences with the wonderful artistry of Tunisia -- The food there is amazingly delicious and the chef comes out personally to ask if everything is to your liking. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. We purchased some local pottery and needed it wrapped for carry on luggage on the airplane. Rabaa wrapped it securely and perfectly suited for travel. Kamel was our waiter and he was as personal and helpful as any waiter I've ever had. When we relaxed at the pool, we were offered cold drinks and meals were served to us to meet our schedule. The hotel staff arranged a day trip for us into Matmata and environs. Can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: we always picked a junior suite -- and have loved the one called Sheherazade -- my sister and her hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was hesitant to stay away from the bustling capital of the island (Houmt-el-Souk) but Erriadh, the village where Dar Dhiafa is, is a short taxi ride away from everything. And I am so glad we stayed there! The hotel is made of 6 renovated old houses. The original architecture has been maintained, and many of the rooms (including ours) had a gorgeous alcove above the bed.

We spent half of our second day enjoying the hotel, the swimming pool area is charming. We didn't try the hammam though, but it looked nice. I chatted with the owners - a Tunisian-Italian couple - and the gentleman was right in saying, "the place is so nice you don't really need to step outside!". Indeed one could be tempted. :) but there's much to discover about Djerba. Unless you're going for the beach, stay away from the "zone touristique" in the evening - clubs are terrible.

(Also, spend time discovering the mosques of the island - Djerba is also home to a large Ibadite Muslim community, and there's much to discover in their traditions and houses of worship as well.)

Room Tip: Each room is different - Check out the website, the photos are true to the original. The 'superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent three nights in Dar Dhiafa and greatly enjoyed our experience. The Dar Dhiafa is a beautifully renovated mansion ("Dar") that used to belong to the Jewish community of this area of Djerba. When you arrive in the central hall of the house, you feel instantly miles away from the dusty roads of the village and Djerba's big standardized hotels, and enjoy the charming and simple atmosphere of this Dar. We stayed in the Calif suite which as many others is organised around a number of small courts. The suite is on two levels, with a single bed and open bathroom on the ground floor and double bed and terrace on the first floor. The renovation and attention to detail is amazing BUT some people may find it uneasy to have bathroom and toilet only from the first room by a curtain, and certainly there are lots of stairs to go between the entrance, double bed and terrace...
However, the views from the terrace, atmosphere and great welcome and service from the personnel well make up for this. Everybody went out of their way to make us feel at home and we will definetely come back to theis wonderful accomodation.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, so maybe enquire if you have special needs (stairs etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Hotel has many quiet places, with interior 'patios', the architecture and the silence give a sense of peaceful. It is desirable for writers, poets, people who don't want to be involved with a tourism mass. In a quite village, Erriadh has the traditional way of life in this beautiful Island in the South Coast of Tunisia.
The meals are exquisite and the owners takes care about all needs, ready to help assisting the client.
There is wifi in a comfortable spaces with a wormfull ilumination. The decoration is very accurated and basic, really elegant.
The rooms are very nice, probably all are different construction, with high and wide space to work, or just to read. The bath is very singular, what will make an aroma of the arabian story 'Mille et une nuits'. The bed is very comfortable too.
I was there for three nights and I would remain there more...
The owners, when you see them, just tell you: 'Feel you as you are at home'
That's it !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The most beautiful place I've ever stayed. Unique, and designed with such care. Adorned with the most lovely and kind staff you'll find. Delicious food. Peaceful though not hot haman. Great for couples or anyone who wants a haven from the crowds.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Dhiafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Dhiafa

Address: Erriadh, Djerba Island 4146, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Dhiafa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and charming place on the island of Djerba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Dhiafa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Dhiafa Djerba
Dar Dhiafa Hotel Djerba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Dhiafa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.