We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique Djerba | Midoun - Djerba, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Djerba Island
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I visited here with my friend and we really enjoyed our trip. There is no need to leave the hotel as everything is there for you! The hotel has its own private beach, which when they've cleaned it is beautiful! We did several of the excursions which were really good value and fun as well. The main restaurant is self-catering although they have two table service restaurants (Tunisian and Chinese) as well if you want a bit of variety. I would definitely recommend visiting the chinese, I would say its the best quality food within the whole hotel. Throughout the day they offer activities you can join in with although whether it was just because we were young girls (21) the entertainment staff could be quiet forceful. The entertainment in the evening was a bit poor, you could appreciate a lot of effort had been made but didn't always meet a high standard. Especially Piano man. Overall we had a really good time although it's good to be warned the male staff, mainly in the shops and entertainment, do like to try things on and come across very sleezy. Also you get propositioned quite often about going down to the beach alone, once they finish work. Be warned if female and young BE PREPARED!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    186
    121
    56
    30
See reviews for
201
193
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner went here for her birthday. Ignore any negative reviews and go. I promise you will not regret it. We will be going back!!!!!! The food and accommodation is at a high level for the price. The only downfall was the sea water would be a bit dirty in the morning but the locals would be there bright and early to clean it. For the money this is an awesome hotel, looking at my holiday snaps makes us want to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur is one of several hotel resorts lining up the Zone Touristique. We had stayed here since my wife's conference was being held at the hotel. It reminded us so much of the Club Med chain - great free breakfasts, lunches and dinners, free drinks all the time, Kids' Club that took the kids of your hands, scheduled group activities every hour, huge pool that was at the center of the hotel, other sports facilities like tennis, bocce balls, putt putt golf, other pools, assorted water sports, fashionable bracelet to indicate you were a hotel guest, etc.

The reception staff we dealt with was a bit unsanitary - he had a running nose, kept wiping his nose with his hands, then handled our key cards, registration form, sign-in pen, etc. Internet wi-fi was free but only available at the lobby area. You know you're in an islamic country when the hotel identifies all pork products in its restaurant buffets with pictures of pig faces - what a turn-off. TV is LCD - lots of French channels, a couple of Spanish channels, a couple of German channels - and only one English channel, BBC! Dressing up was expected at dinner - and you had to reserve your specific table, which was a nice touch. Food selection was great - at all meals, with their pasta and paella clearly the crowd favorites. The token gym had very poor equipment though.

But the hotel doesn't have good conference or workshop facilities. The rooms are not carpeted hence all the noise levels from chairs, tables, doors are magnified, and the conference room temperature was so hard to control.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Unfortunately we decided to book a last minute deal this year. The worry was allayed when we were offered a RIU 4star Platinum as we have stayed at these before and had good holidays. The flights were good times as well so we went ahead and booked for 14 nights in September.
When we arrived, one of the managers greets the coach load, shows you where to leave your cases and then proceeds to give you a one hour tour of the hotel which in the heat and your travel clothing was unbearable. Finally you get the traditional plastic bracelet and told which room you are in and you have to go and find it yourself. (4 star platinum, I think not).
The rooms are a good size and the beds comfortable. Overall they are kept clean to a good standard but a bit of "what you see gets done". The toilet seat whenever I lifted it left a bit to be desired as it was all discoloured a nasty orange shade. The bath / shower would have been more useful if the bath had a plug. To make sure we didn't run out of toilet paper as happened the first time it got low, we took a couple of spares from a cleaners trolley and kept them hidden for just such an occassion.

Food, as others have said it is very repetitive and most of it tastes the same due to the sauces it is cooked in. Both my wife and myself had bad stomach upsets during our stay.

Service, apart from clearing the dirty plates away we didn't get any. The table next to us did but they tipped all the time. I believe in tipping good service not tipping to get any service.

Drinks during meals if you didn't get service meant trying to use the central machines. As others have stated, the machines were empty a lot of the time and unusable others due to them just spitting froth into the glass. Most nights we had to wait till we went to the bar after dinner.

Dinner, this was divided into two sittings which you had to book at the beginning of your stay and so you had the same time and same table for the entire two weeks. As said, we have stayed in lots of hotels, and always got a table during the dining period without having set times. Due to them often opening late it meant you were then in a hurry to eat so they could close to prepare for the second sitting.

Fly's, this was a problem across the main and lunch restaurants especially on the salad, cold meats and deserts. This is probably due to the fact that the restaurants are open to the outside and the air conditioning is rarely used.

Air Con, All communal areas and corridors have the doors and windows left open which maintains them at outside temperature. The main air con seems to blow for a minute or two every ten minutes or so for an hour or so each evening but does nothing due to everything being open anyway. Each evening then you are sat around in your dinner clothing feeling like you are in a sauna.
The room aircon is operated by the door swipe card which you obviously have to take with you when you go anywhere so you cannot leave it on and have to get ready for dinner in a room practically at outside temp.

Money exchange at hotel, from personal experience I would warn you to check your receipt and count the money. The first time I changed money I got a hand written receipt with the amount I handed over the exchange rate and the amount I got. The total amount matched what I received so I thought no more about it as this was our first time to Tunisia and I wasn't familiar with their currency especially as it has three figures after the decimal point. It was at the reps meeting when the excursions and exchange rate came up that I thought something was wrong and showed her my receipt. She confirmed that the final column (what I received) was half what it should have been. We went back to the desk and the person tried to keep insisting I had only given him two £10 notes instead of £20's even though he had written £40 in the first column. He kept saying I was wrong or was just "SAYING" I gave £20's (ie lying) until Sandra said she would take it further at which point he went straight to the till and got the other money. After that when we changed money receipts were printed by the machine. One of the couples we met on holiday we told about this and when they changed some money kept an eye on things and part way through counting out the money one of the ten dinar notes went back with his hand. They then counted the money in front of him and it was ten dinars short, he apologized for the mistake and gave it to them. (mistake or coincidence).

The beach whilst alright was not suitable for swimming as the water is full of weed and hidden rocks. The beach bar and lunch restaurant are only about 2/3rds of the way to the beach so are only called what they are as they are the closest.

In conclusion I would say this hotel should be rated 3 star at most and definitly not Platinum and its the first time we've been let down by Thomson.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I travelled with my husband and 28 year old daughter. We spent 2 weeks here returning 27th September 2012. Weather wonderful. Very hot, slight breeze helped. Hotel much better than anticipated from comments on some previous reviews. Rooms excellent. Do try and pay for a pool/sea view. Free fridge to keep your duty free drinks if you want a proper drink on your balcony! They only supply water for fridge.

Some building work still going on next door but actual building looks finished. Not a problem unless you are overlooking the site. Occasionally heard the diggers. Did not affect my holiday.

Hotel supplies free pool/beach towels. Large pool area had louder music playing but was not annoying. Children had own pool with playground and sunbeds. Not many children here. Quiet pool nearer beach was good if you wanted a bit of peace. Free sunbeds on private beach with free canoes,pedalo,windsurfs etc. not many though.

Archery area, french boules areas, 2 clay tennis courts, mini golf, multi sport court, darts, beach volley ball, aqua aerobics. Plenty to do if you want. Inside big indoor pool hardly used but was about 28 degrees. Small gym and good spa facilities. I did try a massage which was good and a pedicure. Prices seemed quite reasonable but try and negotiate as they don't seem to be very busy.

Don't expect waiter service, they only clear plates and glasses!! But then there is no pressure to tip!... But if you do occasionally when you next go to the bar you may jump the queue!! You also take your own bags to your room, which is better than waiting a couple of hours for them to be delivered as in some other hotels.

Staff very friendly if you bother to talk to them as we do. Seems much more relaxed than mainland Tunisia.

Food - good choice, will cook especially for you if you ask them nicely!! Gets repetitive if staying 2 weeks but then this happens everywhere. Asian restaurant makes a change and is quieter but has no air con so is very hot. Tunisian restaurant is ok but they give far too much cous cous. Drinks - ok, will make up any drink you want from what they have. Invent your own cocktail... Drinks don't seem to be very strong though.

Nothing to do outside hotel. Djerba is not a pretty place. It is a barren land full of rubble. The museum is worth a trip, quite pretty. Boat trip to famingo island is ok but no flamingos at this time of year. Wouldn't bother going again.

Animation team try very hard, work long hours. Need to keep their techno music for the disco time later on. Adjust the music for the general age of the customers. Outside entertainment not wonderful but gives the animation team a bit of a rest.

THANK YOU for all the guests that helped my husband enjoy his holiday, especially the BELGIANS who played boules with us, we made many friends.

Would certainly go again, great hotel and great weather for time of year.
BEST FOR A HOTEL BASED HOLIDAY

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went with a large group of friends in May. Rep was approachable and accommodating to individual requests. Food was plentiful and good quality with the added bonus of a choice of available sun beds by the pool during the day - so no early morning setting the alarm and rushing for a space by the pool! Lots of fun organised activities to suit both children and adults. All inclusive - recommend this hotel as reasonably priced but quality accommodation and services.

The only issue we found was the inside bar staff were slow serving in comparison to the pool bar

Overall really good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned yesterday, and this holiday was great, hotel so clean and smart looking, staff so helpful and nothing was too much trouble!!!Sandra the Thomson rep was absolutely great, knowledgeable and really went that extra mile as my partner has a disability, she was so good!!! The food was fantastic, a huge variety in choice and something for everyone!! The outdoor pool was wonderful, there was a quiet seperate pool, a childs pool and an indoor pool which i personally loved, had it all to myself as weather so good everyone was outside. the beach was private and was well maintained, and most water sports were free to use!!!! When all said and done, this holiday was truelly great, and would return to the Club Hotel Riu Palm Azur any time!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are fab for views etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur

Address: Zone Touristique Djerba | Midoun - Djerba, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
#19 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#20 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located to the south of the island of Djerba, in the heart of an oasis and surrounded by a spectacular beach. Midoun is 6 km away, the capital of the isle of Houmt Souk 23 km and the airport of Djerba 30 km. Opened in 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palm Azur Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Melia Hotel Palm Azur
Sol Melia Djerba
Melia Palm Azur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.