We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Dar Skander” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzel El Kateb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Menzel El Kateb to your Saves list
Menzel El Kateb
Mahboubine | BP 70, Djerba Island 4165, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Djerba Island B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Short stay in Dar Skander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had a short stay in Menzel el Kateb (Dar Skander). Great place, menzel old style refurbished with taste and very comfortable. Well furnished, clean and very calm and relaxing, the house has a nice swimming-pool in the backyard. Kamel and Doris are the best hosts your could have, enjoyed the exchange I had with them and their legendary tunisian hospitality. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a nice and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Menzel El Kateb for 3 nights in late April and had an amazing stay with Doris and Kamel, the owners, and their well behaved dogs, Dago and Gypsy. We have traveled extensively around the world and this was a truly memorable experience and we felt truly at home.

We arrived quite late due to flight delays but Doris and Kamel instructed the driver and gave us a warm welcome after a long day of travel. They have a large orange and olive farm with 3 main houses, including a pool, though the weather wasn't very accommodating for a swim during our visit. We stayed in Skandar house, which is a beautiful Djerban style structure. The room was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated with wood furniture and traditional rugs. Doris gave us a full tour of the grounds in the morning where we saw the rest of the farm and other accommodations, which were all in a unique style. All were very tastefully decorated but my favorite was Skandar house. Doris and Kamel also explained the history of the farm and Kamel's family, who have owned the land for generations and recently rejuvenated the property.

The breakfast each morning was laid out when we requested and there several homemade jams, dates from the farm, and cake, as well as bread and eggs with homemade harissa, which was way better than any harissa we had tasted on our trip in Tunisia (we had eaten a lot during our 10 day visit!). We also ate dinner on the menzel and had a lovely Djerban pumpkin and lamb wedding stew, along with salad and freshly fried and perfectly crisp brics.

I would highly recommend an extensive stay at Menzel El Kateb to anyone (couples, groups, families, etc) for both a very uniquely beautiful place to stay and to enjoy the warm hospitality of Doris and Kamel. It is located not far from Midoun and there is easy access to taxis just outside the farm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Beautiful place to stay, lovely house, excellent farm, surrounding by palm and orange trees, with white nice houses.
My first review, goes to the kindness of Doris and Kamel, and of course I cant's forget the lovely friendly "Dago"
All was perfect, since the first breakfast in the house, where it was offer a birthday cake to my wife. A very nice surprise.
The kindness and helpfully recommendation of the owners to visit the island, was very important for us to meet the best of Djerba!
If you don't want massive tourism around the beach, you might visit Menzel El Kateb.
Very good value for money
Once again, thank you Doris, Kamel & Dago
Shukran

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Menzel El Kateb is the most unconventional yet unforgettable experience in Djerba. Miles away from the predictably boring western-style resorts, it offered us a unique experience in a traditional djerban farm, surrounded by orange trees and palms. Amazing places, excellent dinner, warm and friendly owners, who are understandably proud of this gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzel El Kateb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzel El Kateb

Address: Mahboubine | BP 70, Djerba Island 4165, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menzel El Kateb lies in the heart of a park of eight hectares in Mahboubine, where the palms surround many varieties of fruit trees.These charming houses have been restored with great authenticity in nature to offer you a pleasant relaxation and quiet.Enjoy the peace, relaxation and genuine hospitality of these beautiful houses in the paradise of the Jerba Island all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Menzel El Kateb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzel El Kateb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.