We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La cote de boeuf

La cote de boeuf
Route touristique, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
(75) 732 068
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 71 Restaurants in Djerba Island
Cuisines: Tunisian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
york
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was recomended by one of the animation guys we were staying allinclusive at the iberostar mehari went here for my partners birthday with two friends had a good night.Had the fillet steak w as very good. On our second week we decided to go back as we were getting sick of the allinclusive and we were not disappointed would give it a go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
walperswil
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We asked the taxi driver to stop at a nice restaurant and he suggested "La cote de boeuf". It is quite expensive but everything was nice. Good space between the tables, very nice service, beef and shrimp of excellent quality, wine good, would like to go again as soon as possible.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Several people recommended La cote de boeuf to us but we were left disappointed by both the cuisine and the service. I ordered la cote de boeuf after being told that it was the speciality of the house but once it appeared after a long delay the meat was very stringy. My friend ordered the lobster and was already disappointed. The mussels were very good and we were told that they were on the house but then they were put on our bill. Overall the service was painstakingly slow and we had to ask for the bill three times.

Our fellow diners appeared to agree, with one becoming extremely irate and exclaiming about both the delay and exclaimed that "the fact that you speak French does not mean you know anything about French cuisine!"

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant of the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have been eating there 9 times during our stay, we loved the menus from 20 to 26 dhr
You must try the Couscous there, for us it was the best Tunisian couscous we ever date

Try also the "gratin Dauphinois" with the Meat Menu !!! GREAT

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I were in Djerba for our first year wedding anniversary and thought it would be nice to get away from the hotel and enjoy dinner out. This restaurant was recommended if we wanted somewhere that served steak.

We were seated outside which was nice as it was a lovely summer's evening. We were given complimentary appetisers of mixed olives, harissa, bread and little egg bites. The menu is good though I was surprised by the price of certain items to others.

My husband ordered the Chorba for starter and I ordered the Chicken Caesar Salad. He wasn't happy as I think he was expecting to have seafood in the soup rather than it being used to flavour the soup and wasn't sure about the couscous in it but it all vanished. The chicken was lovely in my salad but I did find it rather odd that they garnished the edge of the bowl with ketchup. The salad dressing was not a Caesar salad dressing but as a chicken salad it was very nice.

We both ordered fillet steak for our main course which was far cheaper than you would expect in the UK or Ireland. The only problem arose because Djerba does not really cater for English speaking tourists so even thought I told the waiter 3 times that I wanted my steak medium rare it came out rare and had to be sent back. I think they only have three ways of cooking it - rare, medium and well done. I requested the mushroom sauce with mine which was so lovely that my husband ordered more of the complimentary bread in order to "help me" soak it up. The main courses were beautifully presented and the vegetables were lovely.

We were tired at this point so I ordered a cappuccino which was probably one of the best I've ever had. The staff were lovely and attentive and I would recommend this restaurant taking into consideration that their version of things might be different to what you would expect at home.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La cote de boeuf also viewed

Houmt Souk, Djerba Island
Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
 
Midoun, Djerba Island
Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
 

Been to La cote de boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La cote de boeuf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.